Chevron Left
Zurück zu In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting von The Museum of Modern Art

4.9
618 Bewertungen
253 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Top-Bewertungen

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

KG

Apr 17, 2019

I have thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. It has proved useful in boosting my confidence in studying, as well as providing me with inspiration for my own work, both in painting and ceramics.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 246 Bewertungen für In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

von Scherwyn U

Sep 12, 2017

I am very happy and consider myself lucky to be staying in a city as far away as Mumbai and learning about art and Postwar Abstract Art in particular from the very best range of videos by the tutor and theoretical readings/exercises. Thank you very much.

von Sofia V

Jan 03, 2018

Absolutely loved it.

von Emilio M

Dec 20, 2017

This is a very interesting course! I made and painted my first canvas with acrilic, I'm very happy about all this experience.

von Lieke M

Jun 18, 2018

Really enjoyed the combination of theory and hands-on painting!

von katrina s

Jun 22, 2017

I am fond of the New York School poets so I really enjoyed learning about these postwar New York artists who were working at the same time. Many were active when I was living in NYC as a child. I loved getting an idea of how they worked and how the work changed throughout their lives. I did not do the studio part of the course which I am sure would have been great but I loved the videos, readings and links to the MOMA collections. Thank you so much for this course.

von Maureen W

Feb 11, 2018

Thank you...a million thank yous for this excellent course. Corey Augustine is brilliant, funny, easy, smart and talented and his style makes what was aways complex for me so much more understandable. I have seen Rotho, Pollock and Kooning in galleries n Toronto and Ottawa and a bit in NYC but I never really knew what I was looking at, even when it stirred me, pleased me, upset me. I am so privileged now to be introduced to meaning. I feel so lucky to have come upon this course. And my 93 year old neighbour who loves Rothko was so pleased when I told her about this course that she is checking out post-war AEE on Coursera today. I love how the course is constructed...the workshop demonstrating materials and approaches, the different voices describing the work. Brilliant!! :)

von Melissa H

May 24, 2017

Phenomenal course. Thank you!!

von Valerie L V

May 22, 2017

Amazing course, precise but deep at the same time, beautifully designed with a really interesting selection of painters. Corey is a GREAT teacher, very clear, very smart and inspiring. I enjoyed a lot!

von ARMAND C

Jul 17, 2017

I cannot think of how much more thorough an on line course could be. It blended videos, presented by professional curators; an excellent lead presenter, Mr D'Augustine who explained and demonstrated the tools and techniques used by the various post-WWII NY School artists and reading assignments and community feedback, to form a superstructure any dedicated learner could depend upon to progress as an artist.

von Stanislaus G

Apr 03, 2017

I learned so much in this class-- about the artists we studied and about how they actually created their work. It was pretty amazing!

von alissa c

Jul 18, 2017

An amazing course about difficult art. I loved every minute, even when I was bored. NO, really! I found out a lot about how little I knew. And a great deal about technique....I'm going to have to bookmark some of the films, in case I need to find out "What would X do?"

von Carol P

Oct 18, 2017

Not just informative with regard to the New York School of Abstract Expressionists, this course is replete with lots of studio fun! Expertly taught by Cory D' Augustine, one will learn the techniques and methods of the members of this dynamic and innovative group of painters.

von lucy g

Apr 16, 2017

Thank you for a very well organized course, with Corey who did a brilliant job of demonstrating a wide variety of techniques and discussing in depth the artists featured. He is so knowledgeable and any future courses he and MOMA offers will have me as a student. A thousand thanks.

von Alison C

Feb 22, 2018

I really enjoyed this course! It was engaging; the assignments were challenging enough to need some work and stimulate thinking, but not so hard to be a deterrent to completion. The mix of theory and practical work was perfect too. I found myself looking forward to each module more and more as the course progressed.

von peyman s

Apr 21, 2018

Fantastic insight into many artists I knew very little about & styles that I wasnt aware of

von Adrián L

Apr 21, 2018

Really like the course! Waiting for more new stuff.

von Constantine V

Mar 23, 2017

Perfect course! All topics are revealed in great detail and clear!

von Megan N E

Aug 28, 2017

loved this course. Even though they show how to do one painting of each artist's, I wish they did a couple from different periods. So good

von Constantina Y

Jan 30, 2018

This course is simply amazing! All aspects... the videos, the information, the knowledge are all outstanding.

von Joyce Z

Jul 15, 2017

The content is very rich and I benefit from it a lot! Highly recommend it!

von Dmitry M

Mar 12, 2018

Very interesting, colorfull and inspiring course

von Peter R

Jun 19, 2017

This was my second attempt at a Coursera course and it widely exceeded my expectations - the first was in a technology arena and the technology for doing homework assignments never worked.

This class is exceptionally well thought out and executed, particularly for someone such as myself who has never had any painting experience. Corey D"Augustine has that rare gift of an instructor who intuitively knows what the student needs in order to advance through a concept. The class begins with the absolute basics, starting with how to stretch a canvas, prime a canvas and then through the different types of paint and tools needed. The class progresses to increasingly more complicated forms of painting in the style of postwar abstract expressionism.

I thoroughly enjoyed how each week progresses through one artist after another with the opportunity to do a painting in the style of that artist. Each module does a superb and consistent job of presenting the artist's major works, the philosophy and history and then the techniques through a demonstration. It is great to be able to upload a photo of your effort and then see and react to what other students have done. The quiz at the end of each module help to reinforce the lessons learned for that module.

In the end, I found that I could paint paintings in the style of the postwar abstract expressionists - something I never thought possible. To the student with little or no experience with painting, especially oils, the mere mixing of paint and applying it to a canvas can be intimidating - this instructor effectively moves the student away from those hesitations. More importantly, I will likely never look a painting in a museum with a more critical eye than I now have for this style of art and, I can now articulate why I have always enjoyed this period of art history. Well done Corey!

von Plácida

Aug 14, 2017

This course has provided the opportunity of knowing better each renown artists from Abstract Expressionism in United States. I've learnt in depth and discovered other personalities I've ever seen throughout my degree in Art History. The contents are actually instructive and teaching. Hope to enroll in more courses like that in a soon future. Congratulations!

von Nikka

Jul 19, 2017

I felt that I learned so much on this course. It gave me a deeper understanding of the works of each artist when I knew more of their process and had the chance to use these skills on my own.

von Michela P G

Nov 29, 2017

Very enjoyable!!! I feel I've learnt a lot.