Chevron Left
Zurück zu Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills von University of Michigan

4.7
Sterne
6,588 Bewertungen
1,518 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We all negotiate on a daily basis. On a personal level, we negotiate with friends, family, landlords, car sellers and employers, among others. Negotiation is also the key to business success. No business can survive without profitable contracts. Within a company, negotiation skills can lead to your career advancement. I hope that you will join the hundreds of thousands of learners who have made “Successful Negotiation” one of the most popular and highly-rated MOOCs worldwide. In the course, you’ll learn about and practice the four steps to a successful negotiation: (1) Prepare: Plan Your Negotiation Strategy (2) Negotiate: Use Key Tactics for Success (3) Close: Create a Contract (4) Perform and Evaluate: The End Game To successfully complete this course and improve your ability to negotiate, you’ll need to do the following: (1) Watch the short videos (ranging from 5 to 20 minutes). The videos are interactive and they include questions to test your understanding of negotiation strategy and skills. You can speed up or slow down videos to match your preferred pace for listening. Depending on your schedule, you can watch the videos over a few weeks or you can binge watch them. A learner who binge-watched the course concluded that “It’s as good as Breaking Bad.” Another learner compared the course to “House of Cards.” Both shows contain interesting examples of complex negotiations! (2) Test your negotiation skills by completing the negotiation in Module 6. You can negotiate with a local friend or use Discussions to find a partner from another part of the world. Your negotiation partner will give you feedback on your negotiation skills. To assist you with your negotiations, I have developed several free negotiating planning tools that are related to the course. These tools and a free app are available at http://negotiationplanner.com/ (3) Take the final exam. To successfully complete the course, you must answer 80% of the questions correctly. The exam is a Mastery Exam, which means that you can take it as many times as you want until you master the material. Course Certificate You have the option of earning a Course Certificate. A Certificate provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Michigan logo. Learn more about Certificates at: https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/articles/209819053-Get-a-Course-Certificate This course is also available in Spanish and Portuguese. To join the fully translated Spanish version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacion/ To join the fully translated Portuguese version, visit this page: https://www.coursera.org/learn/negociacao Subtitles for the videos are available in English, Ukrainian, Chinese (Simplified), Portuguese (Brazilian), Spanish Created by: University of Michigan The course logo composite is shared with a Creative Commons CC BY-SA (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/) license, and was created using images provided courtesy of Flazingo Photos (http://bit.ly/1zOylRm) and K2 Space (https://www.flickr.com/photos/k2space/14257556613/in/set-72157644732478432)....

Top-Bewertungen

AB

Mar 09, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

YT

Sep 18, 2015

This is one of the best and enlightening MOOC I have taken and I already start reaping the benefit. I encourage everyone who is serious about his/her career to consider this course!\n\nYannick Kounga

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 1,474 Bewertungen für Successful Negotiation: Essential Strategies and Skills

von Kartik G

Apr 18, 2017

I had a great time attending this course. Its like a long journey which you don't want to come to an end. Dr. George Sidel and his great efforts behind creating this course should sure be applauded.

von Theodoros E

Nov 10, 2018

The course was not what I expected. In my opinion there is no academic foundation but most likely evolved science. There have been times that was eager to finish the video. The bibliography was poor and the lecture slides very bad. Also, the whole subject of the course is the professor's book, word for word, so that means in case you buy the book, you have the hole course, but not the certificate.The least I can say, is that this act is unprofessional, anti-ideological, and it does not take the course in another level with more knowledge.

von María A V G

Mar 13, 2019

Great course! It changes the way I used to see negotiations.

von Fabian A

Sep 26, 2016

This course disappointed me. I expected to receive knowledge about negotiation. But it's more advertisement for the book. I did every step in the course until the quiz and the quiz asks for knowledge which wasn't in the course. I assume that i should have read the book to be prepared to do the quiz. That's not why i registered on coursera.

von Michael R

Dec 11, 2015

Not very well organized course to teach the essential principles of negotiation. The course material moves incongruently between legal and business negotiation tactics, which would make it difficult for any untrained future negotiator to understand the art of negotiation and ADR for business and law.

von Tibor N

Jan 02, 2016

Poor content, only a book accompanies the videos and we should not be forced to buy anything!

von Eduards K

Dec 16, 2018

As an introduction to the topic it seems to provide essential information. Having little to no previous experience in negotiation it provides useful insight and different perspective. The pace of the videos seems too slow at times, but the content is relevant to the topic and assessment questions have some difficulty. Surely worth the time and effort.

von Carmelo J S

Dec 03, 2019

This is my firsy MOOC course and I'm very satisfied about the contents. The professor has been very clear and his examples were very easy and helped us to understand better the theoretical rules.

I hope to attend other course in order to improve my skills in my job.

