Chevron Left
Zurück zu Perfect Tenses and Modals

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Perfect Tenses and Modals von University of California, Irvine

4.8
Sterne
1,997 Bewertungen
556 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This is the first course in the Learn English: Intermediate Grammar specialization. In this course, you will learn about important intermediate verb tenses, including present perfect, present perfect progressive, past perfect, and past perfect progressive. You will also learn about common modal verbs used in English. This course is designed for learners who have a basic understanding of English grammar but who want to learn more and improve their skills for everyday speaking or writing, as well as for academics. It will be a fun class with lots of entertaining and informative video lectures....

Top-Bewertungen

GL

Oct 07, 2016

I loved this course. I am pretty good at grammar, but it was good to review some rules. I took it in four days, each day I completed one week. Every day I spent on average two hours on the course.

JH

Feb 27, 2020

This course introduces the perfect tenses and Models, providing a lot of practices and assignments. I have completed the course and recommend it for everyone who wants to improve English grammar.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 557 Bewertungen für Perfect Tenses and Modals

von Preethish P

Aug 31, 2016

I really loved how interested the teachers and instructors were in teaching us. If they can give out knowledge with that interest. I can take it in with the same level of interest :)

von JULIO V

Jan 09, 2019

Nice course, I would like to thank you the team of the University of Carolina Irvine, for making this fantastic course, I feel really greatfull I hope you can help much people.

von Glenia L

Oct 07, 2016

I loved this course. I am pretty good at grammar, but it was good to review some rules. I took it in four days, each day I completed one week. Every day I spent on average two hours on the course.

von Athalia S D L

May 20, 2020

This course is really helpful. The first language that I learned and frequently use is English. I would always read books and this is where I learned grammar if a sentence that I read somewhere sounds right it's because I based it on the books I have read. In school, I didn't listen to our teacher that much because I was too busy reading in class or I was confident that I knew everything but I didn't. Before this course, I get confused with Perfect Tenses and because I only relied on the books that I've read I would make some mistakes in that particular part of grammar.

I'm grateful that I found this course and to the teachers who taught me everything. Here in our country, people who speak English are thought to be always smart, it might be true because learning the English Language is hard. Before I only knew how to construct simple sentences because I didn't know that much about grammar but because of this course it has helped me a lot.

If I may critic this course also, the only issue is regarding the Peer-Graded Assignment. I think it is better if we get feedback from the teachers too because when I receive feedback from other learners there is not that much criticism that I can learn from. When I evaluate the other learners I try to give them insights on their mistakes and things that they can improve. The other learners only give minimal comments and for those who just started learning the language, I think it is hard for them to understand to work of others especially if they have a hard time understanding the lecture.

Still, I think the course is awesome and it has helped in improving my skills.

von Marcela C C

May 17, 2019

I loved it. The course provides lots of practice which is very good.

von Ville S

Feb 11, 2017

Having only video lessons is really heavy and time consuming. I'd like to have all the material in written format too so that i can come back to skim trough how some modal or tense works. Now if i wanted to recap something, i had to guess the video, and then watch it just to notice it wasn't the right one. Super difficult. Having all the material in well formatted written format, i could been able to easily skip the parts i already know. Now it wan't possible and i had to spend way too much time for simple things.

Also more practices would have been nice. Now there was like three quiz questions per topic. that's not enough for proper learning. Most of the "gamified" practices outside coursera were good though. I encourage you to have more links outside coursera and point out material where i could deepen my knowledge about the topic.

Also some times this course didn't explain differences between different ways of saying the same thing. It confused me a lot as i wasn't sure why one would say it in one way and other in some other way. If different ways of saying same things do not have any difference in meaning, nor emphasis on different things, it definitely should be mentioned too as it is also very valuable information.

This course has lots of potential and the structure was good, but due to lack of good written material i can't recommend this to any of my friends :/

von Ignacio V M

Mar 29, 2020

Un curso bastante didáctico para lograr mejorar o aprender un nivel intermedio de inglés. Los temas son tratados de forma inteligente y fácil de entender. También permite practicar y poner a prueba lo aprendido a través de guías y prácticas utilizando una aplicación. Finalmente, los profesores a cargo son muy claros en los contenidos. Para una persona con mediano entendimiento del inglés no se hace necesario la traducción de las clases.

von Meghal S

Jul 23, 2016

I like this course very much.

Through this course I learnt lot of things which I never learnt before.

Thanks to all.

I would like to learn other coursers also.

von Khalid A

Sep 19, 2018

It's perfect

von Dalia M E

Mar 07, 2017

I would like to have direct feedback instead of just reviews like: " review your tenses, or review your grammar" I mean, I would like to know exactly where is my mistake, and how to correct it.

Good course, I really learned to much about the tenses.

von Thomas Z

Jan 10, 2018

There were many things that could be done in a much better way:

- The quizzes contain way too less questions. There should be at least 15 to 20 of them to be done in the respect of proving someone's capabilities. These should be drawn by chance out of a much bigger pool - at least three times more than displayed in one quiz. After each trial should be a break of at least one hour to force the student to read and learn about the subject. Now it's enough to memorize the wrong answers and don't mark them again when doing the next trial one minute later. Its way too easy to get a good percentage even if you know pretty nothing.

- There are two or sometimes three modules in one week. This is too much. One module - one week. I think the courses should last at least six ( better 8) weeks to assure the topics covered were well understood.

