Chevron Left
Zurück zu Nanotechnology and Nanosensors, Part1

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Nanotechnology and Nanosensors, Part1 von Technion - Israel Institute of Technology

4.6
Sterne
1,044 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Nanotechnology and nanosensors are broad, interdisciplinary areas that encompass (bio)chemistry, physics, biology, materials science, electrical engineering and more. The present course will provide a survey on some of the fundamental principles behind nanotechnology and nanomaterials and their vital role in novel sensing properties and applications. The course will discuss interesting interdisciplinary scientific and engineering knowledge at the nanoscale to understand fundamental physical differences at the nanosensors. By the end of the course, students will understand the fabrication, characterization, and manipulation of nanomaterials, nanosensors, and how they can be exploited for new applications. Also, students will apply their knowledge of nanotechnology and nanosensors to a topic of personal interest in this course. ---------------- COURSE OBJECTIVES The course main objective is to enhance critical, creative, and innovative thinking. The course encourages multicultural group work, constructing international 'thinking tanks' for the creation of new ideas. Throughout the course, you will be asked to reflect upon your learning, think "out of the box", and suggest creative ideas. The course is set to encourage the understanding of: 1. The importance of nanoscale materials for sensing applications. 2. Approaches used for characterizing sensors based nanomaterials. 3. Approaches used for tailoring nanomaterials for a specific sensing application. 4. Metallic and semiconductor nanoparticles. 5. Organic and inorganic nanotubes and nanowires. 6. Optical, mechanical and chemical sensors based on nanomaterials. 7. Hybrid nanomaterial-based sensors. ---------------- We recommend that you read the following supplementary reading materials: -Jiří Janata, Principles of Chemical Sensors, Springer, 2d Edition (1989). -Roger George Jackson, Novel Sensors and Sensing, CRC Press (2004). _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ Teaching Team About Professor Haick Hossam Professor Hossam Haick is an expert in the field of nanotechnology, nanosensors, and non-invasive disease diagnosis. Prof. Haick is the recipient of the prestigious Marie Curie Excellence Award, ERC Award, and the FP-7 Health Award. He is also the recipient of more than 42 international honors and prizes for his achievements, including a Knight of the Order of Academic Palms (conferred by the French Government) and the “List of the World’s Top 35 Young Scientists”, and the Discovery Award of the Bill & Melinda Gates. Prof. Haick is the founder and the leader of a European consortium of eight universities and companies for the development of advanced generation of nanosensors for disease diagnosis. He also serves as an associate editor of the two journals and serves as an advisory consultant to the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) – the world's authority for chemical information - a senior scientific advisory member of several national and international companies and institutes, and as a scientific evaluator in the European Commission. Email: hhossam@technion.ac.il _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ Course Staff Meital Bar-Segev, Teaching Assistant: Received her B.A. (Cum Laude) in Chemistry and B.Sc (Cum Laude) in Materials Engineering from the Technion – Israel Institute of Technology (both in 2010). During her studies, she worked in a student position at Tower Semiconductors Ltd. After graduation she worked at Alfred Mann Institute in the Technion (AMIT) as a process development engineer. Currently, she performs her Ph.D. degree (direct track) in the Russell Berrie Nanotechnology Institute (RBNI) of the Technion under the supervision of Prof. Hossam Haick. The research of Meital focuses is the development of electronic skin based on nanoparticles. Abeer Watted, Teaching Assistant: Received her B.Sc. and M.Sc. in Transportation and Highways Engineering from the Technion. She is a Ph.D. student at the Faculty of Education in Science and Technology at the Technion, under the supervision of Asst. Prof. Miri Barak. She received a second master degree in Educatu in Science and Technology from the Technion in 2013. Her research focuses on science education and inquiry-based laboratories. Currently, Abeer works as a lecturer at Al-Qasemi Academic College of Education, where she serves also as the head of Civil Engineering Department. Maya Usher, Teaching Assistant: Received her B.A. and M.A. (Cum Laude) in Communication Studies from Sapir Academic College and Ben Gurion University- Israel (2009; 2013 respectively). Currently, Maya is a PhD. candidate at the Faculty of Education in Science and Technology at the Technion, under the supervision of Asst. Prof. Miri Barak. Her research focuses on examining online collaborative learning in small multicultural groups. Muhammad Khatib, Teaching Assistant: Received his B.Sc in Biochemical Engineering from the Technion – Israel Institute of Technology (2015). His final research project, conducted with Prof. Avi Schroeder, dealt with harnessing liposome-based drug delivery systems to applications in precise agriculture. Currently, he performs his Ph.D. (special track) in the Department of Chemical Engineering of the Technion under the supervision of Prof. Hossam Haick, and his research focuses on self-healing devices for monitoring infectious diseases. Miri Barak, Pedagogical Advisor: Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Education in Science and Technology, Technion- Israel Institute of Technology. She is the Head of the Science and Learning Technologies group and the advisor of graduate students. Her academic activities focus on developing, integrating, and evaluating science education curricula at school and higher education levels. Her studies involve the use of information and communication technologies (ICT), with emphasis on emerging web-2.0 and cloud applications, to foster meaningful learning and high-order thinking....

