Chevron Left
Zurück zu Social Norms, Social Change I

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Social Norms, Social Change I von University of Pennsylvania

4.6
Sterne
1,510 Bewertungen
382 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is a course on social norms, the rules that glue societies together. It teaches how to diagnose social norms, and how to distinguish them from other social constructs, like customs or conventions. These distinctions are crucial for effective policy interventions aimed to create new, beneficial norms or eliminate harmful ones. The course teaches how to measure social norms and the expectations that support them, and how to decide whether they cause specific behaviors. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project, and it includes many examples of norms that sustain behaviors like child marriage, gender violence and sanitation practices. This is Part 1 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In these lectures, I introduce all the basic concepts and definitions, such as social expectations and conditional preferences, that help us distinguish between different types of social practices like customs, descriptive norms and social norms. Expectations and preferences can be measured, and these lectures explain how to measure them. Measurement is crucial to understanding the nature of the practice you are facing, as well as whether an intervention was or was not successful, and why. In Part 2, we will put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. New! Please use this link for a 30% discount on the recommended book that accompanies this course! https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Top-Bewertungen

PE

Mar 06, 2019

This course will open your eyes to different behavioural patterns that human engage in, teach how about the suppossed mudane but important things in our society and also how to carry out a research.

JC

Aug 05, 2019

Achei o curso muito interessante e importante para entender a minha area de trabalho com certeza abso;uta irei implementar os conhecimentos adquiridos e estou pronta para entrar na 2 parte do curso

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 371 Bewertungen für Social Norms, Social Change I

von Sarah S Y

Jun 15, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. Insightful. Professor clearly communicates course content. Could do without all the opening jingles/intros since the video clips are really short, though.

von Tamoghna A

May 16, 2019

Was a fascinating course that highlighted we human beings are driven by norms and societal expectation. Negative norms can be turned positive with the right kind of intervention.

von Melissa P

May 04, 2017

I loved this course so much! It discussed important topics within Social Norms and Social Change at length, and really strengthened my understanding of each! Thank you so much!

von Sergio A A

Jul 29, 2020

This course was important to me because offers really good categories to understand the behavior of people in a community. The explanation and the support material were great.

von Sabeen a

Jul 05, 2020

excellent teacher and videos , helpful literature and easy to comprehend .. thank you .. if possible please provide online certificate for those who cant afford .. bless you.

von Rochelle V

Mar 05, 2020

It is mind blowing to know that the norms we grew up with could be explained scientifically. It gives me a refreshing view on how we can strengthen or abandon social norms.

von Rex L

Aug 02, 2019

thank you very much. from this course i have learned a lot, this basic understanding of norms and social behaviour will help you to understand what happening around your.

von Lisa k

Jul 19, 2017

i really like this course as it showed the root of some social norms in the community that i live in and i was able to analyses people's motives for behaving in such way.

von Saúl A

Jul 10, 2017

It is a great course that allow to learn the importance of social norms in order to propose change mechanisms and promote social development and human rights achievement.

von Diana F

Aug 15, 2017

This course was very interesting. It helped me understand about how to proceed in the intervention of some of the company employees behavior and expectations. Thank you.

von Michael T D

Mar 06, 2019

It is a very educative course that provides the learner with the technical lens, and gives ways problems could be solved best. I'm hoping to start the part 2 soon.

von Damini B

Apr 09, 2019

An important course that gives you a framework to understand and analyse social norms by the leading scholar in the field. This is the future of social change.

von umar f

Apr 21, 2019

very well conducted Lectrues and very friendly way to teach with the help of examples.I just loved doing it and looking forward to attempt more in coming days

von Diego P L

Oct 03, 2017

Excellent course, clear and structured. Well based in rigurous references.

To understand social norms and a first approach to measure them. Highly recommended!

von Lilen Q

Feb 10, 2019

It has been one of the best and most useful courses I have taken in my life. Without doubt, I will be able to put this knowledge into practice in my work.

von Gilbert A A

Apr 22, 2018

The course was very interesting. Provides an excellent insight on understanding social norms and developing intervention strategies to bring about change.

von Ajay V

Apr 25, 2018

It was a fantastic course that concisely taught the different expectations that we face in society. Whether it may be our own or of society in general.

von Erme S

Jun 16, 2017

Very useful to me, a undergraduate student of computer science who love HCI and want to understando complex social domains. Very clear, a nice teacher.

von Varun K S

Aug 14, 2017

I absolutely cherished whatever I learned through this course. It gave me a perspective to view things from critical, rational and shared perspective.

von Lourdes C

Mar 14, 2020

Excellent course, fantastic Lecturer, lots of new learning and interesting pointers on social norms and beliefs. Very well taught and structured.

von Keith S

Dec 10, 2017

I thought that the course was both practically relevant to international development work, and also well supported by theory - a nice combination.

von Kamrul H

Nov 07, 2017

All the topics are elaborated with real life examples. Also designed to be very interesting. I enjoyed every bit of it while learning new aspects.

von Maria J S C

Jul 09, 2020

Cristina is amazing. Everything is very clear and ordered. I believe this should be a compulsory course for anyone interested in public policy.

von Diana M

Sep 04, 2017

I think is a great course, is applicable to any society and very well explain, also Cristina is very nice. I definitely will enroll to part II

von Kristen P

May 24, 2017

The professor was delightful and the material was presented in a nicely progressive way, with a good variety of videos, stories, and readings.