Chevron Left
Zurück zu Parallel programming

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Parallel programming von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.5
1,623 Bewertungen
243 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

With every smartphone and computer now boasting multiple processors, the use of functional ideas to facilitate parallel programming is becoming increasingly widespread. In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of parallel programming, from task parallelism to data parallelism. In particular, you'll see how many familiar ideas from functional programming map perfectly to to the data parallel paradigm. We'll start the nuts and bolts how to effectively parallelize familiar collections operations, and we'll build up to parallel collections, a production-ready data parallel collections library available in the Scala standard library. Throughout, we'll apply these concepts through several hands-on examples that analyze real-world data, such as popular algorithms like k-means clustering. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - reason about task and data parallel programs, - express common algorithms in a functional style and solve them in parallel, - competently microbenchmark parallel code, - write programs that effectively use parallel collections to achieve performance Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Program Design in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun2....

Top-Bewertungen

AL

Apr 24, 2018

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

RC

Aug 25, 2017

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 231 Bewertungen für Parallel programming

von Tib O

Feb 05, 2017

Excellent course, pretty challenging difficulty. Thanks to the instructors for putting together some very interesting material.

von Oleg O

Jul 02, 2017

Good course, though there is sometimes too much mathematics, what distracts from the purpose to learn parallel paradigm in Scala.

von Parthasarathy G

Apr 10, 2017

Enjoyed this course.

von Qiao L

Jul 23, 2016

A very good hands-on course. It's the best parallel programming on line course so far I see.

von Shiyan C

Mar 25, 2018

Wish we could have more assignments and test cases!

von Tao W

Mar 01, 2018

This course is not simple, and the second assignment is hard. But I made it through, and happy with the achievement.

von Vital A

Feb 17, 2017

This is not a course about concurrency with Scala; it has very basic coverage of threads and synchronization towards the beginning, and that's it.

This is about parallelism, specifically about approaches to program design with the goal of leveraging parallelism. Yes, the assignments require immersing oneself in problems that have little to do with parallelism per se. But they are interesting, fun, and of course they nicely illustrate the concepts that are being imparted.

Another excellent course by EPFL.

von CAI X

Jul 22, 2017

Good course though a bit challenging!

von ravi c

Aug 25, 2017

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

von Xiongchu W

Dec 07, 2016

Force students to develop the assignment code by TDD, which is very good. All the assignments are not just toy problems, which is excellent as well. If you want to learn some parallel programming algorithms, you do choose this course. The drawbacks may be that some of the concepts or expression in the lectures are obscured. Although the assignments cover almost all the important algorithms and data structures, like UpSweep, DownSweep, reducing tree and combiners, the exercises on these things are not enough.

von Natalija I

Mar 16, 2018

This was a great course about parallel programming. I learned a lot and most importantly I learned how to write algorithms that are executed parallel. The topic is not easy and I scratch just the surface, but I have now basic understanding why we use parallel programs, how and when to use them. Thank you to both instructors. Their lectures were very well paced and cover some topic more theoretically in depth. Looking forward to learn more.

von Hyun-joo K

Jun 27, 2016

Great introductory course for parallelism with Scala's elegant codes.

von Ivan S

Mar 11, 2018

I was tearing apart between 4 and 5. Still I liked the course very much asit provides great insight into parallel programming and algorithms. The problem are the assignments that feels a little unbalanced: week3 is just a few lines of code and feels more like quiz while others are quite challenging, but still it seems that a lot of work in assignments is already done by the teaching stuff.

von hcy

Mar 14, 2017

very great lecture, but some homework is too easy.

von Damien F

Dec 03, 2016

Great material.

von Mykola S

Jul 22, 2017

Great course!

von Marek

Jun 29, 2016

Great introduction to parallel programming, excercises help to understand topics covered in the lectures. However, if you want to be an expert and understand every detail, you'll need to go further and look for implementations details of several constructs used in these lectures but I think adding all of the details for this short course would make it much less understandable and bad in overall effect.

von Bruno F

Aug 20, 2017

Great course -- I learned a lot.

Parts of it were very heavy too, and not all of the lecture material was examined.

von Kovalenko S

Jul 20, 2017

Классный курс

von Yin J X

Jul 11, 2017

Wish Mr. Odersky would've taught this course as well but it quickly lived up to my expectations. I really enjoyed doing the assignments.

von joe

Jan 22, 2017

Class was great but the last week's homework was incredibly difficult!

von Gao Y

Feb 14, 2017

Nice course!

von Evgeniy K

Feb 16, 2017

Good overall presentation of core algorithms and ideas

von Alexandr M

May 30, 2017

Problems of data structures for parallel computation are explained very well in this course.

von 张诺舟

Feb 21, 2017

very good course. It will be better if more reading material could be offered. The content in the lecture is a little bit hard to understand.