Chevron Left
Zurück zu Parallel Programming in Java

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Parallel Programming in Java von Rice University

4.6
Sterne
1,075 Bewertungen
229 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of parallel programming in the context of Java 8. Parallel programming enables developers to use multicore computers to make their applications run faster by using multiple processors at the same time. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use popular parallel Java frameworks (such as ForkJoin, Stream, and Phaser) to write parallel programs for a wide range of multicore platforms including servers, desktops, or mobile devices, while also learning about their theoretical foundations including computation graphs, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism. Why take this course? • All computers are multicore computers, so it is important for you to learn how to extend your knowledge of sequential Java programming to multicore parallelism. • Java 7 and Java 8 have introduced new frameworks for parallelism (ForkJoin, Stream) that have significantly changed the paradigms for parallel programming since the early days of Java. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and the mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on forums. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Theory of parallelism: computation graphs, work, span, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism • Task parallelism using Java’s ForkJoin framework • Functional parallelism using Java’s Future and Stream frameworks • Loop-level parallelism with extensions for barriers and iteration grouping (chunking) • Dataflow parallelism using the Phaser framework and data-driven tasks Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of multicore Java programs, and will also provide the foundation for mastering other parallel programming systems that you may encounter in the future (e.g., C++11, OpenMP, .Net Task Parallel Library)....

Top-Bewertungen

LG
12. Dez. 2017

This is a great course in parallel programming. The videos were very clear, summaries reinforced the video material and the programming projects and quizzes were challenging but not overwhelming.

SV
27. Aug. 2017

Great course. Introduces Parallel Programming in Java in a gentle way.\n\nKudos to Professor Vivek Sarkar for simplifying complex concepts and presenting them in an elegant manner.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 von 227 Bewertungen für Parallel Programming in Java

von Ignacio G

21. Okt. 2018

It's a great course, you learn the fundamentals to keep going and challenge your task at work to improve the performance.

I don't find that good that sometimes we have to use the API's provided by the University and not Java libraries.

von Rushabh N L

17. Jan. 2021

Decent course. Prof. Sarkar taught so well and I wish I could take some more classes with him. I think more constructs could be introduced and explained with more examples. Programming assignments were easy and could be more intense.

von Qingbo Z

15. Nov. 2019

This course has lots of invaluable insights, in-depth materials from high level concepts to practice. I highly recommend this course to all programmers who want to familiarize themselves with Java parallel programming.

von Tianxiang X

23. Juli 2018

Well-made videos, good explanation of concepts, great hands-on projects (not too difficult).

Some issues w/ differences b/t dev and grader environments in terms of performance / tests passing, but that's inevitable.

von Roman M

7. Nov. 2017

This course is a good introduction to parallel programming. The assignments was to easy. Asides that, everything is great, Vivek Sarkar did a great job to teach fundamentals in easy to understand manner.

von Leonid S

7. Sep. 2018

Thanks to this course I've learned actual (modern?) Java APIs which helps to embed parallelism into my programs.

And one more important thing: I stated to learn again. This worth to do at any age :)

von Lee G

13. Dez. 2017

This is a great course in parallel programming. The videos were very clear, summaries reinforced the video material and the programming projects and quizzes were challenging but not overwhelming.

von Srikar V

28. Aug. 2017

Great course. Introduces Parallel Programming in Java in a gentle way.

Kudos to Professor Vivek Sarkar for simplifying complex concepts and presenting them in an elegant manner.

von Brij R K

20. Juli 2020

I have never known these things existed and changed my perspective how to take advantage of multiple processor. I have used numpy in python but now I know how these are fast.

von Samujjal B

2. Sep. 2020

I like the course very much. I am a working software engineer and I believe it will be helpful in my work. Prof Vivek is so clear in explanation and pretty to the point.

von Samarjit P

17. Mai 2020

I found this course very useful. I can see the utilisation of parallel computing in many fields of software development industry. So it's really useful for developers.

von Rishabh A

27. Dez. 2017

Very relevant concepts, explained beautifully by a very experienced professor. The assignments were good, but they could involve more programming for more practice!

von Faith J

14. Okt. 2020

great course over here it has been great interacting with a simplified course where every complex thing has been narrowed down to easily understandable concepts

von A M

30. Mai 2020

Very well structured and presented course! Very useful material with good relevant examples! Thank you, Prof. Sarkar for this Parallel Programming in Java course!

von Qian L

23. Jan. 2018

The combination of quiz and programming assignment helps understanding the course in a quite nice way. I will finish up the other two courses for sure.

von tarun n

21. Dez. 2018

The concepts like thinking about work,span,cp.amhdals law very very helpful. Although i believe there should be more examples wit code as in quiz.

von Hang Z

4. März 2020

This course is great. The only problem is that the course is a little bit too easy and the minProject should cover more materials in class.

von John O O

25. Juli 2019

Full tremendous course for understanding the essentials about parallel programing in Java! Excellent mini-projects to reinforce concepts!

von Serikzhan K

19. Juli 2018

Learned a lot about Phasers; parallel programming concepts such as computation graph, span, ideal parallelism, CPL -- good introduction.

von frishta

10. Okt. 2019

it was a great experience that I learned new skills. thanks a lot to my teachers who helped me to complete this course successfully.

von Narayanan M

28. Juli 2020

Very nice presentation and step by step instruction touching core fundamentals of parallel programming. classroom quality videos.

von Matthew G

23. Okt. 2019

Great course. Can't wait to start using phasers in production code, if the reviewers on PRs don't accuse me over-engineering :)

von Ahsanul A S

28. Feb. 2021

The lectures and readings were very helpful. The auto-grading system should be updated. Excellent topics and techniques

von Ayush A

8. Feb. 2021

Really great course specially programming assignments , makes you rethink your approach and identify fastest approach .

von BM

18. Okt. 2017

Excellent course! Easily digestible and very fascinating topic. Dr. Sarkar knows his stuff and knows how to teach it!