Chevron Left
Zurück zu Object Oriented Programming in Java

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Object Oriented Programming in Java von University of California San Diego

4.7
3,751 Bewertungen
914 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome to our course on Object Oriented Programming in Java using data visualization. People come to this course with many different goals -- and we are really excited to work with all of you! Some of you want to be professional software developers, others want to improve your programming skills to implement that cool personal project that you’ve been thinking about, while others of you might not yet know why you’re here and are trying to figure out what this course is all about. This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science. Our goal is that by the end of this course each and every one of you feels empowered to create a Java program that’s more advanced than any you have created in the past and that is personally interesting to you. In achieving this goal you will also learn the fundamentals of Object Oriented Programming, how to leverage the power of existing libraries, how to build graphical user interfaces, and how to use some core algorithms for searching and sorting data. And this course is project-based, so we’ll dive right into the project immediately! We are excited to be offering a unique course structure, designed to support learners of different backgrounds in succeeding at their own pace. The first module explains how this will work and if this course is right for you. We also recommend taking a few minutes to explore the course site. A good place to start is the navigation bar on the left. Click Course Content to see what material we’ll cover each week, as well preview the assignments you’ll need to complete to pass the course. Click Discussions to see forums where you can discuss the course material with fellow students taking the class. Be sure to introduce yourself to everyone in the Meet and Greet forum. This course should take about 6 weeks to complete. You can check out the recommended course schedule below to see a quick overview of the lessons and assignments you’ll complete each week. We’re excited you’re here learning with us. Let’s get started!...

Top-Bewertungen

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

LR

Oct 14, 2015

I loved this course! The course videos and the projects sharpened my idea about some of the toughest concepts of Java and OOP. I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning OOP in Java. ☺

Filtern nach:

876 - 892 von 892 Bewertungen für Object Oriented Programming in Java

von Swati J

Mar 01, 2016

The peer review assignment part is really

useless.

von Heaven H

Oct 12, 2015

The lectures were too wordy and the lecturers tripped over their words too often (which wouldn't have made it so difficult to listen if the lectures hadn't been so wordy!). There was too much focus on high-level details of the course project and too little attention paid to technical details. This rendered the lectures simplistic, boring, and sometimes a waste of time. This felt like an introductory level course, made more difficult through poor teaching.

Also, the slick web interface was slightly difficult to navigate in comparison to other Coursera courses.

von taha

Feb 16, 2017

One suggestion i give to you that, please level of difficulty increase in a way that the learner not face to much thing in a single assignment. So, create assignment like that learner learn less thing but accurately. For example in this assignment you only build a relations between classes and marker on a map for only CityMarkerMap.java class and in the next module you implement LandMarker.java and so on. So, please this is my request in the future make assignments in a way that the Learner less thing but efficiently and accurately.

von Anqi W

Aug 02, 2016

too fancy and the structure is not very clear. Not very much learned.

von Kerstin K

May 23, 2017

Came from the predecessor specialization by Duke, which was really great. So I had high expectations for this course.

But this course introduces not much new (only some library using), no new programming concepts. I also didn't like the programming assignments (one "big" project). They were not challenging at all (much too easy), and also not really interesting (repetition and expansion of an assignment at Dukes). You are also not writing that much code, because you get too much from them, where you just have to add a little here and there.

Liked, that they divided the videos into different stages (core, concept challenge, when I struggled), so you only have to watch the videos, that you find necessary.

I hope the next course will be more interesting and challenging.

von Krishna K

Jul 01, 2019

Compared to the Duke University classes, I think this is a low quality course. I managed to get most of the assignments done in a short time. I don't like the fact that the classes are heavily dependent on starting with eclipse. I would have preferred very much if the class would have showed you how to set everything up independent of any IDE's. I would have preferred to write programs and debug them in my editor of choice.

Also, the course is unnecessarily spread out for the actual amount it teaches. I think the entire course can be summarized in two weeks of materials. I would say that only week4-5-6 are important to understanding OOP.

While the videos are good, some sections are pointless. I don't really care for the videos that talk about why someone had difficulty with a particular topic. I DO like the videos that walks through some examples/scenarios. They aided in my understanding.

I don't think the assignments are well designed. While you can follow through them, I don't think they were as good as the Duke courses. (which are course 1 and 2 of the OOP Java specialization. This course is course 3).

I was not impressed with this course. But I did learn some OOP concepts. I don't think this course does a good job on teaching you OOprogramming or how to think about designing projects using Objects.

von Morteza T

Jul 22, 2019

This course is too basic and appropriate for the beginners.

von Mohamed E A

Mar 19, 2016

in the beginning of the course i thought i'll get a good experience as usual on coursera, but i was wrong ...

a lot of things >> to be introduced in next course

confusing data types & working with things i don't know about it.

you've said that, anyone with basics of programming could pass this course and after 6 months i couldn't.

please be sure about the prerequisites next time.

von Morris N

Oct 23, 2016

Instructors are not to be found.

von Paulo S S Q

Sep 25, 2015

just an google maps applet, do not explain java itself.

von Lee M

Oct 25, 2015

Cannot follow a single thing that they are talking about. I have prior coding experience in other languages and I still have no idea what the instructors are getting at. They all explain everything horribly and jump into huge complex things with no explanation. Worst course I have ever taken in my life.

von mohamed a

Oct 18, 2015

starting from week2 the way of explaining the materials isnt good

von Đoàn N T H

Jul 28, 2017

I think this site is one of sharing site, but it's not.

von Martin K

Feb 13, 2017

I signed up for this course hoping for a good introduction to OO programming and Java only to not be able to verify if I have even learned anything. Of course I can access the course material, but the fact that cannot even manually check if my answers are correct with certainty makes all of this less efficient than simply learning it by myself.

von Jonathan Z

Oct 19, 2018

You are given outdated and messy code to work with, I came back to this project after several more years of java experience and it was actually made tricky by the horrible starting points. I rewrote almost every project from scratch in 1/8th of lines.

von 김요엘

Jul 03, 2019

절대 듣지마라. 동료평가 때문에 짜증난다. 일주일 무료라고 해놓고 3일전에 다 끝내고 동료평가 기다리는데 최소 4일은 걸린다. 공짜로 듣는 사람은 일부러 매치를 못하게 하거나 하는 알고리즘이 있는듯 하다. 아니면 듣는 사람이 별로 없는 인기 없는 강의거나. 둘 중 하나겠지 ㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋㅋ

von Frank T

Oct 03, 2019

Support for the course has ended and the exercises are no longer compatible with new versions of Java. After solving an OpenGL issue and installing JRE 1.8, the starter program still wasn't working as it should.