I recomend it to everyone who wants improve the negotiation skills.

von Aamar B

Mar 09, 2017

Probably the best course videos Ive come across. Professor George I believe is an amazing teacher...the way he gets the concept across to students by simple and constant examples is worth mentioning..

von Sabrina A S

Jun 19, 2019

I learned so much from this online course. I never knew how many different strategies there was to negotiating until now. This course is definitely worth the time and effort to learn these skills.

von Johann J

Dec 14, 2018

Great content, real-life example, and flexible schedule. Great for professionals.

von Jeffrey A B

Dec 29, 2018

A great set of skills to learn and a challenging but rewarding course.

von TUSHAR T

Feb 02, 2019

Great Learning

von ARUN K

Jul 27, 2019

n

von Gowtham T

Oct 08, 2015

The course helped me fine-tune my negotiation skills. Want to thank Prof. George Siedel for presenting this amazing course in a spectacular manner. The examples conveyed by him in this course provided easier understanding about the concepts & tactics.

After completing Week-3 of this course, I tested my negotiation skill and this is the result of the same -

"I live as a Paying Guest in a Hostel with a monthly rental of INR 5,500 which includes accommodation & food. Since I go to my office on second shift, i was not able to have lunch & dinner from my hostel which was increasing my expenses.

I went to my Hostel Owner and started negotiating regarding the same to reduce my rent. I was able to make him fall into 7 of the 10 traps. I was able to reduce the rent to INR 4,400 and he even permitted me to have lunch & dinner if I want to at the same cost. I promised him to find 3 members to fill the empty rooms available in the hostel.

This was a great saving to me and the deal was even too.

I was able to find 3 occupants for the vacant room within a week. Now both of us are very happy with the deal.

Very recently, I was even able to sell a used mattresses to him at a fair rate by which I found the amount of goodwill he had in me."

Though this might be a very small thing, I was very happy that in my current negotiations I was able to achieve a Win-Win situation that favors both the parties.

I finally thank the Coursera Team for providing me the financial aid for pursuing this course and I request the Coursera Team to forward this review to Prof. George Siedel as my thanking token:)

von Mehvish A

Aug 23, 2015

It has been an honor and pleasure being able to listen to Professor Siedel's lectures on successful negotiation strategies. As a law student interested in business/finance/corporate law, his course has been a great comprehensive look at the interconnectedness of business and law.

The humility with which Professor Siedel possesses is humbling and extraordinary of a person of his intellectual caliber and professional accomplishments. Many law/business professors I have known are rather intimidating and unsettling.

I have learned an invaluable amount of very unique knowledge and skills that Mr.Siedel teaches to some of the most important financial and legal movers and shakers around the world. Yet despite his reaches throughout the world, he seems like the most kind and relatable man. His jokes are impeccably timed, especially during a lesson that may seem a bit dry or difficult and I never found his lectures to be boring. In fact, throughout my time with the course I always looked forward to the videos and am very sad to see the end of them.

Additionally, I had the mindset that in order to be successful in business or law, I'd have to adapt more of a detached, zero-sum approach to my professional life. Not only has Professor Siedel changed my idea of how business and legal negotiations work, he has shown that there is in fact more to be gained by seeing people as people and not as mere numbers. Thanks for not just the academic lessons, but life lessons as well. I hope to walk in beauty much as you do Professor Siedel.

von Максимов Д А

Jan 11, 2017

Спасибо большое организаторам данного курса! Он мне очень понравился и, как я думаю, будет весьма полезным в моей личной и деловой жизни.

Хочу отметить, что русскоязычные слушатели данного курса могут столкнуться с рядом сложностей: в паре видео лекций отсутствуют русские субтитры, все задания, дополнительные материалы и т.п. на английской языке. Так же сложности могут возникнуть, когда речь в лекциях идет о юридических аспектах переговоров, так как они в основном даны для жителей США.

Однако данные сложности не станут преградой для людей, которые твердо решили пройти этот курс, так как все тесты можно проходить неограниченное количество раз, пока материал не будет усвоен на должном уровне; а при выполнении задания к неделе 6 (проведение переговоров) не требуется представить видео его выполнения или что-нибудь в этом роде, поэтому, если вам неудобно его выполнять на английском, то вы можете сделать это в "домашних" условиях со своим другом, родственником или другим человеком на родном для вас языке.

В связи с вышесказанным, могу смело порекомендовать данный курс самому широкому кругу слушателей.

von NOORUDDIN T

Feb 15, 2018

First of all a big thank you to Coursera for giving opportunity to millions of students to avail excellent distance learning. I have the privilege to complete many courses offered by Coursera. With regard to this particular course "successful negotiation - essential strategies and skills" , the course is very well planned. Although it is planned and executed by the Senior and Renowned Professor of Michigan University, however, the course material, examples, pictorials and presentations are kept very simple for easy learning of students from various disciplines. To me, since I am a Supply Chain Professional, this course gave me further insight into the core areas of negotiation i.e. planning, tactics, contracts and evaluation. i must thank teacher Mr. George Siedel for including many examples, most of them were real and from teachers personal and professional life which was very helpful to me in understanding.

