Chevron Left
Zurück zu Introduction to Philosophy

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Introduction to Philosophy von The University of Edinburgh

4.7
Sterne
6,665 Bewertungen
1,557 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

Top-Bewertungen

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

SF

Jun 28, 2020

It is an excellent course for anyone who is interested in knowing more about philosophy and philosophical questions. The lectures are short and very informative! I would highly recommend this course.

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 1,541 Bewertungen für Introduction to Philosophy

von Suzi

Aug 10, 2016

I've never taken a philosophy course because it seemed difficult to understand. However, the lecturers explained the concepts and theory clearly. This course has increase my understanding of philosophy and how applicable it is in other fields. I really enjoyed the course and recommend it!!!

von Gregory A M

Oct 18, 2017

Excellent teaching all round and an interesting set of topics. I like the idea that you can pick and choose which topic interests you the most each week and will only be assessed on that but I decided to complete all of the lectures and assessments for my own benefit. Thank you very much!

von Clinton M

Aug 16, 2017

Fantastic course. The instructors presented their material in an interesting and thought-provoking, yet easy to understand manner. The video lectures were a great complement to the reading material, and helped to clear up some of the concepts I was a bit unclear on. 10/10 would recommend!

von Anil N

May 08, 2020

Exceptional teachers. Some of the concepts in philosophy can be very confusing. The teachers do a good job of giving enough examples and summarizing the arguments. It is a good course to enable you to get an overall understanding of the topic and see which topic you want to deep dive in.

von Cameron S

Oct 20, 2020

What a fantastic experience. Its my first time back at study since university more than 20 years ago and I have loved it. I will certainly not be stopping here. The course was interesting and really offered so much opportunity to challenge and go way beyond the materials if I wanted to.

von GUSISI

Feb 13, 2017

Teachers are really responsive to questions that were mentioned in the forum, and they provided me with a good start in philosophy. I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in philosophy but has no previous experience. This course will lead you to the a different world.

von Eduardo S P

Jan 20, 2016

Very good course, it perfectly introduces some of the most relevant topics in philosophical discussion, some are new some are very very old but still fascinating. I would strongly recommend this course for anyone interested in learning about philosophy, history and culture in general.

von Christopher B

Oct 18, 2019

I had a great time on this course and I learned many new interesting concepts that got me thinking, and will help me to learn any other course I take. In particular, I enjoyed learning about Are Scientific Theories True?, Minds, Brains and Computers, and Time Travel and Philosophy.

von Laura Y

Mar 30, 2020

I absolutely loved this! Really good overview of all these subjects, with an options and information to go deeper. The lecturers were all amazing, and I'm going to be going over these notes quite a bit! Really helped reignite my interest in thinking about things differently :)

von Viviana Q

Apr 22, 2020

Awesome introduction course. It invites you to think critically and challenges you in order to question your own conclusion. Thank you for all the teachings and easy and funny examples so that we can better understand the complex vocabulary of the quoted ancient philosophers.

von Manu N L

May 21, 2020

Great course around a modern vision of the basis of philosophy; good material, very high level of equipment docent. I get skill on analysis and several 'trends' of the 'actual philosophy' in form of introduction. Thanks for all, then, to University of Edimburgh and Coursera.

von Hernán M

Jun 12, 2016

Great course from one of the top universities in the world! Deep throughout, fast-paced but easy to understand, this course will give you a first impression of what Philosophy really is, making you want to delve more into this awesome world of thinking.

I highly recommend it!

von James D R

May 19, 2019

An excellent course that does precisely what it says. It provides a fantastic taste of some of the foundations of philosophy. The content of the video lecturers are wonderful.

My only complaint is that the multiple choice tests at the end of each section have bugs in them.

von Terrance J M

Apr 28, 2020

Never even thought about philosophy before (pun unintended), but this introductory course to the subject was a great awakening. Plans are to continue in philosophical studies. Much thanks to the University of Edinburgh, Coursera and the great lecturers in this course.

von Crista M

Jun 11, 2020

Super interesting course and excellent lecturers. There’s a lot to wrap your head around, but it’s engaging and thought provoking. It was easy to feel motivated to continue through the lectures and the quizzes are well crafted to help ensure that you truly do “get it.”

von Ajnabi K P

Jun 08, 2020

Philosophy is a way of thinking about the world, the universe, and society. It works by asking very basic questions about the nature of human thought, the nature of the universe, and the connections between them. The ideas in philosophy are often general and abstract.

von Jose M G

Dec 09, 2016

Una excelente introducción al pensamiento filosófico, desde una visión bastante práctica. Me ha sorprendido especialmente el último tema sobre viajes en el tiempo, que en principio parece no cuadrar con el resto de "topics", pero resulta muy interesante y divertido.

von Emmanual P J

Jun 12, 2020

The first thing I wanted to highlight is the remarkable wisdom of the professors. The ease with which they discuss the ideas is an evidence of the command they have over the philosophy of knowledge. They made the discussions so appealing with intelligible examples.

von Pablo G A

Jun 05, 2017

I think this course is interesting and well structured. I think it is a good introduction to philosophy. I learned a lot about morality, knowledge, laws, politics, minds, science, free will, and time travel.

The course also helped me to practice English :-)

Thanks!

von Jake G

Oct 25, 2015

While the indidivual lectureres did have a breadth of knowledge, a manditory discusion should be held with the homeworks instead of just the quizzes for completion. Perhaps a page on each week should be good enough. Just to understand each lecturer's main points.

von JORGE E M L V

Mar 23, 2019

MUY BUEN CURSO PARA INTRODUCIRSE AL MUNDO DE LA FILOSOFÍA, DE VERDAD QUE ES BASTANTE INTERESANTE APRENDER COSAS DE FILOSOFÍA LO RECOMIENDO MUCHO APRA PERSONAS QUE ESTUDIAN CARRERAS DE CIENCIAS SOCIALES COMO DERECHO, EDUCACIÓN, FILOSOFÍA, PSICOLOGÍA Y HUMANIDADES

von Rahul P

Aug 20, 2020

One of the best courses out there that really take you out on a mental journey of interesting thoughts and insights. Perfect for beginner like me. The language was not difficult to understand and instructors were phenomenal especially "The Time Traveller" one.

von Sophia A

Nov 09, 2017

Lead me to the beginning of doing philosophy and bring me with how to work out the right way of thinking about things. Share with me the big questions in contemporary philosophy.

I start to love Philosophy after this course! Thank you so much for your efforts!

von Valery M

May 12, 2020

This course was great!

Definitely a good introduction to Philosophy, as they do an excellent job covering many different topics in such a short amount of time. The way concepts and ideas are explained is clear and perfect for beginners. Totally recommend it.

von Peter S

Sep 26, 2020

I found the course very useful, and the instructors were very good to explain the fundamentals in philosophy. I will recommend this course to anybody who have the slightes interest in the field, and I am sure you will be inspired to further studies as I did