Chevron Left
Zurück zu Bats, Ducks, and Pandemics: An Introduction to One Health Policy

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Bats, Ducks, and Pandemics: An Introduction to One Health Policy von Princeton University

4.8
Sterne
324 Bewertungen
98 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Welcome to "Bats, Ducks, and Pandemics: An Introduction to One Health Policy". One Health is the concept that human, animal, and environmental/ecosystem health are linked. The concept provides a useful framework for examining complex health issues such as food safety and security, emerging and vector-borne diseases, and antimicrobial resistance. It can be used to analyze government policies to determine if they are effective in improving health and well-being. Agriculture is the foundation of civilization. Surplus food enabled the growth of cities; cities led to nations, and nations discovered the science and technology that allowed populations to grow. But agriculture comes with costs including environmental and ecosystem destruction and the emergence of zoonotic diseases. Antibiotics are the foundation of modern medicine. But antibiotics have come with costs too, including antimicrobial resistance and potentially harmful changes to human and animal microbiomes. This interdisciplinary course will cover diverse subjects such as basic epidemiology, public health, public policy, basic microbiology, food safety, and security, zoonotic diseases, sanitation and hygiene, antimicrobial resistance, environmental and ecosystem health, and the national and international organizations that oversee health, agriculture, and the environment. Disease outbreaks including Influenza, Q fever, and Ebola will be discussed. While the course was developed and recorded before the COVID-19 pandemic, the concepts learned very much apply to it. This course emphasizes holistic, not siloed, approaches to health, and disease....

Top-Bewertungen

PP

24. Aug. 2020

I loved this course .

I gained a lot of valuable knowledge and insight into what is happening in the world at the present time as we all try to navigate our way through this pandemic.

Thanks

JM

27. Nov. 2020

An impressive course with vast content and references of the highest quality, explained with tremendous clarity by Prof Laura Kahn. My only critique is to the discussion prompts - too extensive.

Filtern nach:

76 - 95 von 95 Bewertungen für Bats, Ducks, and Pandemics: An Introduction to One Health Policy

von Kranthi K

23. Nov. 2020

The pedagogy for the course was great with well thought learning activities etc, as well as the discussion forums. I was unable to do much of the discussions as they were lengthy, although I would have liked to.

von Jian H

21. Sep. 2021

This is a nice course, give us some basic information of One Health, I hope I can get more information of the cases about the One Health strategy application in disease control in the future.

von Maureen O

7. Juni 2021

a very detailed and informative course.that has highlighted where public policy and science intersect

von IVAN R M J

21. Juli 2021

es muy bueno

von anne h

5. Mai 2021

excellent

von AYISHA R 2

27. Aug. 2020

Good

von Anuja S

28. Sep. 2020

A certificate should be issued upon completion of course.

von Charity N M

15. Dez. 2021

Learned a lot...especially the role of One Health and the OH approach towards life in general. The interdependence between humans, animals, and the environment is pivotal in making relevant adjustments aimed at improving the quality of life for each of these. Besides, I got to utilize my time constructively during the pandemic. I am currently a member of The University of Nairobi One Health Club. We have organized and participated in several events, including tree-planting, vaccination of domestic animals, mangrove conservation advocacy and so much more yet to be done. Thank you to our tutor, the Princeton University, the team that saw to it that this program is a success, and all learners who are working towards the world a better place.

von Bethany D

30. Dez. 2021

Very informative for a variety of audiences. s a veterinarian this was a great recap of a number of zoonotic diseases, but I also picked up information on the history of disease discoveries and disease outbreaks. Thanks very much! A worthwhile course to bette runderstand one health and epidemiology.

von Courtney D

23. Mai 2022

G​reat overview of the transdiciplianry roles and function of the One Health approach given in the context of the "wicked" problems our global population faces today and in the immediate future. Thanks so much, Dr. Kahn!

von Seohee P

6. Juni 2022

You are a great instructor: organized, responsive, patient and able to clearly explain complex topics and nuances.

von Izzah A

29. Apr. 2022

I loved this course. Very informative and helpful

von Brianna H

4. Apr. 2022

​amazing! Super interesting and informative.

von giovanni m

11. Juli 2022

thank you. One Health, central.

von Dr. R K S

7. Juni 2022

Excellent information

von Muhammad H U

25. Dez. 2021

Valuable knowledge

von RUWAN C R R M

22. Nov. 2021

Knowledge full

von RAFI K K

4. Nov. 2021

Great Lesson

von ARIFUL H

19. März 2022

9 JODI

von Touseef A

9. Dez. 2021

T​his is a good One Health Foundation Course but its topic is misleading. There is no emphasis on bats and not a single time I hear word Duck durning the course.