Chevron Left
Zurück zu The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill von Sapienza University of Rome

4.2
Sterne
145 Bewertungen
66 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Studying ancient - as well as medieval or modern - cities basically means telling local urban stories based on the reconstruction of changing landscapes through the centuries. Given the fragmentary nature of archaeological evidence, it is necessary to create new images that would give back the physical aspect of the urban landscape and that would bring it to life again. We are not just content with analyzing the many elements still visible of the ancient city. The connections between objects and architectures, visible and non visible buildings, which have been broken through time have to be rejoined, to acknowledge the elements that compose the urban landscape. Landscape and its content are a very relevant and still vital part of any national cultural heritage. The course will introduce students to the way we have been reflecting on over the last twenty years and still are engaged with the study of the past of our cities, beginning from the most complex case in the ancient Mediterranean World: the core of Italy and of Roman Empire. On the other hand, knowledge means also preservation and defense of material remains and cultural memory. “The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archeology and History of the Palatine Hill” presents to a large public the topographical lay-out of the most relevant part of the city (according the Greek and Roman Historians Rome was founded on the Palatine). Research developed on the Palatine since the end of last century by the team of Sapienza Classical Archaeologists opened a new phase in the urban archaeological investigation and in the scientific debate about the relation between archaeological features and literary tradition as well as the “correct use“ of both kind of evidence, key issues of wide archaeological and historical significance....

Top-Bewertungen

CS

Mar 22, 2018

I’m now living in Siena so visiting Roma and it’s wonderful ancient architecture especially the Roman forum and the palatine hill has new excitement and knowledge for me.

JC

May 02, 2018

I appreciate the opportunity to learn the history of Rome and how it became the marvel city it is today . I will enjoy a lot more my next trip to Rome. Thank you .

Filtern nach:

51 - 66 von 66 Bewertungen für The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill

von Andres

Jul 14, 2017

.

von John B

Aug 15, 2017

Graphics were interesting but did not focus on what the professor was saying. The professor was sincere and seemed knowledgeable though his speech impediment became distracting very quickly. Overall, having visited the Palatine several times over the years, I found the course very helpful in giving me a feel for physical aspects of so much of what I have read about ancient Rome in history and literature. Thank you for the opportunity.

von Andrew O M F

Jul 29, 2019

Great content, especially for serious archaeologists. While understandable for the most part, the presentations in second-language English at times lagged.

von Bishwaksen B

Mar 25, 2018

Two areas of concern - The audio transcript is not present everywhere, and a lot of the building plans and maps are in Latin. Rest all good.

von David J W

Dec 24, 2018

Lost interest, couldn't finish. Probably could have read a book on the subject and saved myself the time.

von James H

Apr 05, 2020

Questions don't always relate to what is discussed and translation differences are a big issue.

von Leticia L

Jun 12, 2017

Curso interesante y entretenido

von Ygor K B

Feb 19, 2019

very good

von Emily M

Jun 27, 2017

The information is very interesting and I learned a lot. However, the quizzes cover information that was just slightly was mentioned, and further, the professor doesn't give any real written information about the archaeology. He also jumbles the time periods a lot, which makes it hard to follow. I don't recommend this course until it's cleaned up a bit. Also, some of the quiz answers are wrong, which is just really annoying.

von Bradford K

Jul 18, 2017

This course covers a lot of detailed information about the archaeology of the Palatine Hill. Unfortunately, there is no framework provided to help you put this information in perspective and determine what is important. There is a lot of repetition, and too much detail without developing an understanding of the major developments in the history of this area.

von Jonathan G

Feb 17, 2018

some of the quiz questions have nothing to do with the course! I know I was about archaeology but it seemed more conducive to Roman architecture than anything else. This course was misleading.

von Massimo R

Mar 24, 2019

Maps are terrible. Close Captioning non existent at times. English pronounciation is bad. The subject is interesting though

von Asha T

Apr 07, 2020

I found this very confusingly presented. The lecturer goes into a great deal of detail on some things without actually explaining them properly, while the quizzes have little to do with any of the lectures. When I found that I got 100% in the Week 3 quiz from my prior knowledge rather than what I had learned in this course I stopped, to spend my time on something more engaging.

I’m disappointed, because the subject is fascinating and this could have been so good.

von Marlene C

Feb 16, 2018

No transcripts, difficult to understand the audio.

I thought this was a course about history turns out its a course about AutoCAD and needs software I can't install.

First quiz is on content not in the video, the video was about installing AutoCAD.

von Francine

Aug 28, 2017

There are no transcripts of the videos, and the staff states that they have no intention of doing so.

von Kenneth P

Jul 18, 2019

Impossible to use because of hearing impairment.