Chevron Left
Zurück zu In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting von The Museum of Modern Art

4.9
Sterne
923 Bewertungen
397 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Top-Bewertungen

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

DC

Jun 07, 2020

Really enjoyed this course, first course I have taken in this area of study. The course has given me an understanding of the artists covered and can't wait to see the artists paintings in person.

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 391 Bewertungen für In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

von Tore W

May 09, 2019

Art history! Instructions on how-did-they-do-it! Insights on great artists thoughts about art! Just great!

von Andrea S

Jun 18, 2017

I loved the course! Corey D'Augustine is an excellent teacher and the course material is very informative.

von Jouriy L

May 24, 2017

Thank you very much! Very good and useful course.

Thank you particularly for instructor Corey D’Augustine.

von Anna M O

Jun 17, 2017

Fantastic experience..emotions, technique, history of art.. a dream that came true. Thank you from Italy

von Aaron W

May 20, 2017

Really wonderfully run, and such interesting subject matter - really ignited an interest in me to paint!

von Ury L E M

Apr 14, 2020

Friendly, easy-understanding with a lot of useful information about Abstract artists. I do recommend it

von Pantelis A

Jan 31, 2018

Very satisfied with the course. The highlight of the course is Corey D'Augustine's video instructions.

von Cecelia M

Jun 22, 2020

Changed my life! I feel so inspired and adept at talking about abstract expressionism now. Thank you!

von Donna F

May 11, 2020

I enjoyed this course greatly, especially the studio work. I would enjoy more courses like this one.

von Jillian L L

Nov 02, 2018

I throughly enjoyed this course and look forward to other MoMA courses in Art History in the future.

von Javier C

Jan 03, 2018

Interesting subject, carried out in a well and clearly structured way, which makes it easy to follow

von Ibikunle D

Feb 25, 2019

Most needed for the prospective, aspiring and experienced artists; skills and knowledge impacting.

von Anna W

Jan 08, 2019

I love this course! So informative and interesting. It feels like I'm learning loads. Thank you!!!

von Sophie f

Sep 06, 2017

Excellent course. Corey D'Augustine was a superb lecturer and coach. Cannot recommend it enough.

von Denis D

Jun 08, 2020

I learnt so much more than I anticipated. It was an insightful and thoroughly enjoyable course.

von Lily V G

Mar 20, 2020

Me encantó el curso ,los pintores escogidos ,y sobre todo las clases de como hacías sus cuadros

von mariam s

Mar 17, 2020

Exceptional course, I learned so much about modern art, I painted and Corey is amazing teacher.

von cian

Apr 19, 2017

Excellent all round course and the instruction videos are particularly good. Highly recommend.

von Noelia

May 24, 2020

Thank you for this opportunity, I am thrilled with the class. Professor D'Agustine is great.

von Peter

Jan 16, 2020

I should say this is an excellent online course and well worth us to spend time on. Bravo.

von Felipe d j C H

Mar 07, 2019

Recommended you learn a lot with contemporary painters, I really like congratulations to all

von Rubén M M

Nov 12, 2018

A very interesting course if you are interested in art, painting and abstract expressionism.

von carter t

Feb 01, 2018

Excellent techniques, context, and history. Very interesting and nicely put together course.

von peyman s

Apr 21, 2018

Fantastic insight into many artists I knew very little about & styles that I wasnt aware of