Chevron Left
Zurück zu Parallel programming

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Parallel programming von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.5
1,608 Bewertungen
242 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

With every smartphone and computer now boasting multiple processors, the use of functional ideas to facilitate parallel programming is becoming increasingly widespread. In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of parallel programming, from task parallelism to data parallelism. In particular, you'll see how many familiar ideas from functional programming map perfectly to to the data parallel paradigm. We'll start the nuts and bolts how to effectively parallelize familiar collections operations, and we'll build up to parallel collections, a production-ready data parallel collections library available in the Scala standard library. Throughout, we'll apply these concepts through several hands-on examples that analyze real-world data, such as popular algorithms like k-means clustering. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - reason about task and data parallel programs, - express common algorithms in a functional style and solve them in parallel, - competently microbenchmark parallel code, - write programs that effectively use parallel collections to achieve performance Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Program Design in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun2....

Top-Bewertungen

AL

Apr 24, 2018

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

RC

Aug 25, 2017

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 230 Bewertungen für Parallel programming

von Federico L

Aug 05, 2017

Good content. Very basic overview of parallel programming algorithms and data structures in scala. Course feel a little bit hacked together although not as bad as the Functional Program Design one.

Course should be more in depth.

von Cedric D B

Aug 08, 2017

Good but too theoretical and not very didactic.

von masaaki f

Mar 31, 2017

Online video is OK. But assignments are not much related to parallel programming specific issues. One case, this is my opinion but it's nice if students learn how scala solves "The dining philosophers" issue.

von Shad A

Apr 02, 2017

This course could have been better in my opinion, if we could have exercise that would deal with the concepts in more detail. I felt myself involved deeply in understanding the problem statement, rather than practicing the concepts explained in the course.

von Joseph K

Jul 31, 2017

Lectures are not easy to understand. It almost feels like they plucked various sections from a longer course.

von Igor M

Oct 24, 2017

There are not clear test errors, that points to another place in code where mistake is placed.

von Valerio M

Nov 27, 2016

Interesting course, but far too short. It ends up giving a quick introduction to some of the aspects of parallel programming. I enjoyed the assignments, apart from last one where the difficulty was more about the context of the example than any parallel programming aspects. That example, extended, could be a good capstone project, but I think it was not appropriate as a course assignment. I prefer courses that follow a book, and this course didn't.

von Igor C

Sep 29, 2016

The course if good, but i believe the content should be more didactic.

von Luis V

Nov 10, 2017

Good course and good level on the assignments but needs a lot of improvement on the lectures, specially in the two last weeks.

von Aleh V

Mar 03, 2017

Wrongly assumes that it'll be easier for students to jump from the conventional 'parallel' java paradigms and constructs to parallel streams.

Not a good job on explaining why. It'll require from students some efforts to create the right picture in their minds.

Exercises are great and partially make up for the above mentioned shortcomings.

Some example code is very bad and goes against all the 'good' things being taught by Martin in the first course of the specialization.

von Igor W

Jun 12, 2017

Too much imperative technics in this "functional" parallel programming course.

von Hadrien H

Dec 20, 2016

Content is good, less well polished than Odersky's courses though. Painful exercises with a lot of time spent on understanding the instructions instead of focusing on learning parallelism methods (especially the final assignment). Overall happy to have learnt from this, but clarity of assignments should be improved.

von Lestar C

Jun 14, 2017

Not enough Scala. Akka version was better :(

von Gabriel G

Oct 31, 2016

Deep lectures, but exercises where more about complex problems than about parallel programing

von Evgenii S

Jun 24, 2018

For now, the worst course in Specialization.

von Guomao X

Aug 17, 2016

should contain more details

von Adam S

Jun 21, 2016

Good learning materials, however the assignments are designed for compute science students rather than professional software developers as the most important part of the assignments is not parallel code, but it is algorithms. Yes, there is parallel code in the code of the assignments, but it is mostly written and your task is to implement the algorithm using this existing parallel code, while in my opinion it should be the other way around - you should implement parallel code and algorithms code should be already provided for you.

von Sangam K

Sep 30, 2017

I didn't like the last assignment. I didn't think there was much to learn there. I would've liked to implement more splitters and combiners. I did like the first 3 assignments very much. The lectures were pretty good, but I found myself loving some, and hating the others. I would've preferred more practical applications over theory. I think the lectures are un-necessarily math heavy.

von Robert S

Jul 14, 2017

While some the material was useful, I was extremely disappointed with this course. The first two lectures were nearly intolerable to listen to, and the last assignment was very poorly designed and documented. I would not recommend this course to anyone unless it was significantly redesigned and updated.

von Anton K

Aug 05, 2016

The course presents two core approaches to parallel programming - task and data parallelism. While these concepts are really useful, I expected more details on, for example, how to implement the _parallel_ construct used throughout the lectures. The materials were good and I can use some of the ideas straight after the lectures in my everyday coding, but the assignments were really slightly related to the topic.

Barnes Hut simulation assignment. I'd say it has nothing in common with parallel programming in Scala. It looks like the authors looked for some real-life example or use case for Combiners and this simulation model looked nice. But, really, does any developer not working in university would ever use it? It's completely impractical, the most of the time I spent reading the description of simulation model, but the coding itself was just playing with 2D coordinates and some basic recursion. I'd expect something more practical, e.g. implementing simplified form of Hadoop map-reduce or something like that so I can use it after the course. But Barnes-Hut is too specific and is pretty far from everyday problems developers encounter.

von Tony B

Jun 30, 2016

Excellent lectures, let down by the difficulty of the assignments.

While the tutors clearly know their stuff, I found the assignments really quite challenging and of limited educational value due to the mixture of new concepts introduced by the lectures along with new (to me) mathematics or CS that also needed to be grasped.

I'm an experienced professional programmer with the EPFL 'FP in Scala' and FRP courses under my belt, so I thought I knew what to expect but this was much more time consuming than I'd thought.

von Oleg S

Feb 09, 2017

For a while, that's the worst course of scala specialization. All the parallelism is just obvious division of a one big piece on several small pieses, and perfrom parrallel tasks on it. It's enogh to write merge sort with several threads to get the main idea, which is proposed here. You don't need to watch 4 weeks of coursera video and perform tasks to get it. Maybe I'm wrong, but I expected something more than trivial division. Besides that, I don't like the tasks. And I hate the last one week. Very bad description of the problem, it made me really suffer. I'd like much more the first 2 courses. Which I rated as 5 and 4 accordingly, but this one is fail. Besides that, I like the theory about parallel and concurent programming, and all the stuff about "iron". Hope the 4th one course will be better.

von antonin p

May 21, 2017

This course is definitely too low level for me, it is also very scientific computation oriented. It was an interesting parenthesis in this cursus, but not with the time taken. Lesson emphasis too much on specific implementation tricks, and are sometimes hard to follow. Also coding style differs greatly from coding style of other lessons (lots of mutability, intensive usage of explicit loops).

von Marco G

Nov 07, 2016

It's difficult to follow the content. The way it is organized could be greatly improved.

von martin r

Sep 03, 2016

The approach in this course is incorrect, I think that will be a course with more concret examples, but is a course with a lot of teory that is not applied.