Chevron Left
Zurück zu Non-Communicable Diseases in Humanitarian Settings

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Non-Communicable Diseases in Humanitarian Settings von Universität von Kopenhagen

4.8
Sterne
91 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

NCDs are the leading cause of death in almost every region of the world, and place a huge burden on individuals, families and societies. Humanitarian settings have a negative effect on the levels of disease, and the possibility of treatment. The importance of NCDs in global health is acknowledged by their inclusion in the Sustainable Development Goals, which call for a reduction of a third in premature mortality from NCDs by 2030. However, NCDs have until recently received little attention in humanitarian settings, leaving prevention, care and treatment needs largely unaddressed among some of the most vulnerable populations. According to the World Health Organization, 70 percent of global deaths are due to NCDs. The four main disease groups which cause the greatest number of deaths are cardiovascular disease, cancer, diabetes and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (including asthma). The course will provide knowledge about issues and dilemmas that occur around NCDs in humanitarian settings and possible solutions. Why are NCDs a problem in humanitarian emergencies or crises? Natural disasters and complex emergencies, including armed conflict, have a negative effect on the levels of disease, and on the possibilities for preventing, treating and caring for people with NCDs. People living with NCDs often need continuous care to avoid disease progression, and disrupted treatment due to natural disaster or emergencies pose a large health challenge. In conflict situations and fragile contexts, the challenge of disrupted care and treatment may be exacerbated – an estimated 65 million people have been forcibly displaced by conflict, displacement lasts longer, and at times health systems and health personnel are deliberately targeted....

Top-Bewertungen

AS

19. März 2019

Coursera is very nice and easy way to uptade your knowledge ,have participants have numerous choices of courses and can do the course of their choice.overall I am happy with this.

IH

8. Apr. 2020

Really interesting and great real life examples and case studies.

Nice mix of readings to broaden knowledge.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 28 Bewertungen für Non-Communicable Diseases in Humanitarian Settings

von SRISHTI B

11. Feb. 2019

I found this particular course extremely informative and even inspiring. It not only equipped me with new forms of knowledge, but also helped me gather a holistic perspective on NCD prevalence, existing situations, involved organizations and potential solutions.

von Kathleen B C

5. Apr. 2019

I enjoyed the course as it was quick and easy to learn. the videos where easy to follow and very informative about humanitarian settings. I liked that the content was less that 5 years old and relevant to current world crisis situations.

von Sergio S

8. Sep. 2019

Overall I found the content of the course very pertinent to the final objectives. The speakers and their experience was indeed vital as well as the course's readings have been well chosen and also very pertinent.

von Aamir s

20. März 2019

Coursera is very nice and easy way to uptade your knowledge ,have participants have numerous choices of courses and can do the course of their choice.overall I am happy with this.

von Izzy H

9. Apr. 2020

Really interesting and great real life examples and case studies.

Nice mix of readings to broaden knowledge.

von Benedetta A

18. Okt. 2019

This course is incredibly interesting and well structured

von Mike B

17. Okt. 2022

I found this course very helpful in allowing me to gain insights some of the problems that can arise following a natural or human created emergency. I have taken courses related to the needs of local and country-wide populations following humanitarian crises.; however, few of the courses have focused on those with chronic conditions. The course provided me with scenarios that other than the very obvious, visible problems such as potable water, food, sanitation and shelter that I may not have considered. I feel that this course has made me realize just how complex these situations truly are and I have have realized that like the proverbial iceberg, in a complex emergency, there are many factors that contrubute to an emergency both good and bad that lie below the surface hidden by the obvious, visible and pressing needs in these types of scenarios. I like to think of it as an extra layer of critical thinling.

von Michelle G

7. Feb. 2021

I loved the exhaustive number of scientific papers and also the videos of people telling their stories about this matter based on personal experience. I live in Venezuela and one of the main challenges for the humanitarian response has been covering the needs of patients with NCDs as there is an important burden of Communicable diseases here, a poor health system and scarce health professionals to deal with these conditions that clearly need more specialized management in most of the cases.

von Gabriel C

30. Apr. 2020

The course has a very accessible language and the videos are taught in a very clear and objective way. I really liked Siri Tellier, she talks like someone who has a lot of ownership of the subject (and she really does, seeing how much she studies and publishes about it). Thanks to Sandro Demaio (I admire him a lot) and Sylvia Khamati who contributed a lot to the learning.

To all who contributed to this course, in each video, each material and in everything, my congratulations!

von Yashchenko M

17. Juli 2020

The course gives a comprehensive understanding of the scope of NCDs issue and underpins gaps that are to be addressed both by humanitarian actors and by researches. Thanks for the course.

P.S. I guess, it should be continuously updated as new documents and articles are published, standards are corrected and new programs are in place.

von Mirna S

1. Juli 2020

The course is done and delivered by experts who love what they are doing and passionate to take learners onboard, navigating through the challenges of NCDs interventions in various humanitarian settings. It is a very comprehensive course for its intermediate level, takes us onsite, and is resources packed. Thank you very much.

von Nain D

8. Okt. 2021

The course was very informative. It provided a deeper understanding of the NCDs in humanitarian settings. The only technical problem that i faced in this course was that most of the reading material was not available to me as an error kept occuring.

von Elaheh A

2. Mai 2021

I really learned and enjoyed this course. The instructor could show her passion about the topic and raised attention as well. I strongly suggest this course to whom working in health systems especially the one in NCD and Emergency settings.

von Tanaka P M

12. Dez. 2022

This has really been an yee opening experience. Makes me feel like I was also on the field seeing these occurrances first hand. And, I've been motivated to look into methods to be able to provide baseline data for LMIC.

von Nadira S

19. Mai 2021

So valuable course and great learning opportunity- really recommended and to review again for info refresh

von Susi P

27. Dez. 2020

It is a very comprehensive course and the presenter/ instructor who are experts in their fields.

von Henok M

3. Okt. 2020

it has been a great for me to have experience on this kinds of course.

von Kris D R

12. Aug. 2020

Excellent course, an eye-opener!

von Sophonie N

2. Juni 2022

It s good esrouc

von ALESSANDRO B

30. Jan. 2021

Useful tips

von Raed

20. Okt. 2022

thanks

von Mona A A

22. Juli 2020

good

von Maihan A

15. Jan. 2022

The course is greatly deisgned. I liked the sections where people from the field are sharing their experience an perspective. In general, the course is based on the ongoing crises. I would lilke to suggest to update some of the materials if pssible and updated articles available.

von Isobel B

3. Mai 2020

Excellent provision of reference for further reading

I would have preferred more slides summarising the information visually - I felt that the information was primarily presented as spoken and the course would benefit from some variation

Thank you!