Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill von Sapienza University of Rome

4.2
Sterne
146 Bewertungen
66 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Studying ancient - as well as medieval or modern - cities basically means telling local urban stories based on the reconstruction of changing landscapes through the centuries. Given the fragmentary nature of archaeological evidence, it is necessary to create new images that would give back the physical aspect of the urban landscape and that would bring it to life again. We are not just content with analyzing the many elements still visible of the ancient city. The connections between objects and architectures, visible and non visible buildings, which have been broken through time have to be rejoined, to acknowledge the elements that compose the urban landscape. Landscape and its content are a very relevant and still vital part of any national cultural heritage. The course will introduce students to the way we have been reflecting on over the last twenty years and still are engaged with the study of the past of our cities, beginning from the most complex case in the ancient Mediterranean World: the core of Italy and of Roman Empire. On the other hand, knowledge means also preservation and defense of material remains and cultural memory. “The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archeology and History of the Palatine Hill” presents to a large public the topographical lay-out of the most relevant part of the city (according the Greek and Roman Historians Rome was founded on the Palatine). Research developed on the Palatine since the end of last century by the team of Sapienza Classical Archaeologists opened a new phase in the urban archaeological investigation and in the scientific debate about the relation between archaeological features and literary tradition as well as the “correct use“ of both kind of evidence, key issues of wide archaeological and historical significance....

Top-Bewertungen

CS

Mar 22, 2018

I’m now living in Siena so visiting Roma and it’s wonderful ancient architecture especially the Roman forum and the palatine hill has new excitement and knowledge for me.

JC

May 02, 2018

I appreciate the opportunity to learn the history of Rome and how it became the marvel city it is today . I will enjoy a lot more my next trip to Rome. Thank you .

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 66 Bewertungen für The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill

von JOHN Q

Jul 28, 2017

Very interesting course and much necessary to continue an interest I have in learning about Ancient Rome. Thanks so much!

von Rob v d B

Jan 28, 2018

Very good indepth overiew of the history of Rome. Been there often but will look at it differently next time i visit it.

von Jorge A A E

May 26, 2018

Excellent course material. Very Interesting and easy to follow. Why we have to download AutoCAD if it was not used?

von Maria J M S

Dec 07, 2018

Un curso bastante interesante. Un nuevo punto de vista sobre el Palatino y su relación con la historia de Roma

von Richard P

Oct 08, 2019

Good course. Learned alot about Palatine Hill. Wish I would have taken it before I went to Rome

von susan

Aug 25, 2017

Loved it and went with Roman Art and architecture very well. Teacher was excellent!!

von Margo M

Dec 07, 2017

Could be more organized, but thrilled with top notch content. More please!

von Simon C

Aug 10, 2017

Thank you very much for such an informative course. Very enjoyable.

von Eric H

Jun 10, 2019

Very very interesting!

von Samer M K

Oct 20, 2018

Great course. Thanks

von Susana J M

Mar 15, 2018

Wonderful

von Giuseppe G

May 10, 2018

Fanta

von John U

May 01, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I only audited the course, so I don't know how different it is from the purchased course. My only criticism are the transcriptions of Professor Carafa's video presentations. The transcriber obviously misunderstood some words spoken by Professor Carafa, due to his accented English. For instance, when Professor Carafa says "hall" it is transcribed as "hole". Another example is "porticos" being transcribed as "particles". These two examples occur several times throughout the course, since hall and porticos are ubiquitous architectural features in the course. It was confusing until I understood what the Professor was actually saying. There were other transcription errors that caused confusion. It would be helpful for future students if Professor Carafa could proofread and correct the transcription errors. Alternatively, a mechanism that allowed students to suggest corrections would also suffice.

von Niels B

Feb 20, 2020

The professor is very knowledgable and the course material on the palatine hill is really interesting. But the course is content is sometimes a bit chaotic, switching quickly between locations, periods and people. And the formulation of the questions in the tests doesn't always correspond with the way the answer is presented in the lectures. So the course could use an update.

von Peter N

Aug 13, 2019

A wonderful course that allowed me to understand a part of Rome much better.

I feel that the additional course material was simply a recap of the lecture and didn't expand or clarify anything.

The tutorials at the very beginning and the directions to download and instal AutoCad are irrelevant.

von Amy Q

May 29, 2019

Having a document with names, terms, etc. would have been helpful, as well as clickable documents of the many maps and diagrams that were used. So many terms were found on them, and it made it difficult to keep track of everything. Very much enjoyed the course otherwise, thank you!

von Patricia C

Oct 16, 2017

It is an excellent course, but it doesn’t have subtitles. When you are not an expertise, and the language used is not your own, the understanding of certain terms it is sometimes difficult.

Anyways, a good experience. The professor is an expertise on the subject.

Great job!

von Jordan F

May 15, 2020

A well-researched course that delves deep into the history of Rome and the Palatine. Answers to the quizzes should be more evident and not require studying the background images that appear, though.

von Dorothea M F

May 24, 2018

The teacher is great! He shows us the actual ruins whenever possible, it is the next best thing to being there and seeing it ourselves.

von Alexander R

May 20, 2018

Great Course to understand the founding and aspects of the roman empire. Pretty good.

von sadek M

Sep 27, 2019

Interesting course with profound knowledge about Roman archaeology

von Eliano F

Jun 16, 2018

Very, very interesting. I wish to have more handouts

von Rebeca P M

Aug 17, 2017

It is a great course to know ancient Rome

von Magda B

Nov 30, 2017

Very interesting and detailed class.

von Carmen

Apr 01, 2019

L