Chevron Left
Zurück zu Parallel programming

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Parallel programming von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.5
Sterne
1,669 Bewertungen
248 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

With every smartphone and computer now boasting multiple processors, the use of functional ideas to facilitate parallel programming is becoming increasingly widespread. In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of parallel programming, from task parallelism to data parallelism. In particular, you'll see how many familiar ideas from functional programming map perfectly to to the data parallel paradigm. We'll start the nuts and bolts how to effectively parallelize familiar collections operations, and we'll build up to parallel collections, a production-ready data parallel collections library available in the Scala standard library. Throughout, we'll apply these concepts through several hands-on examples that analyze real-world data, such as popular algorithms like k-means clustering. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - reason about task and data parallel programs, - express common algorithms in a functional style and solve them in parallel, - competently microbenchmark parallel code, - write programs that effectively use parallel collections to achieve performance Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Program Design in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun2....

Top-Bewertungen

AL

Apr 24, 2018

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

RC

Aug 25, 2017

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 236 Bewertungen für Parallel programming

von Tib O

Feb 05, 2017

Excellent course, pretty challenging difficulty. Thanks to the instructors for putting together some very interesting material.

von Josue G T I

Sep 03, 2018

Very interesting, with difficult examples and task. Spent a lot of time analyzing weekly assignments but it was totally worth.

von Tao W

Mar 01, 2018

This course is not simple, and the second assignment is hard. But I made it through, and happy with the achievement.

von Bruno F

Aug 20, 2017

Great course -- I learned a lot.

Parts of it were very heavy too, and not all of the lecture material was examined.

von Bulat S

Aug 07, 2016

The material in the course is not complete, but it's perfect as introductory course in parallel programming.

von Mehdi

Jan 14, 2020

Excellent course !!! A must take in my opinion for a better and deep understanding of parallel programming.

von Prashant P

Oct 25, 2016

This is a great course that helps you develop thinking in terms of parallel implementation of the problems.

von Fernando R

Apr 22, 2018

The course provides a deep dive into Parallel Programming with Scala, and is well worth the time invested.

von Benji T

Jun 13, 2016

The content of the course is great, will review this course again as i think i left out some concepts.

von Denis A Z Q

Aug 27, 2017

Course with excellent content, methodology and teacher. It was an extraordinary learning experience

von Seongsan K

Mar 03, 2018

I really loved how well organized the course was and how well the professors explain the concepts.

von Patrick M

Feb 13, 2017

Quite interesting but sometimes I would have spent some minutes more to explain some core concept.

von Paulo R d O C

Sep 13, 2018

Hard course, but gives good insights about the challenges and solutions for parallel programming.

von Srdjan K

Oct 25, 2016

Pro: A very good course for those who are already experienced in Scala

Con: Only 4 weeks long :)

von Artur R

May 24, 2018

This is one of the most dense and solid courses on Coursera and I really enjoyed tackling it

von Alexandr M

May 30, 2017

Problems of data structures for parallel computation are explained very well in this course.

von Qiao L

Jul 23, 2016

A very good hands-on course. It's the best parallel programming on line course so far I see.

von 李帅鹏

Apr 30, 2019

Perfect! Learning Parallel Programming, I can learn more about Spark and Flink. Thanks

von Jose R

Sep 28, 2016

It's hard enought to test your skills in Scala parallel programming, results pay off.

von Dmitry B

Aug 09, 2017

Excellent course with great combination of theory and practical Scala assignments!

von Konstantin S

Jul 07, 2016

I think it is a nice introduction course into the parallel programming. Thanks.

von yassine a

Nov 13, 2017

very good, but need to focus a little bit on how to create tasks and threads

von Jaeyeol S

Sep 13, 2016

Somewhat difficult course, but good to first learn parallel programming.

von joe

Jan 22, 2017

Class was great but the last week's homework was incredibly difficult!

von Hyun-joo K

Jun 27, 2016

Great introductory course for parallelism with Scala's elegant codes.