Chevron Left
Zurück zu International Leadership and Organizational Behavior

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für International Leadership and Organizational Behavior von Università Bocconi

4.8
Sterne
2,307 Bewertungen
624 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Leaders in business and non-profit organizations increasingly work across national borders and in multi-cultural environments. You may work regularly with customers or suppliers abroad, or be part of a globally dispersed cross-functional team, or an expatriate manager on an international assignment. You may be a member of a global online community, or a development aid worker collaborating with an international network of partner organizations. In all of these contexts, your effectiveness as a leader depends on how well you understand and are able to manage individual and collective behaviors in an intercultural context. In this course – together with a team of Bocconi expert faculty and Bocconi alumni – we’ll explore the theory and practice of international and intercultural leadership and organizational behavior. Social science research has revealed systematic ways in which our behavior differs across cultural contexts – enabling us to more effectively work across borders. Insights from psychology, neuroscience, sociology and anthropology, from communication studies and from management scholarship allow us to understand what shapes individual and group decision making, what enhances or weakens team performance, and how we can build and use our social networks. And the shared practical experience of international leaders allows us to identify concrete steps to enhancing intercultural leadership competence, and to be cognizant of common leadership challenges. Learning about organizational behavior provides a great opportunity to develop your leadership skills and to reflect on your own behavioral tendencies. How do you usually make important decisions? What motivates you and how do you try motivating others? How successfully do you leverage and integrate diverse skills and views in a team? Do you prefer professional relationships with a close-knit group of trusted colleagues, or with a far-flung network of acquaintances from all walks of life? If you really want to learn how organizations behave and take decisions and at the same time develop leadership skills, then this is the course for you. We are looking forward to welcoming you and supporting you on this journey of learning and discovery. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1 - Leadership Acumen. International perspective on leadership, common traps & challenges, and opportunities of intercultural leadership. Week 2 - Navigating Culture. Impact of cultural differences on organizations, decoding culture, culture classifications and stereotyping, developing intercultural intelligence. Week 3 - Communication. Communication and its impact on leadership identity and relationships, managing communication to improve decision making, steps for developing your intercultural communication skills. Week 4 - Motivation. Views on individual motivation, cultural differences in motivation, developing motivation and commitment in teams. Week 5 - Networking. Patterns of interpersonal relationships in/across organizations, strategically developing social networks and social capital, norms for networking across cultures. Week 6 - Conflict. Effective / defective conflict management approaches, dealing with ethical dilemmas. Thanks to the participation of our alumni and of the Bocconi Alumni Association, participants will have practical insights on international leadership. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND All are welcome! Some prior exposure to basic issues of organizational behavior (communication, decision making, motivation, etc.) is useful, but not required....

Top-Bewertungen

AY
6. Jan. 2017

I completed this course while working abroad and I loved it. The course helped be to have a better understanding and respect for different cultures in life and in the work environment.\n\nThank You!

GC
12. Aug. 2018

Very interesting course. Alumni viewpoints, pop-up questions, and interactive dialogues all made the course more engaging. Each video was a good length for informational content and attentiveness.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 620 Bewertungen für International Leadership and Organizational Behavior

von Bianca

29. Juni 2017

I enjoyed this course from the beginning till the end. The psychological insight of the course was very valuable to me and helped me grasp many management-related concepts which were totally new to me. It was great to have an additional reading list full of TED Talks (Simon Sinek, Dan Ariely, Daniel Goleman) and engaging articles which give a new perspective on what has been discussed in the videos. The format of the course was also nice, Prof. Franz sometimes had discussions on a particular topic with Bocconi students (I particularly appreciated the Asian student's perspective), professors and alumni from all over the world. Many thanks to Prof. Franz, Bocconi University and Coursera for making this wonderful course available!

von Andrea Y

7. Jan. 2017

I completed this course while working abroad and I loved it. The course helped be to have a better understanding and respect for different cultures in life and in the work environment.

Thank You!

von Philipp L

24. Nov. 2016

It is quite interesting, but overall not very content heavy. It is a bit too much workshop style and lacking a bit the academic structure and content.

von Lilibeth F M

26. Juli 2020

LEADERSHIP JOURNEY GOES WORLDWIDE

Undergoing this course was a mixed feeling of challenge and pride. Challenge because you had the opportunity to be mentored by such a brilliant professor, Franz Wohlgezogen. He's so adept at discussing the theories and problem-solving strategies that helped me in my leadership journey. The Bocconi alumni also shared substantially their knowledge and expertise, needless to say, the simulation displayed by them. From this course, Pride, because I had the chance to be one of the many who wants to be in this course, I was able to learn, relearn, and unlearn the traditional strategies and more than motivated to share this with my teachers in my school I am assigned. MABUHAY!