Top-Bewertungen

BS

29. Nov. 2018

Nice course. Thanks to Professor Dr. Hossam Haick & his team for this valuable nanotechnology & nanosensors syllabus. everything was done perfect. syllabus, quiz and all. Thanks one and all. Great..

MK

28. Juni 2017

The course was very good and interesting and very much informative i like to have some more courses in terms of IOT devices, web based program development and industrial automations

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 310 Bewertungen für Nanotechnology and Nanosensors, Part1

von BESTLEY J S

30. Nov. 2018

Nice course. Thanks to Professor Dr. Hossam Haick & his team for this valuable nanotechnology & nanosensors syllabus. everything was done perfect. syllabus, quiz and all. Thanks one and all. Great..

von Tahmina B

13. Juni 2022

This informative course helps me to understand the fundamentals of the recent nanotechnology and their various applications. Many thanks to everyone who contributed to this course.

von Brad M

14. Okt. 2020

The course content was adequate for the topic, unfortunately the execution was quite lacking.

Most of the video lectures were the prof reading directly from the text book. I found it easier to learn the content by reading by myself. The frequent mispronunciation of many of the words by the presenter was very distracting.

It was only the occasional embedded video that supplemented the printed material that was worth watching, and even some of that was questionable as to its merit.

I also found that some of the quiz questions were from sections of the text that were covered in subsequent videos. In addition, the wording of some of the questions made no sense. It would be a good idea to have someone familiar with this material proof read the quizzes.

[I would be happy to perform this task in return for credit to apply towards course certificates.]

It was unclear exactly how to submit the written projects. I don't think the "attached file method" was functional, and had to cut and paste the text into one of the text boxes before it would appear in the submitted content for review. (and which of the two should it go in?) The first student review that I performed was also lost so I had to do four of them before I could see my marks.

Lastly, the written projects were poorly done. The last one in particular seemed to be more of a gleaning of ideas from the students for future development by the prof. The topic was more IoT and less nanotechnology and Nano sensors. The poor execution of this course makes me re-consider taking part II, even though I am really interested in learning the material.

von Abhiram D

26. Juni 2020

Can't give 0 stars unfortunately.

The course is poorly designed. I don't deny the lecturer's knowledge of the material, but he does a horrible job of getting the points across. His voice is more monotone than the sound of pressing a single key on a keyboard. I've had an interest in nanotechnology for quite some time, but this course did not invoke it at all.

The structure of the overall course is also quite problematic. 70% of your grade depends on 2 assignments that are graded by other people taking this course. On top of that, you have no guarantee that these people have any knowledge regarding the course since people who fail the weekly checkpoints are still given permission to grade your papers.

Furthermore, for the quizzes that make up the remaining 30%, you have to look up the answers to half the questions since the lecturer doesn't cover a lot of topics in his slideshow. Also many of the questions aren't in the correct week quizzes. For example, in week 3, the quiz questions were on material from week 4.

Personally, I don't mind it but if you can't stand thick accents and mispronunciations, don't take this course.

Hope this review helps :)

von KHALED A E M M E

27. Juli 2020

Not an interesting content and the lecturer is not able to clear enough what he mean in many situations. As a result i will leave this course.

von Shudhanshu S

3. Aug. 2020

Honestly , I don't like the course . Also accent of the instructor was difficult for me to catch.

von Deepak N

13. Juli 2020

Poor presentation and poorly laid out overall. Stupid method of grading based on peer review.

von FAIZAN A

11. Jan. 2020

Very poor just like reading slides.

von Mohammed A

4. Juli 2020

Worst teaching

von Artem S

11. Feb. 2021

Thank You for such an interesting and informative course. It contains the up-to-date information and examples on basic concepts of nanotechnology, well-prepared both for students and for graduates. Lectures are conducted in a good, pronounced language.

