Chevron Left
Zurück zu Social Norms, Social Change I

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Social Norms, Social Change I von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
1,947 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Top-Bewertungen

PE

5. März 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

4. Aug. 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtern nach:

401 - 425 von 489 Bewertungen für Social Norms, Social Change I

von Desiree B

1. Okt. 2017

Overall a great course. The lectures where clear and there was a good ballance in reading and listening material. In the future I would like to see a wider diversity of examples used instead of mainly child marriage and OD.

von Anna K

2. Apr. 2020

Good and understandable introduction to the theory of social norms. Examples used are illustrative and helpful. Sometimes, the readings and lectures were repetitive rather than complementary.

von Nik N A S N M

1. Juli 2020

Solid concepts to dissect collective behaviours and unpack the phenomenons. Helpful examples by UNICEF. Would be better if slides are also included, but overall, great! Thank you, Prof :)

von Maryann F

28. Apr. 2020

Helpful framework for determining how to shift social norms. The detail in which the instructor teases out the nuanced ways to assess why individuals act the way they do is very helpful

von Mai M

5. Juli 2017

It's useful , it help me to know more about spreading of any norm,custom ,etc and help me to know ways of distinguish it and helping people to differentiate between good and bad one .

von Ricardo R I

9. Okt. 2016

It's very useful. I think at first lectures there is neccesary a synopsis about the concepts and their classification or relation, because as you deep the relation is more confused.

von Sezin I

9. Jan. 2017

I enroll the course just for listening videos and following the readings,

I really enjoyed it, and learned it, it gives another perspective to see the whole community

thanks a lot

von NEHA P

28. Apr. 2020

Good insights about social problems and how various organisations working hard to change mindset of people living in rural areas. Learned new concepts about norms. Good Work!

von Unzia I

2. Okt. 2022

The lecturer is knowledgeable and easy to understand, the examples used are so relatable. The videos and notes are detailed and easy to use. This has been so great.

von Mahesh J

8. Nov. 2016

It was a good course even though it was a bit theoretical. Its a great start for someone who has no background in social norms. I am glad I took this course though

von Natasha

6. Feb. 2017

The course is very detailed, with a strong methology and useful examples. Nevertheless, it wasn't always simple to follow and the last week was very demanding.

von Armand B

17. Juli 2019

This is a nice course if you want to chose social science field. In terms of Research, you are be able to how to formulates questions based on this course.

von Amelie D

1. Juli 2021

The course was easy to follow, and the concepts were well explained. The combination of videos and learning material was a big help.I learned a lot.

von Florence O

20. Juli 2021

This course was very useful and inciteful. The course content is very detailed and intermittent quizzes very useful in facilitating learning.

von Mira L

2. Aug. 2019

The content was interesting but some parts were repetitive to the point of some confusion. I really enjoyed the new information! Thank you.

von Miryana V

12. Juli 2019

excellent course, well thought out and great examples with readings to make sure you are on track with the syllabus and provide feedback.

von Nidhi S

23. Juni 2022

Its a good course to understand the societal ways. The Instructor is great. its a unicef combined initiative. going for part 2.

von Pete B

20. März 2019

Good presentation, accessible reading material, and all easy to digest - but the final lecture on measuring was sort of long...

von Kristi D

25. Feb. 2018

I learned a lot and I enjoyed the professor's demeanor and personality. I will take the next course in this series for sure.

von Nawarerk C

28. Feb. 2020

The content is quite complicated, however, the instructor makes it easier to understand. Case examples are really helpful.

von Isha J

14. Juli 2019

The examination method could've been more rigorous and the readings were not in the right order, but great course overall!

von PRAVEEN R

26. März 2020

One of the best social Psychology course available online, which allowed me to understand various norms around the world.

von Mohsin A

26. Dez. 2020

Its been a long time I have completed course on social norms, social change, well I think it's quite long but good.

von Martin E

19. Apr. 2020

This course enhanced my understanding of human motivations and behaviors including how to determine causal factor

von Kariwilliams

19. Jan. 2020

Very informative introduction into identifying and measuring social norms. Thank you for sharing this research.