Chevron Left
Zurück zu Particle Physics: an Introduction

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Particle Physics: an Introduction von Universität von Genf

4.4
Sterne
790 Bewertungen
235 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

Top-Bewertungen

VL
26. März 2021

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.\n\nThank you for the great course!

MH
4. Aug. 2017

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 235 Bewertungen für Particle Physics: an Introduction

von Anirudh S

6. März 2019

The number of questions should be increased in every section!

von Prasanna K S

4. Dez. 2020

Really set of amazing series of lectures. Nicely explained.

von Sahil A

9. Aug. 2019

It would be great if there were numerical problems

von Saphilous S

18. Juni 2019

French accent of the tutors is a bit troubling

von Мясников В А

9. Juni 2020

french accent of mercedes is not that good

von Ayan B

28. Sep. 2020

The course is very informative indeed.

von Richard K

7. Juli 2018

Fast paced but informative.

von Natnael M

27. Aug. 2020

It is a very nice cource.

von Samantha S

23. März 2018

i love the material

von Ogunnaike F E

9. Juli 2020

very easy to grasp

von TARIT G

15. Okt. 2017

Very good approach

von Ali H

27. Juni 2021

.m

von jose

2. Dez. 2017

v

von Jacqueline T

1. Aug. 2020

Interesting material and good breadth. The difficulty level varies a lot between weeks - some weeks are very in depth while others seem like filler in comparison. There are a lot of equations introduced which require more knowledge of physics than I had expected from the course description and seem to be beyond the scope of an introductory course. Fortunately, following these equations is generally not necessary to understand the course objectives, but it does make following the lessons needlessly complex. Additionally, some of the quiz questions require memorization of specific numbers/values that are only tangentially related to the week's topic and don't help to further understanding of the subject matter.

von Christian T

3. Feb. 2021

I prefere courses with more explanation in detail. For example calculations actually done in real time. Good example would be the University of Australias courses about cosmology on EdX. Back of the envelope calculations are done in detail.

Just videos of presentations are a bit boring. I rather read something.

I do not see the point of all the numbers and calculations in the presentations but the tests are just about the theory. I would rather have a course with less material but more depth or more general but easier to understand. The additional video about Feynman diagrams was my favorite. I would like more of that.

von Hamza I

28. Aug. 2020

The course was very informative and finely detailed. I would say, however, that some parts or concepts were made a bit complicated and that they could have been easily explained/demonstrated.

von Samuel L J

7. Aug. 2017

The course is good, although too general. It could use more challenging exercises and mathematics, more in line with a course in Particle Physics in a standard Physics curriculum.

von Egor A

28. Dez. 2021

The course is about just sitting and listening for a person reading a textbook on a camera. The only interesting parts are vodeos from the actual labs.

von mrityunjoy s

11. Juli 2020

there is a translation issue in some videos especially the ones with others (except Martin and Mercedes) and also the explanations are a bit monologous

von Egemen B

8. Aug. 2018

Unassuming about prior knowledge. Quizzes oriented to beginners, lectures to grad students. Confusing, but fun nonetheless.

von Wei-shun B

28. Sep. 2017

Introductory course and little prerequisites. It is good in general but I still got lost in some lecture videos.

von Ruchit S

4. Aug. 2020

Interesting material, great instructors, but .... the monotonous, not-so-enthusiastic delivery may put one off.

von Abhimanyu B

27. Jan. 2018

try simplifying the course a little more

von Yifu L

29. Aug. 2018

subtitles can be improved.

von Deniz P

28. Mai 2020

Although the course covered a wide range of topics, the mathematics were beyond my understanding (as a 10th grade student) and the accents were hard to understand and annoying from time to time. I had to learn most of the topics from other videos on YouTube because the topics were not simplified enough for me to understand. I would say you should enroll for free and have a look at a few videos before purchasing the course like I did. Overall, it was an interesting experience.