Chevron Left
Zurück zu Parallele Programmierung

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Parallele Programmierung von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.4
Sterne
1,808 Bewertungen
280 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

With every smartphone and computer now boasting multiple processors, the use of functional ideas to facilitate parallel programming is becoming increasingly widespread. In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of parallel programming, from task parallelism to data parallelism. In particular, you'll see how many familiar ideas from functional programming map perfectly to to the data parallel paradigm. We'll start the nuts and bolts how to effectively parallelize familiar collections operations, and we'll build up to parallel collections, a production-ready data parallel collections library available in the Scala standard library. Throughout, we'll apply these concepts through several hands-on examples that analyze real-world data, such as popular algorithms like k-means clustering. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - reason about task and data parallel programs, - express common algorithms in a functional style and solve them in parallel, - competently microbenchmark parallel code, - write programs that effectively use parallel collections to achieve performance Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Program Design in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun2....

Top-Bewertungen

AL
23. Apr. 2018

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

RC
24. Aug. 2017

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 268 Bewertungen für Parallele Programmierung

von Rodrigo D

1. Apr. 2017

Its a very good course! perhaps the in the practice code, before jumping into the problems they can provide a couple of simple examples/questions such that the main ideas are learnt.

von Du L

2. Juni 2018

Very challenging course, the assignments are more about practising using parallel programming, would be better to design an assignment to implement the parallel programming.

von Gregory E

29. März 2018

For this course you should have Advanced English level. Cause sentesce construction is so difficult and words so unusual that i had to some times google what i have to do.

von Benoit P D

20. Dez. 2016

Very good course overall on the basics of parallel programming in scala. Would have been nice to talk a bit more on the low level setup (parallel and task construct code).

von Tim G

22. Okt. 2017

Really good course covering some of the fundamentals of parallel programming, though for me I was hoping it would go into some of the Scala specifics a little more

von Erkin U

7. Okt. 2016

Assignments are focused on problem-solving rather than the importance of parallelism, missing the point of the lecture. It is a Scala course, so it is always fun!

von Rahul W

11. Dez. 2016

Good course but scala understanding is required for this course. So please register for prior course in the certification task to easily complete this course.

von Роман В

2. Juni 2018

Assignments are too easy compared to 2 previous courses. I've been asked lot less than been given. And did not grasp everything in the lectures at the end.

von Solodovnikov G

17. Sep. 2016

Good explanations, relevant assignments.

But too small, too little graded assignments as for subject. Be better if the assignments has less starter code.

von Zhenduo D

14. Nov. 2017

I can be further improved if the class can touch on design patterns using Future and Actor, in addition to the data structure oriented materials.

von Enrique G R

19. Aug. 2017

Time to complete exercises might not be completely assessed. Some lectures seem to technical without any correspondence with real problems.

von Pascal A

23. Sep. 2016

Really a great course but with a heavy work for the duration. If others courses are followed in parallel, there's no time to loose

von Romain G

28. Juli 2017

Very good course. Conc-list was brilliant.

Automated correction tool could do with more verbosity on failed test cases.

von Steven T

26. Sep. 2016

Presentations were presented well and the assignments were interestingly varied but quite challenging for the newbie.

von Alan A

6. Okt. 2019

Interesting course but math part is too academic and boring. It'll be more useful if focused only in real use cases.

von Ville M

22. Juni 2020

After a rather confusing and dissatisfying first week, the course picked up pace nicely in the latter weeks.

von joshua

9. Juni 2017

Overall the course was really good. I think the first 2 courses explained things a little bit better though.

von Carlos C B

6. Apr. 2017

The course is good but is not focused on scala features. It is more generic parallel programming approach.

von Adianto W

24. Okt. 2016

Insightful, though I am not sure if in non R&D/Academia settings the knowledge here can easily be applied.

von Marc K

9. Apr. 2018

The homework assignments are a bit hard, they require a lot of concentration time to make some progress.

von Shuo Z

27. Juni 2016

Good course. The assignments should focus on the parallel programming itself instead of language stuff.

von Nikola P

1. Nov. 2016

Very interesting course, I would recommend. I always wanted to learn about Scala parallel collections.

von Chet W

29. Jan. 2018

Good class but sometimes the exercises seemed unnecessarily complicated for explaining the concepts.

von Hong C

2. Apr. 2020

Lectures are very informative. I like all four assignments. They are well-designed and interesting.

von Atsuya K

8. Feb. 2018

Good topics and assignments. Wasn't as impressed by the course as the ones taught by Odersky.