Chevron Left
Zurück zu Parallel programming

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Parallel programming von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.5
1,623 Bewertungen
243 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

With every smartphone and computer now boasting multiple processors, the use of functional ideas to facilitate parallel programming is becoming increasingly widespread. In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of parallel programming, from task parallelism to data parallelism. In particular, you'll see how many familiar ideas from functional programming map perfectly to to the data parallel paradigm. We'll start the nuts and bolts how to effectively parallelize familiar collections operations, and we'll build up to parallel collections, a production-ready data parallel collections library available in the Scala standard library. Throughout, we'll apply these concepts through several hands-on examples that analyze real-world data, such as popular algorithms like k-means clustering. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - reason about task and data parallel programs, - express common algorithms in a functional style and solve them in parallel, - competently microbenchmark parallel code, - write programs that effectively use parallel collections to achieve performance Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Program Design in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun2....

Top-Bewertungen

AL

Apr 24, 2018

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

RC

Aug 25, 2017

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 231 Bewertungen für Parallel programming

von Dean T

Jan 04, 2019

Needs to be updated for more modern versions of Scala.

von Alexey K

Jan 31, 2019

It would be great to add some popular frameworks and some basics of reactive programming

von Yiran W

Jul 19, 2018

just one point to improve: some lib in Scala are not be told to install and use

von dh l

Dec 07, 2016

Thanks!

von Luciano P d S P

Sep 12, 2016

The course was well covered and very informative. As someone with zero experience in parallelism, I felt I could've absorbed a lot more if the topics were not completely new to me.

As mentioned in other reviews, the last assignment, Barnes Hut Simulation, was very time consuming and I found myself spending more time trying to understand the problem rather than implementing it. That was very challenging for someone with low academic background.

von Daniel D

Dec 29, 2016

Very well delivered course, more examples are needed though.

von Yihan S

May 17, 2017

The assignment could be optimized and avoid to be more academic since it may make student lost focus and spend too much time on the question itself rather than the parallel programming

von Benoit P D

Dec 20, 2016

Very good course overall on the basics of parallel programming in scala. Would have been nice to talk a bit more on the low level setup (parallel and task construct code).

von joshua

Jun 09, 2017

Overall the course was really good. I think the first 2 courses explained things a little bit better though.

von Konstantin K

Oct 28, 2016

good overall, but sometimes overly complicated

von Stefano P

Nov 21, 2016

Some problems with downloads and to view videos on the mobile app (Android), with some videos recorded with a low volume.

Despite that interesting and I think would need more time to get deeper in the concepts showed.

von Enrique G R

Aug 19, 2017

Time to complete exercises might not be completely assessed. Some lectures seem to technical without any correspondence with real problems.

von Hristo I

Nov 01, 2016

The course is pretty hard, even for someone like me, who has been working in parallel computing for years. The reason is the structure of the course and the presentation of the material. The topics are somewhat chaotic and in many cases it is hard to tell whether a certain operator comes from the Scala standard library or is just an abstraction.

All in all, finishing the course is a rewarding experience. But beware, there is a significant gap between the foundation courses taught by Martin Odersky and this one.

von Steven T

Sep 26, 2016

Presentations were presented well and the assignments were interestingly varied but quite challenging for the newbie.

von Ilya D

Jun 22, 2016

Assignments weren't challenging.

von Solodovnikov G

Sep 17, 2016

Good explanations, relevant assignments.

But too small, too little graded assignments as for subject. Be better if the assignments has less starter code.

von Franklin P

Oct 12, 2016

This course had a lot of depth to it, both in the lectures and the programming assignments. The last assignment seemed needlessly complex with not enough focus on the parallel programming aspect. I wish there had been more of a focus on how to actually write the parallel and task constructs which were instead given already implemented without much explanation.

von Igor R d S

Oct 24, 2016

Not as good as the first two courses from the specialization, but still good

von Marc K

Apr 10, 2018

The homework assignments are a bit hard, they require a lot of concentration time to make some progress.

von Romanna K

Jan 01, 2017

Would be good to introduce more about Scala native solutions like Futures, parallel data structures and best ways of using them on practice, cases and best practices how to work with shared data, avoid deadlocks, how to work best when you have to process large data or when you have massive calculations.

von Oleksandr I

May 21, 2017

Excellent course. Gives deep enough understanding of parallel programming. Used knowledge immediately to optimize my huge in-mem data structure to reach 50 ms (instead of 300 ms) response time. I'd suggest the following to improve: 1. I'd make "pass" score no less then 90 or even 95%. With 80 only it is possible to PASS having key mistake (e.g. on week4 I haven't created a new combiner, using old one, in combine() operation, and I still got 80 - PASSED) 2. tests in grader are hard to reproduce on local machine: it is not that obvious what's wrong, where to focus.

von Erkin U

Oct 07, 2016

Assignments are focused on problem-solving rather than the importance of parallelism, missing the point of the lecture. It is a Scala course, so it is always fun!

von Valters V

Sep 25, 2016

I feel the concepts which are necessary to use in programming assignments are not discussed in the lectures enough. As result figuring out what the assignment steps are all about takes too much time. Some tasks are absolutely trivial, and others are simply too difficult.

von Mike D

Aug 21, 2016

The course achieves its objectives, but the assignments require too much effort for solving general problems, and relatively little for parallelism-related tasks. In other words, understanding what the problem is takes far more time than solving it. The Lego-assisted teaching is a definite plus though!

von Youwei Z

Sep 13, 2016

good in general, theory part on complexity is too tedious