Thanks and best wishes to my fellow students in their future endeavors.

von Vlad L

Aug 17, 2015

It was definitely a bad idea to take up this course as my first MooC I took seriously. Professor George J. Siedel’s course was too well-structured, consistent and practical, and have raised my MooC expectations level so high, that now, being absolutely hungry with massive online education, I face certain difficulties in finding a course to keep to the same level. But I go on believing that it's possible.

As for the practical application of the knowledge obtained - it’s too early to make conclusions, but having tried some techniques in reality, I find them very helpful.

What’s also great: now, getting a bit deeper in some of the issues raised by the course, say, negotiator’s decision making psychology, I find out that what I see in 10 different sources, had already been covered by this only course.

And the final practical task was a bit of mind-blowing for me. In a good sense.

Thank you very much for the experience!

von Najib H

Dec 27, 2016

Professor George Siedel, did an extraordinary work about sharing us his knowledge, stories and different cases about the negotiating world.

The way the courses are divided and explained are undoubtedly a rewarding experience for anyone looking to extend his/her knowledge path.

I really enjoyed, the positive & welcoming behaviour of Professor George Siedel and how he showcase this course on front of the camera: easy words and examples are key on this class and it helped me to absorb the material, very easily!

This is indeed; an exceptional course that can only bring more value to our skills and on-going life and professional experience.

This course deserve a flawless 5 Star rating!!!

I really hope that Professor George Siedel will provide and share new materials in the near future.

Thank you Professor George Siedel!

von Levent T

Nov 01, 2016

I strongly recommend this course to everyone: Taught by a great instructor, this is a well developed course that encourages you to conduct an actual negotiation with another person (for me that was someone across the globe I found through course forum) and put the learning into practice and receive valuable insights about my personal negotiating style and how I could improve it. I also purchased the text book written by the instructor. However, I am disappointed it doesn't extend much beyond what is already in the videos. To be honest, I felt the book was necessary as there were a lot of jargon and not-so-clear rules I had to master; especially as a physicist, I found contractual law to be challenging. The final exam was tough, but not unconquerable.

Thank you Dr.Siedel!

von Samir D S

Sep 03, 2017

I have already recommended it strongly to 3 of my close friends. I have already recommended other courses on coursera to 5-6 of my other friends.

This a basic must for budding entrepreneurs as we always make stupid mistakes in the initial contracts and shy away from the 'tough talks'.

Negotiation is a life skill. It a basic. This course prepares us for the world. Teaches something that is tough for our parents to teach, and impossible to be learnt from school or college, but essential at every step, nonetheless.

Now, I am more confident about dealing with people and having the tough conversations.

I have been cheated many times in negotiation before. While buying a second hand bike, for instance.

This course reduces the chaos in the world around me.

Personally, I feel safer.

von Renato G d S

Nov 09, 2016

This is an amazing course and also a huge opportunity to evaluate our negotiation skills. The teacher is very clear and the quality of the videos are also good.

I do realize I have much to practice and a lot to learn.

It goes beyond professional negotiation. I'll apply the concepts worked in this couse through all situations I have to negotiate to get something.

By doing this course I could go back to the begging of my firsts negotiation experiences and remember that better than do well in a negotiation, is to make a big pie and enlarge the benefits to both part involved in it.

I want to thank to all the course team and my moocmates whose have been really nice and helpful.

All the best wishes.

Renato G Santos.

von Bacardi B

Jul 03, 2017

I loved this course! The material is well thorough and presented in a well organized manner. I learned practical skills that I can use immediately. The course experience also helped to broaden my perspectives on how to approach negotiations, more specifically, the effectiveness of the interest-based approach. While familiar with win/win concepts, still a position-based approach was used. I also like the decision tree tool and calculating the BATNA. This provides a value-based outlook on your options.

Finally, I enjoyed the challenge of the course and exam. In order to pass the exam, you really needed to know the material and I believe that this will add value to the programs offered on coursera.org.

von Cesar O

Oct 16, 2016

I really liked this course. This is a good refresher or a good introduction to deal making or solving disputes in business life as well as personal life. I really wish it could have a 2nd part or go into more indepth cases, I wish it would use the vides to explain more real life cases, unfortunately the videos cannot be that long. I would highly recommend this course to those who want to refresh some of the lessons that you went over in Business Law class or for those who want to learn some of the basic laws governing deal making and business disputes. The teacher makes the class fun and entertaining.