Thank you very much Coursera, it was indeed an opportunity to be one of the recipients of the scholarship grantees of University of Nueva Caceres and MAPUA University (Phils. most prestigious universities.) A certificate is more than enough to the learning and experiences I gained.

von Ginamarie Z C

13. Aug. 2018

Very interesting course. Alumni viewpoints, pop-up questions, and interactive dialogues all made the course more engaging. Each video was a good length for informational content and attentiveness.

von Elfje V M

14. Mai 2020

Wonderful! Wonderful course! Very much to the point and with great 'real life' examples and interviews. Great professor who went the extra mile to make this course not only interesting but entertaining as well. Everything is so well explained and feels interactive. I download ed the syllabus as a go to book and planning on reading the suggested books! The quiz questions were a bit confusing at times and they had a few spelling mistakes in them but that didn't take away from this great learning experience! I am looking forward to take more classes by this professor.

von sam P

18. Mai 2020

Basically iam a undergraduate student who is interested in learning administraion. so after taking up the course i got to know the future consequences of being a leader and solutions to handle it . And how to face the various types of challenges that occur in an organization . And this course mainly focuses on HOW TO WORK WITH DIFFERENT CULTURED PEOPLE . which i like the most .And at last coflict management is the best

von Vanessa P

14. Feb. 2019

I have learned many thingd in that Course.

von Verushka S

16. Mai 2018

The integration of students ans alumni was distracting ans at some points unnecessary.

von Iqbal A

26. Nov. 2015

I found this course really interesting and useful for working environment. There are a lot of insight earned during the course. The reading materials are also impressive - not just relying on the theoretical context. HBR articles are on the the best reliant sources at the moment and as a fan of Harvard deliverables, I am glad that the University put it as the references. The video is out of the box. Involving the alumni having important position in mutlinational companies is a smart idea. The lecture is not just imposing to the academic literatures but also to best professional practices from the industries. Well done and keep the good work for the teaching lecturer! I will be very interested to participate in other courses from Universita Bocconi.

von Dainius M

15. Sep. 2017

I found this course very insightful with great value in developing international and intercultural leadership acumen, transnational approach to leadership, understanding in deep how cultural differences influence people's thinking and behavior in relation to communication, motivation, conflict resolvement, etc. I liked the manner in which Franz presented information, not to mention that participation of Bocconi students, lectures and Bocconi Alumni with their real life examples and insights were of the utmost value for me (especially Giovanni Ciserari, P&G). Actually I'd be happy to see the second part of this course, or take part in other courses by SDA Bocconi.

von Denver E B C

1. Sep. 2020

True to its global prestige, the University of Bocconi and the course Professor, had really been able to deliver the course on ILOB in the most realistic, appropriate, interactive and competent ways. Its instructional materials, development exercises and modular assessments are well-researched and -designed to really ensure cross-cultural learning, communications and cooperation. At the same time, the course design and activities also facilitates for re-assessments and -realizations of the students functional knowledge and skill sets on leadership and management. The SDA Bocconi's Responsible Leadership Self Assessment and Report is also very sensible and helpful to young leaders like me, who want to improve myself further. Thank you so much, University of Bocconi, SDA Bocconi and Asst. Professor Franz Wohlgezogen for investing in our generation of next global leaders!

von Barbara P

5. Aug. 2020

I am really happy to have used this time of the covid to deepen these topics that follow part of my previous degree course. I hope this will increase my versatility as a leader, improve my relationship skills and the way I communicate.

During these months of difficulties due to the virus, I have tried to not lose the motivation and the will that has always guided me, and I am happy to have learned some management tools for the next challenges that I hope will arrive soon.

Having the intention of becoming an entrepreneur in a foreign country, there are many aspects to consider, and thanks to this course I had a roadmap to deal with both cultural and operational differences. The materials provided are absolutely valuable and I am sure I will come back to read and review them often.

