Chevron Left
Zurück zu Old Norse Mythology in the Sources

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Old Norse Mythology in the Sources von University of Colorado Boulder

4.6
Sterne
63 Bewertungen
28 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course is an introduction to the religion of the Vikings as it is recorded in Old Norse and Scandinavian literature from the medieval period. You will learn about the different written sources and what they can teach us about pre-Christian religion in northern Europe in the Viking Age. The course surveys the primary collection of Old Norse poetry about the pre-Christian Scandinavian gods, the Poetic Edda. We will also work with the main collections of stories about the Old Norse gods in prose: Snorri Sturluson's Edda and Saxo's History of the Danes....

Top-Bewertungen

JH

23. Nov. 2021

Great introduction to this material and subject. Did not want to stop watching the videos. very easy to watch. Lots of information given. hope there will be a continuation of this course.

TG

6. Apr. 2022

Excellent course. I have listened to the "Nordic mythology podcast" in the past, but I needed something more structured and beginner-friendly. This course is just that. Thank you!

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 30 Bewertungen für Old Norse Mythology in the Sources

von Ramon v O

24. Feb. 2022

​While the topic is highly interesting, and the teacher clearly knows his stuff. The course itself is hardly interactive, and only a powerpoint presentation with a voice reading the exact text of the slides. I stopped the course.

von Steven S

30. Nov. 2021

D​r. Nordvig presents interesting information. It is not just the dates and places, it is the who and the why. I took everything I thought I knew, and flipped it on its head. I am glad I took the class and look forward to further classes presented by Dr. Nordvig.

von Paul G

2. Dez. 2021

Useful intro with good course content, spoilt by errors in test questions and lack of responce from coursera to reported issues.

von Rafael M C

1. Feb. 2022

I didn't like this course. I stopped after the first module (first week) because I checked and the rest of the course follows the same structure. T​he videos are monotonous and the instructor could be easily subtituted by a list of bullet points. He rarely makes any observations and the tests are atrocious quizzes wanting people to remember specific dates from an infinity of dates provided. After teh first week, I felt that I didn't teh information I had hoped to learn. The quality of this course is really poor and I don't hink this is a good introduction to the topic. A suggestion is for the videos to be a little more dynamic and interactive. Another thing that could be different is teh presence of the instructor in some of the videos. Finally, I would like to suggest you don;t foucs the quizzes into a bunch of dates only scholars would know by heart.

von Thomas W

7. März 2022

I​ really do want to offer my thanks to Dr. Nordvig for offering such an in-depth course for free, and greatly admire his philosophy behind doing so. I was trying to prepare for a Masters degree in Medieval Studies, and already had some experience with medieval Icelandic sagas, but this course hugely informed me about Eddic poetry and Old Norse mythology as an academic study.

F​rom this course I have learned, amongst many other subjects, about gods, monsters, and heroes; about the structure of pre-Christian Scandinavian society and religious groups, and the consequent influence of Christianity on medieval authors; finally about the concept of euhemerism, which was both new and intriguing for me.

F​or anyone considering taking this course, whether for academic purposes or simply to learn more about a mythology that has permeated Western culture for centuries, I cannot recommend it enough. Dr. Nordvig is clearly an expert in his field, though his presentations are easy to follow and to understand, and I encourage anyone who finishes the course to read his own publications and to read more into the subject matter.

1​0/10.

von Elizabeth G

29. Jan. 2022

This course gives a brief but fairly comprehensive introduction to Old Norse Mythology as found in the early sources, around the 12th to 14th centuries. The lectures are concise and interesting. The instructor has chosen the topics well and also has done a good job condensing the stories for students. I wish there was more explanation about Skaldic and Eddic poetry (meter, rhyme, structure??) but maybe that is best left to another course.

von Viking G R

4. Dez. 2021

Good Introduction to Norse Mythology, definitely learned some interesting details especially regarding historical evidence of runic inscriptions, age of written records and how written compositions were influenced by the author and the dominant religious dogma of the time.

von Linda B

8. März 2022

Through this course I was able to become acquainted with the foundations of Old Norse Mythology-- the terminologies, important texts, important dates, and the historical contexts. I am grateful to have had the opportunity to get a quick intensive on this subject.

von Rheged-armer T

31. Jan. 2022

A really good overview for anyone wanting to have an objective academic approach to Old Norse Mythology. It would be a real help to all those discovering Norse mythology so that they could be objective and not take things out of context.

von ad k

28. März 2022

An amazing course indeed, and I'd say the most user-friendly course from Colorado system I have taken so far. I have taken a bunch of history and mythology courses, this course taught me a lot though, I gotta admit

von Justin H

24. Nov. 2021

Great introduction to this material and subject. Did not want to stop watching the videos. very easy to watch. Lots of information given. hope there will be a continuation of this course.

von Shawn T

10. Mai 2022

Just finished 'The Last Kingdom' and found the Saxon/Danish world so fascinating. This further deepened my knowlegde of the history of the broader Scandanavian world. Loved it!

von Tomasz G

7. Apr. 2022

E​xcellent course. I have listened to the "Nordic mythology podcast" in the past, but I needed something more structured and beginner-friendly. This course is just that. Thank you!

von Victor R

22. Nov. 2021

This was a most fascinating and interesting course that I completed on Coursera so far! Looking forward to complete it with honours as well! Skål and may Odin be with you! :)

von Gregory J

5. Mai 2022

Incredibly insightful and well put together; highly recommended for anyone intersted in learning more about this fascinating culture!

von Mary R S L

6. Mai 2022

I really love it. I enjoyed this course so far. It made me learn more about Old Norse Mythology and learn more about history.

von David H

5. Feb. 2022

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, well presented and easy to follow. Now I've got a much better understanding of this topic.

von JUAN C O C

1. Jan. 2022

It's been fantastic to take this course, I can't wait for the next one of this compilation of courses

von Ragnar L

24. Apr. 2022

Great course. Fun course. I learned a lot and am inspired to learn much more about Norse Mythology.

von Julie T

2. Dez. 2021

A​ great way to get an overall view of Nordic Mythology. Good content!! Easy to understand.

von Sarah F

12. Jan. 2022

Learned the real history of the Norse myths and the people behind them.

von Daniel D

9. Mai 2022

Super Imformative on Norse Culture and Poems

von Juliette F

21. Feb. 2022

​superb course, well written and presented

von Francisco O C F

31. Jan. 2022

E​xcelente curso introductorio.

von Michael H

24. Feb. 2022

thorough