Chevron Left
Zurück zu Parallel Programming in Java

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Parallel Programming in Java by Rice University

4.6
626 Bewertungen
129 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of parallel programming in the context of Java 8. Parallel programming enables developers to use multicore computers to make their applications run faster by using multiple processors at the same time. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use popular parallel Java frameworks (such as ForkJoin, Stream, and Phaser) to write parallel programs for a wide range of multicore platforms including servers, desktops, or mobile devices, while also learning about their theoretical foundations including computation graphs, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism. Why take this course? • All computers are multicore computers, so it is important for you to learn how to extend your knowledge of sequential Java programming to multicore parallelism. • Java 7 and Java 8 have introduced new frameworks for parallelism (ForkJoin, Stream) that have significantly changed the paradigms for parallel programming since the early days of Java. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and the mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on forums. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Theory of parallelism: computation graphs, work, span, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism • Task parallelism using Java’s ForkJoin framework • Functional parallelism using Java’s Future and Stream frameworks • Loop-level parallelism with extensions for barriers and iteration grouping (chunking) • Dataflow parallelism using the Phaser framework and data-driven tasks Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of multicore Java programs, and will also provide the foundation for mastering other parallel programming systems that you may encounter in the future (e.g., C++11, OpenMP, .Net Task Parallel Library)....

Top-Bewertungen

LG

Dec 13, 2017

This is a great course in parallel programming. The videos were very clear, summaries reinforced the video material and the programming projects and quizzes were challenging but not overwhelming.

SV

Aug 28, 2017

Great course. Introduces Parallel Programming in Java in a gentle way.\n\nKudos to Professor Vivek Sarkar for simplifying complex concepts and presenting them in an elegant manner.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 of 128 Reviews for Parallel Programming in Java

von Sarvasva R

Aug 30, 2017

Introduction to theoretical concepts was good, but not very deep. The exercises didn't really contribute much to my understanding of the course material in general.

von Saifuddin M

Oct 15, 2017

I liked the course. It introduced some of the concepts in parallel programming very well. I would suggest if it focuses more on Java implementations from the java.util.concurrent package like Countdown Latches and Cyclic Barriers it would be more helpful.

von Vishal V

Mar 10, 2018

Great Learning and understanding the parallelism concepts in java

von Xiao X

Jan 25, 2018

-1 star due to the too-easy homework.

I wish the homework can be harder and more challenging.

von erdem o

Dec 10, 2017

It was a useful course, but last two homeworks were exactly same as professor explained in demo implementations. I would expect them to take a bit more time and having a variety of easy/difficult tasks in each homework.

von Андрей С

Oct 28, 2017

This course is a good introduction to parallel programming,

but i noticed a number of shortcomings.

Some themes are not reflected in mini-projects:

- memoization in week 1;

- data flow and pipeline parallelism.

The mini-project for week 3 is too easy.

Some questions in the quiz in week 4 does not match the contents of the course.

von Artur G

Aug 04, 2017

This course is quite a shot one. The lectures are condense and programming assignments are purely academic. However I still would suggest to take it if one wants to learn about high level abstraction upon parallel computing in Java.

von Benjamin G J

Aug 06, 2018

The exercises are just a little short and I'd like to see, maybe, twice as many quizzes with a better connection to lecture notes, but the lectures are very enlightening, the subject matter is very interesting, and the exercises, though excessively sparse, are helpful.

von Akshat A

Sep 06, 2018

Great material, well arranged course flow, willing teacher, and nice project snippets. More coding samples and projects could have been included.

von Vitalii D

Apr 19, 2019

Thank you for this course! Really interesting, but lacks the real world examples and has little number of tasks to complete.

von Elias R

Jul 28, 2019

Very good and comprehensive video lectures! Sometimes the auto-grader results from Coursera fluctuate from one submission to the other, but overall it was a really interesting course.

von Kaj S

Sep 06, 2017

The videos were very well done. The exercises were a bit too easy in my opinion. But the exercises did focus on the issue at hand, unlike some other courses that get you stuck on complicated but unrelated issues used only as an example problem.

von Atsuya K

Feb 06, 2018

Provides background material for the course on concurrency in the same specialization. Assignments are trivial.

von Samuele M

Apr 12, 2018

Course is interesting, but lacks in contents: just few patterns are explained, and few concepts about parallelism, and there are very little details about further algorithms. Assignments, projects in particular, are quite useless or incredibly easy, or need usage or knowledge of libraries not explained/used in course, and included in "optional readings". Lessons are really clear (bravo! to the Professor), but quite short, since whole course doesn't reach 2 hours of lesson. I definitively think that course can be improved with more contents.

von Rahul M

Nov 22, 2017

good coverage of basics.. would have been great if there were few more coding practice papers.

von Dhiresh A J

Dec 30, 2017

Lectures were adequate to understand the basic concepts/syntax and where and how to use them, but did not go deep into the underlying working.

The mini projects weren't that helpful since the assignments were the same examples as shown in the lecture, and the TODOs were generally just a couple of lines, leaving us with with little to do.

By the end of the course, I got to know the different Java util classes to use to for parallelism.

von Gary S

May 30, 2018

Although much of the content was informative and well taught, half of the programming assignments were either rudimentary or completely unnecessary since the answer was given in the provided file. On the whole, this course was just too short and too easy.

von MIAO K

Aug 30, 2017

Good overview, but less details

von Vincent M

Mar 10, 2018

Subject is very interesting. However course is sometimes unclear, and assignments sometimes are related with the specific library developed by the professor, not with the generic Java implementations. However I'm happy to have completed this course, i've learned a lot.

von Francisco R R

Sep 06, 2017

I would prefer see examples based on standard Java code, not in a library developed for some small group.

von Hieu D

Apr 09, 2018

Heavy theory but poor practical. Need more enhancement for the next time.

von Mohamed E

Sep 17, 2018

Focusing more on theoretical parts

von WANG W

Mar 20, 2019

I spent 6 days on this course, and I feel it is not worth the time. One of the problems is that the lectures are overly basic, and the mini projects are not challenging, at least not in a helpful way (quizzes are sometimes challenging due to some concepts not covered in the lectures at all). I guess the instructor did not really spent much time preparing the materials and assignments.

von Oleksandr V

Mar 15, 2019

I enrolled in this specific course (not in the whole specialization). Later It turned out that you are not allowed to submit code if you have an unpaid subscription. Fine, I decided to pay for it. After all, someone invested his time in creating the course. Then, for some reason, I have got a subscription for the whole program, not a single course. I did not realize that and got charged the second time after the first month past. But okay, probably I did not understand the whole procedure around it.

BUT...

The amount of information is very small. For 42 Euro you get few lectures and few quite basic exercises.

In most of the tasks you need o write only a couple of lines of code. The evaluation is not reliable. You can do your task right way, but it will not pass test from the first time and you are not sure if your are doing something wrong or what is the reason of the failure. Then you just resubmit the same code and after second, third or fourth time it suddenly works.

I can understand that in concurrent environment sometimes it is hard to achieve stable performance.

All together this leads to a bad experience. It is not the quality I've got used to when watching other courses here. Not worth its money. It is better to buy a book or the same amount.

von Wen L

Oct 25, 2017

Please make the homework better.