Chevron Left
Zurück zu In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting von The Museum of Modern Art

4.9
Sterne
927 Bewertungen
400 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Top-Bewertungen

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

DC

Jun 07, 2020

Really enjoyed this course, first course I have taken in this area of study. The course has given me an understanding of the artists covered and can't wait to see the artists paintings in person.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 395 Bewertungen für In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

von Beatriz E M V

Jun 15, 2020

Amazing experience. I loved the course , I can not wait to start another one. The material, the resources, everything was just great. I really did not expect to learn so much as I actually did. I would do it a thousand times.

von Natalya S

Jul 19, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the videos and course content. Lecturer was a knowledgeable and engaging speaker. Highly recommend to anyone interested in learning about techniques and concepts of well known abstract artists from 20th c.

von luca s

Jan 23, 2018

Please spend time on this course, it is not only about the artists' ideas, the practical side is how the different painters created their style very interesting. Even when it looks simple there is a lot of craft behind it!

von Cheryl

May 18, 2017

I felt it was really helpful to get to know and practice the artists' techniques, even if for the ones who don't paint and don't intend to paint. Contemporary art needs guide and explanation more than other kind of art.

von Ashley R

Jun 07, 2020

This course was incredible! If you want to learn more about art and really dive into specific artists' works definitely take this class. I've learned so much and can't wait to try some of the techniques in my own work.

von Andrew E

Dec 01, 2017

Excellent course. Material was concise. Videos were truly excellent and to the point. Easily manageable across a busy week and I learned much more than I anticipated. Heartily recommended. Look forward to the next!

von Smita S

Jun 13, 2020

Very useful and informative course on Postwar Abstract painting. Learning from the comfort of home and flexible timings were added advantage. Thoroughly enjoyed the videos and learnt a lot from Corey d' Augustine.

von Pamela J R

May 15, 2017

This is one of the best courses I have done. I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates art. I will never look at the work of these artists in the same way again, this course has certainly opened up my eyes!

von Rosa P

Jul 22, 2017

I loved taking this course. I learnt a lot about the artists, mediums and techniques. Corey makes it really interesting and easy to follow. I would definitely take another class like this in the future. Thanks!

von Douglas N

Mar 31, 2020

In this course, you learned about the materials, techniques and approaches of seven New York School artists. I honed my visual analysis skills and I made my own abstract paintings inspired by what I learned.

von LU H

Mar 09, 2020

This course provides me a good perspective to look into abstract paintings. The videos in the studio are quite practical for me to learn the underneath techniques of the artists which is also very inspiring.

von Melinda B

May 23, 2017

The course was inspirational! I loved learning not only the history of Postwar Abstract Painting, and an appreciation of the art works, but also the techniques used by many of the artists. Great instruction!

von Ifigenia L B

Jun 29, 2020

The course is so organized. It is giving you all information needed to get to know Abstract Expressionism and its most Important Artists. Thank you so much for this interesting 8 weeks. I really enjoyed it.

von Petra C

Apr 22, 2018

This was a fantastic course, so interesting with superb resources. I particularly enjoyed the painting demonstrations and the film clips of discussions about the art works. A first rate course. Thank you!

von julia k

Jun 23, 2020

I got a huge amount out of the course, really coming to understand Post War art and AbEX.

I learned about methods and styles and influences and feel familiar with the movement and confident to discuss it.

von Cindy W

May 27, 2020

I have a better understanding on the works of art introduced in this course. Moreover, I tried to practice on the ways followed by guidence that gave me a deep understanding on the ideas behind the art.

von Marcia F

Mar 09, 2018

This course is an incredible investigative journey of materials and processes which leads to a greater appreciation for the context in which Abstract Expressionist were working in the mid 20th century.

von Valerie L V

May 22, 2017

Amazing course, precise but deep at the same time, beautifully designed with a really interesting selection of painters. Corey is a GREAT teacher, very clear, very smart and inspiring. I enjoyed a lot!

von Arthur D W

Feb 26, 2018

This course will inform you about painting techniques (trust me, it isn't as simple as it looks!) and improve your ability to think and write critically and concisely about art (it's also fun!).

von Donika J

Jun 22, 2020

This is the best online art course I have ever done. The practical element of it was invaluable. Thank you MoMA and Corey D'Augustine for putting it together and making it available for free!

von Bárbara P

Jul 15, 2017

This is a really amazing course. I've learnt a lot about Abstract Expressionism, but also about visual analysis and work appreciation. I absolutely recommend it. Corey is a brilliant teacher.

von Annesha P

May 17, 2017

Excellent course which taught me how to appreciate abstract paintings. I also learned about some of the prominent painters, techniques and materials of the Abstract Expressionist movement.

von Michele B

Mar 28, 2020

This course was very informative and interesting. I loved the in studio sessions which gave you an opportunity to practice a technique that you had just learned about. Super fun course!

von Edward T

Jun 09, 2020

Fantastic! Cory was both educational and pleasant to watch. His instruction was concise but not dogmatic, and he really helped me appreciate some of the artists I was less familiar with!

von Arijit D

Apr 29, 2018

This course was very well structured, and the instructor's personal and often humorous approach was informative and engaging, covering very complex subject matter in an accessible way.