- The videos are made in a bad quality - sometimes it sounds as they were recorded by an Edison's phonograph.

- The peer-to-peer assignments should need at least 5 reviews to get an average which is not influenced by a student who has no idea about the topics and is marking correct sentences as wrong ones.

- The 'pointage' in the reviews done by peers should offer a wider possibility of differenciation in rating.

- The performance of the orthography should be rated in every review. Nearly a third of the submissions I read were done in a grousy manner.

- The courses 2 and 3 shouldn't run the same course-weeks at the same time. Some students try to save some money and rush through both courses at the same time to get the certificate in less than four weeks. Doing this way, the efficiency decrases. As I already mentioned before, the amount is too much in one week in one course. Redoubling the workload will exacerbate the situation.

- The certificates should show the percentage the student earned. It is not very difficult to get a certificate in any of your courses no matter which subject and student's rare knowledge. I earned 100% and get the same certificate as another one who hardly passed. Even there is no credit related to any academical carreer, I'd prefer to impress somebody with a result of A++ written on the certificate.

Sincerely, Thomas Zimmermann

von Jane D G F

Oct 18, 2019

To my grammar instructors at Irvine. I am most grateful because I never thought that learning Perfect Tenses and Modals can be that easy. I always have the idea that intermediate grammar is difficult and I can speak good English anyway so I never mind. But knowing the truth that intermediate grammar confuses me, made me humble and tried to search for ways to eliminate the confusion so I can be a better version of myself and be a better English teacher.

von MUHAMMAD W N

Apr 14, 2020

This course let me know, how to use Perfect tenses and Modals. Before that, I didn't know exactly where we have to use Perfect tenses. Now, I'm able to use exact modals where they're suited. I have been taking this course since Jan 2020. Due to workload, I couldn't do it in the 1st month. But overall, nice experience. First time in my life, I had chosen online course. Special thanks for instructors, who have designed this course.

von Jyuan-Wei H

Feb 27, 2020

This course introduces the perfect tenses and Models, providing a lot of practices and assignments. I have completed the course and recommend it for everyone who wants to improve English grammar.

von Sam A

Jul 01, 2019

That is a well done, informative course. I brushed up my English and understood some basic — and yet overlooked— grammar rules and the logic behind the use of the present perfect tense.

von Olga D

Mar 29, 2020

There is very little reading material. Peer graded assignments are useless, I'd prefer to see feedback from the teacher who knows the subject rather than from students who are not yet confident. I got feedbacks that had more mistakes than my work had. There is no forum to ask questions. Subscription fee is too expensive for the amount of learning material given, sorry.

von Abraham G

Jun 20, 2016

To lock a quiz for payment is mean.

von Abdelrahman R

Apr 04, 2018

Although I studied the content of the course before from other sources, this is my feedback:

1- you have creative way in explaining the content.

2- The material is very efficient.

3- The course have many examples and exercises that make the learner able to practice the grammatical rules.

I recommend this course for those who want to Learn English grammar.

-----------------------------

For the instructors; I would like to suggest that you add a Pdf or powerpoint file that have the rules, structures and important notes of each video. Because it take me a lot of time to write the notes of the course.

It took me about 6-7 days to finish the course while writing the notes but I would have finished the course in one 1-2 days if the notes were available to download.

My best regards. :)

von Ivan Y

Jul 04, 2020

It is a very interesting and helpful course. Thanks to the great job of the instructors all of the explanation videos are well-conceived as well as all learning materials. Thanks to the videos, the handouts and the learning materials I could really learn peculiarities of usage of the Perfect Tenses and Modals. I would really recommend this course to everyone who wants to improve his theoretical knowledge and practical skills in English grammar.

von Ani K

Dec 31, 2019

High Recommended this course, every thing is very clearly and detailed explained. Here is quiz every week, also lessons where you can check your knowledge, I really like this course, only one thing it's happened and I don't like is that when I write my assignment someone evaluate me incorrect and I can't finish week and I re edit same text with new dedline. Finally I finished and course and lessons is very high class, Thank you

von Rohit S

May 23, 2018

Few suggestions:

Please:

1) cover the missing tense forms s.a. future perfect, future progressive, past progressive etc.

2) provide the slides along with the lectures.

3) increase the number of exercises.

============================================================

Learnt a lot.

Thank you UCI and other people who are directly/indirectly related with this course.

=============================================================

von Samved I

Jun 18, 2020

While the course itself has no flaws in my judgment, it is very exasperating that there is no Discussion Forum where students could request for their assignments to be graded. What could be more unfortunate an event than one in which a student diligently submits his assignment only to see that it has not been graded? Kindly ensure that the error is rectified.

von Jose A R N

Jul 09, 2017

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career (https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to complete my CV in English to the area of Data Science. 


The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

Regards.

Jose Antonio.

von Pan S

Jun 18, 2020

This course can help me a lot to improve my grammar skill. Teachers can explain the grammar by using slide presentations, and it is pretty clear to understand the meaning and how to use it. After I finished this course, I feel confident using correct grammar in daily life, taking a TOEIC test, and applying these skills to my job.

von Sheraz K

Aug 20, 2017

I am very thankful to University of California and all the amazing teachers that had been with me in this course. This is the best English course I have ever taken. This course motivated me to study English grammar even further. I would also like to thank Coursera for making this course available to students all around the world.