As a small suggestion I would notice that peer-review system sometimes requests a lot of time and the IoT assignment is quite confusing. It is very interesting to imagine the application of nanosensors but it is quite difficult to connect it with IoT.

I loved this course and advice everyone to complete it with all the diligence and creativity to gain the maximum benefits from it.

von Samuel A

28. März 2022

The course materials of Nanotechnology and Nanosensing Part 1 were advance, well organized, presented, and up-to-date. I personally found the lectures , videos, quizzes and the assignments both interesting and academic desirable. All the courses provided potential foundation and appetite to learn more, purse, and exploit challenging novel  applications. The courses in entity enables strong understanding of nanomaterials and intrinsic properties leading to design and development of nanosensing devices and their phenomenal performances. There is just eager desire to learn furthermore. ​Thanks for this incredible opportunity.

von Nimita J

10. Aug. 2020

Its a nice experience in learning this course. The course content, e-book, weekly quiz assignments were extraordinarily good. Open-ended assignment and mini-project in a relevant Internet of Things (IoT) application added a feather to this course. In nutshell, this course is an extremely useful course for the basic learners of sensors and its applications in various fields.

von Dr. B G

23. Sep. 2021

It is quite good experiences from this course, specially on the application field of nanotechnology. The course patterns, assignment, project write up and evaluation process are sophistically well maintained throughout the course. Lastly, I want say thanks Prof. Hossam Haick for his extraordinary course content and COUSERA to provide me such a beautiful platform.

von PAUL D S

31. Juli 2020

I thank Professor Hassam Haick for creating a deep interest and curiosity to learn more about Nano sensors and immediately enrolled for Nanotechnology and Nanosensors-II. Even though working in the area of nano materials, this course opened new doors for conducting research in the area of nano sensors.

Looking forward to complete Part-II to learn more

von Juan M

16. Aug. 2020

Indeed an excellent course. The material is very well explained. I would like to note that there are issues with the English caption. I was able to acknowledge the errors due to my knowledge of chemistry. Nevertheless, this course inspired me and was eye-opening. Thank you for making this knowledge accessible.

von Edmond L

17. Sep. 2020

This is a very detailed course on nanotechnology. One suggestion would be to move the scrolling text of the talk notes to the right side of the video instead of below. Dr. Haick's accent was hard to follow sometimes so I needed to read along to catch the full detail.

von Paulo V

14. März 2022

The course introduces you to the world of nanotechnology, the classes are calm and very didactic. I appreciate the opportunity and recommend to everyone to take the course if they are interested in learning more about nanotechnology and its applications.

von Chris M

8. Juni 2020

A very well-structured course, with interesting lectures and topics. Prof. Haick does an excellent job of easing learners into challenging topics and making them engaging to digest. It makes you want to read further. Highly recommended.

von shaan

31. Juli 2022

I was a great course to learn about this new twchnology and gave me an idea on what is capable with the technology. From someone who had no background in the field it did take more time to understand the concepts but, it was worth it.

von Saeed A K

3. Juli 2022

It was wondeful course, the way Prof. Hossam Haick   explained was much appreciated. I would love to be enrolled in his other courses as well. Definately this course has opened many new frionts on which researchers can start working

von PANIDAPU H C

7. Juni 2020

THIS COURSE IS AN EXCELLENT COURSE.I LEARNED A LOT OF THINGS ABOUT NANOSENSORS,NANOTECHNOLOGY, AND MANY MORE CONCEPTS.I WOULD LIKE TO THANK COURSERA TEAM, FINALLY, I WOULD LIKE T THANK THE INSTRUCTORProf. Hossam Haick. THANKYOU SIR.

von Dr. C D K

26. Sep. 2020

This is a systematically designed and perfectly executed course. The resource person has exerted a lot throughout the course to help every student to understand the content and its application in the routine course of time.

von ATUL D

2. Juni 2020

The course structure is good. Basics to the advanced only problem I faced are the quizzes and Project are more complex as compared to the lessons but this will lead me to learn a few papers regarding this topic.

von 王照娟

10. Dez. 2019

This course has helped me a lot, not only provides me with the professional knowledge, also let me feel the ideological differences between people from different areas, complete thoughts and academic impact.

von Dr.Shridhar N M

25. Apr. 2020

Skillful course. Thanks to Professor Dr. Hossam Haick & his team for the worthful nano-technology & nano-sensors syllabus. Everything was done perfect. syllabus, quiz and all.

Thanks one and all. Great.