Chevron Left
Zurück zu Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy von The University of Edinburgh

4.4
460 Bewertungen
136 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Science and Philosophy’, is the first of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The first launch is now closed to enrolments. We will launch a new version of the course in July 2018. The course will address four themes each presented by guest lecturers: 1. Are Science and Religion in conflict? (Professor Michael Murray, Franklin & Marshall) 2. Neuroscience and Free Will (Professor Al Mele, Florida State) 3. Creationism and Evolutionary Biology--Science or Pseudo-science? (Dr. Mark Harris and Dr. David de Pomerai, University of Edinburgh) 4. Do Scientific claims constitute absolute truths? (Professor Martin Kusch, University of Vienna) The second and third courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series are ‘Philosophy and Religion’ and ‘Religion and Science’. They may be taken in any order and completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Check out our trailer to hear more: https://youtu.be/OifqTI5VKek You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

Top-Bewertungen

SR

Nov 14, 2017

A very interesting course and it has given a great knowleddge to me about the concept of science and religion . just amazed and the professors taught this in a very impressive way . very nyccc .

DM

Aug 21, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much and found it useful to prepare for a graduate course about the same subject. The teachers are very knowledgeable and the material very adequate,

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 133 Bewertungen für Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy

von Henk J G

Mar 17, 2019

Interesting though not always easy to consume

von Juan D G G

May 01, 2018

This is an incredibly terrible course, that only serves as propaganda for Christian creationism. Some of the lecturers are people completely unknowledgeable about both science and philosophy. It is incredibly sad that an university of such quality and history would lend its name for such endeavors.

von James R E

Mar 22, 2018

First weeks material was pretty good, during the second week I started to get a funny feeling about the way it was going. I noticed, during the credits, that this was funded by a group called the Templeton Foundation. I googled them, and discovered that this "foundation" is dedicated to funding endeavors that promote Christianity. So, under the guise of a serious academic, what we have here is propaganda. Coursera should remove this, or at least reveal the true source and purpose of this program. BTW, the lectture by Connor Cunningham is hilarious - a disjointed rambling monologue that reminded me of ...Hunter Thompson? Donald Trump on acid?

von Emiel d J

Dec 08, 2018

In the beginning of the course I had the sense that the course was somewhat biased towards religion. But later on I found out that both aspects are explained quite honest and well in the course. All in all well worth the time and effort.

von René D N A

Jan 28, 2019

muy bueno

von Laura O

Jan 28, 2019

fun and easy

von Tapuwa L S

Feb 06, 2019

The course was very enlightening and now my understanding of the world has been aptly rectified

von Solveig H

Nov 11, 2018

An excellent and interesting range of lectures. Not particularly fond of the Stanford readings, but such is life. Very enjoyable!

von Flavia L

Jan 06, 2019

Enlightening and extremely well taught.

von Dmitriy S

Jan 24, 2019

Great course showing modern branches of philosophy of science.

von nalany

Feb 26, 2019

excelente

von Rafael S

Feb 21, 2019

Curso excelente! Gostei demais

von Fogan A

Mar 09, 2019

This course is a great course! Thanks to Coursera and all the professors and others that made it possible

von Tan J F

Oct 17, 2018

Interesting course to learn from!

von Pedro F B S

Dec 30, 2017

Short but interesting course on Philosophy of Science. The contents are introduced in a very pedagogic fashion and I appreciated the focus on the work of Popper who I always admired for his relatively accurate description of the virtues of the scientific knowledge. Also appreciated the fact that the concepts are illustrated by means of several examples allowing to acquire an adequate perspective in terms of historical evolution of the different trends in Philosophy of Science.

von Paccelli J M Z

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent!

von Wind C

Mar 01, 2017

I really liked this course. The material was good. the lectures were interesting and enjoyable. I learned a lot from the course. My only disappointment was the brevity. I would have liked to delve deeper into these issues, but it was a good starter course for this subject matter. The quizzes were too easy.

von Maja G

Aug 01, 2017

Lots of new ideas to think about!

von KABI C K

Feb 26, 2018

Totally worth it to lean about this course, highly recommended.

von Leonidas T

Sep 11, 2017

New knowledge, new optic, new field of thinking. Very good course.

von Andrii B

May 24, 2018

Very good course

von Anne S

Jan 05, 2018

A very interesting and well presented introduction to a controversial area of debate. Encourages further intellectual investigation of three disciplines that seem to have more in common than many would like to admit.

von Denis N F J

Jun 28, 2017

Great course! Really helps for a different perspective on the subject!

von Ali A M

Mar 17, 2018

In most of Middle-Eastern countries which i live in one of them , talking about the relationship between science and religion is a kind of a taboo. Ideas and critical thoughts usually not goes out from the academic field. Therefore; the person who wants to learn different perspectives about the issue need to be challenger. Thanks to this course, it is much more easier for me. Great job!

von Pavithra V

Aug 26, 2017

This course has helped me look at a lot of things from a different point of view. It was a thrilling experience to discover that a lot of theories that seem obviously true aren't really so! The lectures were amazing.