Chevron Left
Zurück zu In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting by The Museum of Modern Art

4.9
605 Bewertungen
248 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Top-Bewertungen

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

KG

Apr 17, 2019

I have thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. It has proved useful in boosting my confidence in studying, as well as providing me with inspiration for my own work, both in painting and ceramics.

Filtern nach:

226 - 241 of 241 Reviews for In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

von Montserrat A R

Aug 05, 2019

Absolutely fantastic course! I have learnt a lot. Corey explains things in a familiar and really interesting way. I have enjoyed every video. Thanks so much!!!

von Helen C

Aug 06, 2019

A wonderful course. Corey D’Augustine is a captivating teacher whether hands-on in the studio or discussing artworks in the gallery. I learned so much, not just about art but about the artists and social history of the time that shaped their self-expression. It also illuminated my own motivation for making art. Highly recommend.

von Raquel V

Aug 11, 2019

It is a thoughtful approach to post-war Abtract Expressionism, perfect balance between theory and practice. Thank you very much!

von DIEGO F B G

Mar 25, 2019

Se aprende mucho en cuanto al arte abstracto y su implicación en la sociedad y la forma de transmitir los que se siente y lo que piensa. Muy buen material y metodología del profesor D'Agustine. Me gustaría que pudieran poner el curso en español al menos por los subtítulos. Gracias.

You learn a lot about abstract art and its involvement in society and how to transmit what you feel and what you think. Very good material and methodology of Professor D'Agustine. I would like you to be able to put the course in Spanish at least for the subtitles. Thank you.

von Fabiola D

Oct 06, 2017

I have very much enjoyed this course, and I have learned a lot about abstract expressionists.

von Robert W C

May 24, 2017

The course was very enjoyable. The teacher, Mr. Corey D'Augustine, was wonderful; however the intellectual level of the assignments was quite low, and their was basically no feedback. This is true especially with the "Visual analysis essay" - I received 100/100 with virtually no idea what I did right about the essay.

von Jill B

Jan 23, 2018

Really enjoyed this course, particularly the "In The Studio" content. It has completely changed by view of abstract paintings from 'a child could have done this' to a deep appreciation of the skilled approach and the artist's very deep knowledge and understanding of their chosen medium.

von David D

Jun 03, 2017

So much fun. I only wish I was ready at the time to stretch my own canvas, squeeze the tubes and start painting.

What really made this course was the difference it makes when a painting is described for you. It makes abstract art so much more enjoyable than it would otherwise be - at least for myself. Plus you have to say the 'teacher' was quite skilled in all the various techniques and exceptionally clear in his presentations. Bravo!

von Joy S

Sep 11, 2017

This is actually pretty cool. You could, by watching the painting demonstrations, actually reproduce the techniques of the artists studied in the class.

von Gerard M

Nov 06, 2017

Excellent course for anyone who wants to learn more about Modern Art!

von Kelsie

Jan 19, 2018

A very informative introduction to the methods, techniques, beginnings, and psychology to influential artists within the movement. The readings were succinct and engaging, but never too long. Lots of audiovisual supplementation.

von Thomas P

May 26, 2017

Fantastic course, very well planned and great mix of source material through the Career in Eight Artworks sections to the videos explaining painting technique in the studio.

von Mary-Jane

Apr 25, 2018

A very well put together course with great practical and theoretical information. I would have liked to see one or two of the women artists included such as Joan Mitchell and Helen Frankenthaler. I know it is difficult to include all the wonderful Abstract Expressionist artists, but my feeling is that it is worth increasing the length of the course to cater for these two artists. Alternatively, offer another Abstract Expressionist course - so have Part I (the current course) and Part II which follows on from Part I.

von Francisco L

Jul 29, 2019

Excessively technical. It seems a course of learning to paint. It doesn't bring me much.

von Luis G

Mar 27, 2018

Everything is available on line or YouTube, there is no interaction or feedback from instructors, you learn some of the materials and techniques but almost no information about how the painters express their ideas or the feelings they intent to create in the painting.

I have been painting abstract for several years without following any group or style and I have better feeling painting just one canvas that the emptiness that I fell after finishing the whole course

The idea is good but could be greatly improved.

von ailona r

Mar 02, 2018

names mentions but are not printed on the lscreen