Chevron Left
Zurück zu Social Norms, Social Change I

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Social Norms, Social Change I von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
1,947 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Top-Bewertungen

PE

5. März 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

4. Aug. 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtern nach:

351 - 375 von 489 Bewertungen für Social Norms, Social Change I

von EDGARDO R N

5. Feb. 2018

Excelente

von Amar A

8. Dez. 2017

thank you

von Maii A E

15. Juli 2017

good work

von MRITUNJAY C

23. Juni 2017

Very new

von ABDI I R

11. März 2019

awosame

von Kagimu M

2. Feb. 2019

Awesome

von Tantoh H D T

22. Juni 2018

AWESOME

von Arjona

14. Nov. 2021

great

von peter a

25. Okt. 2019

Great!

von Sunil K S

10. Apr. 2020

*****

von Bhupendra P S

7. Dez. 2019

great

von Kharingyo S

20. Aug. 2019

Great

von ماهر إ

31. Juli 2019

ممتاز

von shenyang

22. Juli 2016

great

von rubayat h

12. Juni 2020

Good

von Izhar U

8. Mai 2020

Good

von Syedhaseeb B

7. Mai 2020

Good

von Mohamed N T

4. Apr. 2022

ر

von Peerada N

27. Feb. 2017

I don't work in social field or anything that has to do with UNICEF, but despite that, I find this course greatly interesting and what I received from it surprisingly exceeded my initial expectations. I find the knowledge from this course useful not only for social workers, but also for community-oriented researchers, or anyone who would like to understand or make a change in a community. Most of this course is an introduction to technical terms, gradually introducing us how to look at certain behaviours of people in any communities, helping us know what such behaviours are made of and how we should start in order to make a change to it. Things I find especially interesting are actually in the last week of the lecture, where the professor had introduced to me tips and tricks for measuring outcomes and making surveys that could actually get quality information - something I never knew how to do and had never expected to know and realise that it would matter so much.

As for the downside, it may be either because I am not familiar with terms in the social and humanity fields or because English is not my mother language, but I find that the professor sometimes uses words too sophisticated, when in reality I thought it would be better if she could have used simpler terms and vocabularies both in the video and the readings - sometimes I find myself becoming confused by her excess uses of fancy words and stretching something that could be briefly explained too much for my liking. Sometimes I even get to finally understand what she meant in the parts where there are examples, which is one of the things I like about the course, too.

Overall, this course was an eye opener for me. I had a very pleasant time learning and am already enrolling for the second course!

von Maria R

30. Okt. 2022

I found the subject fascinating and also the examples - very interesting to see how we make important change happen in communities, what motivates certain behaviour and how do we go about building desire for a change. However, I had to start writing down the terms as I felt there were new terms brought up as the course progressed, but really often the same terms were re-introduced. I found the structure in this aspect messy/illogical and was only able to follow it better after making my own notes, so I could verify that we're revisiting a concept already introduced. I also felt that if keeping the content more logically ordered, this may have been a shorter course, as there was some repetition.

von Anjali L

16. Juli 2017

I really enjoyed the course. It was easy to understand with so many examples and having other students' participation and reading their examples as well. Giving it 4 weeks to complete provided ample of time to complete the course however next time I will try to complete it asap because it always forced me to remember harder of what I learned last week. Plus it would be great if we could download the translated words/text of each week in a complete whole rather doing it one by one (smaller units). I tried downloading it but it did not worked for me. Thank you so much for such a lovely opportunity to learn from you. I look forward to many more to come. :)

von Joshua B

23. Apr. 2020

A quality course. I wish they spent a bit more time on the transcriptions because some of the lecturers were difficult to understand. I highly recommend keeping a notepad close and plenty of pens at the ready. When you start digging into Collective Practices, Motivations, Personal Normative Beliefs, Social Beliefs, Empirical Expectations, Normative Expectations, Customs, Factual Beliefs, and Pluralistic Ignorance it all really just start to run together. Thanks for this course Professor Bicchieri! I thoroughly enjoyed it and your book, Norms In The Wild!

von Kelli S

8. Okt. 2017

Excellent ideas with real-world examples. Repetition of concepts was a bit too frequent and made the course significantly longer than it needed to be. The last section in week 4 jumped from 5-8 minute videos to 15-18 minute videos, which felt like it was cramming things together. A slight alteration in pacing would be beneficial. The cyclical structure of idea generation and building is great, just a bit too repetitive. Quizzes mid-video really highlight main points and focus the attention. Overall, a fascinating and deeply educational course.

von Kim

1. Sep. 2020

The course offers and introduction into thecomplex field of social norms. The prof explains it well and it easy to understand. The perspectives offered by unicef are however unstructured. There is often no explicit comment on what participants should or could learn from there clips. They're also existing clips of a different purpose, so they don't directly address the topics of the course. It would be preferable to edit them or produce new short statements that directly relate to the course

von Hằng N T

29. Okt. 2021

The course is interesting but incredibly difficult to follow. If you are easily affected by Semantic Satiation (lose meaning of words that are repeated many times) then the course will be more difficult. The readings are also difficult, I found myself read and edit the texts (cut unnecessary parts, sub words with others...) in order to understand them.

Message to the organizers: if you ever organize another course, please look into semantic satiation and try to avoid it.