SDA Bocconi really has excellent courses.

von Maša F

29. Mai 2017

This was an amazing course and I have learned so much from it. The best thing about it was the way it was organised and planned, each module takes place in a different form and situation, sometimes a dialogue, sometimes a discussion, sometimes at the university, other time in a gym, so it kept the spirit of the course interesting and always brought something new to its participants. The lecturer was really good, he knew how to present the knowledge in a fun, applicable way and always gave us different examples and sources from where we could learn a lot more about the topic in hand. Thank you for the experience it was very interesting and useful.

von Andrea G

3. März 2021

The International Leadership and Organizational Behaviour program was my first Course into the online Platform Coursera. I was curious but not prepared to learn so many concepts and theories in such systematic and well organised manner. I did enjoy each part of it the videos, the lessons the theories , lectures, the articles, and talks expanding the knowledge in a well driven methodology that simple captured and surprised me. I will recommend this course and the platform, and I am ready for the next course! Ps: Franz the professor was super, a skilled serious professional with the ability to keep me focused while entertained.

von Ali K B

16. Mai 2020

A thought-provoking perspective on how to operate as a transnational leader in a global context. Touching on key concepts, including the principles of leadership, navigating cultures, using communication to create bridges, motivating followers, the power of social networks and managing conflict. Generally the content offered a good balance of theory and practical elements, along with supporting materials to enhance the overall takeaway. Superb effort and will refer to notes and content to continue developing these competencies. Thank you.

von Mei M

8. Aug. 2021

Thanks a lot for such a great course. Truly appreciate it when you try to varies the background and kinds of approaches to keep the lessons interesting & enjoyable over time.

I did apply tons of lessons learned from the lecture throughout the time I enroll the course. One of my best decision during the Covid lock down is to have enrolled in the course.

von Ispita H

25. Aug. 2020

Very well structure, well thought and well curated. I found it very insightful and helpful. It is in tandem with today's need for developing leadership skills and holistic management techniques.

von Gianpaolo C

6. Aug. 2020

This course is very professional, I recommend it. It is an excellent starting point to further explore these topics which are of great help to reflect for those who work in leadership contexts.

von Gianfranco M R

25. März 2016

one of the most boring courses I have ever taken.....I had to force myself to finish it. the teacher is charismatic but the content is just theories and abstract ideas.....just blah blah blah

von Yannery V B

7. Juni 2020

I found this course very useful and organized. I am in the beginning of my career and this course helped me understand the basics of working with different cultures and behaviors. I found the powerpoint slides very insightful and helped me review and understand the material more in depth. I highly recommend this course for a person that is just started working in a global company and recent graduate, as it can help one fully understand the outcomes/behaviors or different individuals when working for a big organization. Furthermore, I would have like a lot more cases or real life projects as a Organizational Development Consultant.

von Sharmin S H

25. Juni 2020

I found this course very insightful with great value in developing international and intercultural leadership acumen, transnational approach to leadership, understanding in deep how cultural differences influence people's thinking and behavior related to communication, motivation, conflict, etc. I liked Franz presented information, not to mention that participation of Bocconi students, lectures, and Bocconi Alumni with their real-life examples and insights were of the utmost value for me (especially Giovanni Ciserari, P&G). I'd be happy to see the second part of this course or take part in other courses by SDA Bocconi.

von Vitalii P

10. Apr. 2020

Hi there! I would like to express my sincere gratitude to the Bocconi University team and especially to Dr. Franz Wohlgezogen for the International Leadership and Organizational Behavior course. I passed this course and my grade is 86.80% - not bad for me. At the course, I have gotten a basic theory, many scientific methodologies of research in this field of knowledge, and problem solving strategies in the area of management.

Many of my practical skills have received theoretical background, they have been organized and systematized by received scientific educational material.

Thank you and Love you all!!!!

von Dr A N V

25. Aug. 2020

I have learnt many important factors when undergoing this course titled "International Leadership and Organizational Behavior" and it was indeed a learning experience when doing my Leadership Development Assignments of this course. I strongly recommend this course to anyone who wants to establish themselves as "Effective International Responsible Leaders". I sincerely thank SDA Bocconi School of Management, The course Instructor Prof.Franz Wohlgezogen, Department of Management and Technology and Course Era for the quality of structured content of the course. Thank You. - Dr.A.Narasima Venkatesh.

von Daniela G d S

23. Apr. 2017

This course was really above my expectations. I had already done another course at Bocconi and it was amazing, but this one was really great for my professional moment. I really enjoyed every class. In this course I could remember and learn better topics I have already studied at college and in my postgraduate course and also learn new things, as leadership principles and challenges, approaches to understand organizational culture and so many others. I strongly recommend this course to anyone else who want to learn more about leadership and organizations in general.