Chevron Left
Zurück zu Social Norms, Social Change I

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Social Norms, Social Change I von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
1,886 Bewertungen
487 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Top-Bewertungen

PE

5. März 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

EC

21. Feb. 2022

This course opened my mind as to understand what moves people to do and/or think the way they do -and how to measure it- in order to be able to correctly intervene for social change. Simply amazing.

Filtern nach:

401 - 425 von 477 Bewertungen für Social Norms, Social Change I

von Mahesh J

8. Nov. 2016

It was a good course even though it was a bit theoretical. Its a great start for someone who has no background in social norms. I am glad I took this course though

von Natasha

6. Feb. 2017

The course is very detailed, with a strong methology and useful examples. Nevertheless, it wasn't always simple to follow and the last week was very demanding.

von Armand B

17. Juli 2019

This is a nice course if you want to chose social science field. In terms of Research, you are be able to how to formulates questions based on this course.

von Amelie D

1. Juli 2021

The course was easy to follow, and the concepts were well explained. The combination of videos and learning material was a big help.I learned a lot.

von Florence O

20. Juli 2021

T​his course was very useful and inciteful. The course content is very detailed and intermittent quizzes very useful in facilitating learning.

von Mira L

2. Aug. 2019

The content was interesting but some parts were repetitive to the point of some confusion. I really enjoyed the new information! Thank you.

von Miryana V

12. Juli 2019

excellent course, well thought out and great examples with readings to make sure you are on track with the syllabus and provide feedback.

von Nidhi S

23. Juni 2022

Its a good course to understand the societal ways. The Instructor is great. its a unicef combined initiative. going for part 2.

von Pete B

20. März 2019

Good presentation, accessible reading material, and all easy to digest - but the final lecture on measuring was sort of long...

von Kristi D

25. Feb. 2018

I learned a lot and I enjoyed the professor's demeanor and personality. I will take the next course in this series for sure.

von Nawarerk C

28. Feb. 2020

The content is quite complicated, however, the instructor makes it easier to understand. Case examples are really helpful.

von Isha J

14. Juli 2019

The examination method could've been more rigorous and the readings were not in the right order, but great course overall!

von PRAVEEN R

26. März 2020

One of the best social Psychology course available online, which allowed me to understand various norms around the world.

von Mohsin A

26. Dez. 2020

Its been a long time I have completed course on social norms, social change, well I think it's quite long but good.

von Martin E

19. Apr. 2020

This course enhanced my understanding of human motivations and behaviors including how to determine causal factor

von Kariwilliams

19. Jan. 2020

Very informative introduction into identifying and measuring social norms. Thank you for sharing this research.

von Janina G O S

17. Aug. 2017

The course was difficult but it helped broaden my horizon on how to bring about positive change. Thank you!

von Sergio A P V

24. Juni 2020

The feedback of the exams can improve more and put more examples in the videos, thanks for all.

von Jessica M

4. Mai 2020

Well presented and points made very clear. Great real world examples. Thanks Christina :)

von DUMISANI B

11. Apr. 2022

a very interesting and well paced course with a great lecturer enjoyed it throughout .

von Rwan K A

16. Sep. 2019

The most thing which helped me was the examples after every definition .. thanks a lot

von Victoria H

22. Apr. 2018

It was very interesting. I only wish I were able to highlight things in the reading.

von jimmie m

25. Feb. 2021

I enjoyed the lecturing and have learn alot that will be used in my day to day life

von Armand A O

25. Juli 2022

donner la possibilité de télécharger des supports de cours pour mieux comprendre

von tengson p

2. Dez. 2017

Very useful course to understand about social norm and how to measure it.