Chevron Left
Zurück zu Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy by The University of Edinburgh

4.3
418 Bewertungen
126 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Science and Philosophy’, is the first of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The first launch is now closed to enrolments. We will launch a new version of the course in July 2018. The course will address four themes each presented by guest lecturers: 1. Are Science and Religion in conflict? (Professor Michael Murray, Franklin & Marshall) 2. Neuroscience and Free Will (Professor Al Mele, Florida State) 3. Creationism and Evolutionary Biology--Science or Pseudo-science? (Dr. Mark Harris and Dr. David de Pomerai, University of Edinburgh) 4. Do Scientific claims constitute absolute truths? (Professor Martin Kusch, University of Vienna) The second and third courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series are ‘Philosophy and Religion’ and ‘Religion and Science’. They may be taken in any order and completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Check out our trailer to hear more: https://youtu.be/OifqTI5VKek You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

Top-Bewertungen

SR

Nov 14, 2017

A very interesting course and it has given a great knowleddge to me about the concept of science and religion . just amazed and the professors taught this in a very impressive way . very nyccc .

CB

Feb 06, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and the effort it put forth to open the dialogue of religion, science and philosophy. Thank you for creating a space to openly discuss belief.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 of 129 Reviews for Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

von Henk J G

Mar 17, 2019

Interesting though not always easy to consume

von Juan D G G

May 01, 2018

This is an incredibly terrible course, that only serves as propaganda for Christian creationism. Some of the lecturers are people completely unknowledgeable about both science and philosophy. It is incredibly sad that an university of such quality and history would lend its name for such endeavors.

von James R E

Mar 22, 2018

First weeks material was pretty good, during the second week I started to get a funny feeling about the way it was going. I noticed, during the credits, that this was funded by a group called the Templeton Foundation. I googled them, and discovered that this "foundation" is dedicated to funding endeavors that promote Christianity. So, under the guise of a serious academic, what we have here is propaganda. Coursera should remove this, or at least reveal the true source and purpose of this program. BTW, the lectture by Connor Cunningham is hilarious - a disjointed rambling monologue that reminded me of ...Hunter Thompson? Donald Trump on acid?

von Cem Y

Jul 13, 2019

I know it was a beginner level course but I feel the subjects were presented very, very superficially. The recommended readings do flesh out things a bit. The lessons of the last week, those about evolution and creationism, turned out to be simple explanations about what evolution is, and not very much about how it relates to creationism or the philosohy of science.

The structure of the lessons were also odd. There are several 3 to 5 minute lectures followed by a one-question quiz. This breaks concentration. I feel it would have been much more engaging if the subjects were presented in 20-30 minute lectures followed by 5-10 question quizzes.

von Keith P

Jul 10, 2019

Very enjoyable course! Highly recommended!

von Lorena S P

Jun 30, 2019

Very interesting course!!!! I can see many concepts about science in a different light now and I've learnt many others which were utterly new to me. Thank you so much!!!

von sweta d

Jun 28, 2019

Greta course! I learned a lot.

von Eleison D d S C

Jun 17, 2019

Excelent course! Just the videos by Mark Harris are not very undestandable. He mumbles and it becomes difficult to follow along him. Also I would suggest more illustration on his videos, otherwise becomes boring..

von Francisco L

Jun 04, 2019

The course is somewhat interesting but my expectations were different, perhaps the description of the course should be expanded so that the student would know with greater certainty the content.

von NILMAR R N

May 23, 2019

excelente curso

von Prashant S S

May 03, 2019

Very nice and informative course

von luis j

Apr 20, 2019

An excellent course, which touches all facets of the religion science relationship, teachers are very professional in content transmission

von Peta A

Apr 04, 2019

Wonderful thank you, will definitely participate in the additional courses offered on this subject.

von Horacio M C

Mar 25, 2019

Excellent course I am waiting for the 2 courses that I need to complete the series.

von Vangel V

Mar 21, 2019

I liked the course but have some issues with it. Attacking a group that has so little influence and credibility does not seem becoming of a course like this one. But worse is the fact that the instructors ignore the leap of faith needed to support the supposedly 'scientific' position.

von Fogan A

Mar 09, 2019

This course is a great course! Thanks to Coursera and all the professors and others that made it possible

von nalany

Feb 26, 2019

excelente

von Rafael S

Feb 21, 2019

Curso excelente! Gostei demais

von Tapuwa L S

Feb 06, 2019

The course was very enlightening and now my understanding of the world has been aptly rectified

von René D N A

Jan 28, 2019

muy bueno

von Laura O

Jan 28, 2019

fun and easy

von Mariano C

Jan 27, 2019

Great initial course to get a more profound insight on the subjects taken into account. Excellent explanation from all the teachers involved in each week's topic!

von Dmitriy S

Jan 24, 2019

Great course showing modern branches of philosophy of science.

von Flavia L

Jan 06, 2019

Enlightening and extremely well taught.

von A K

Dec 26, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed the three part course on "Philosophy, Science and Religion" by the University of Edinburgh. A BIG THANK YOU to those who put these courses together. In this series, the designers wonderfully weaved the relationship between the three apparently diverse disciplines in a cohesive narrative, making ones understanding richer!