Chevron Left
Zurück zu Seeing Through Photographs

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Seeing Through Photographs von The Museum of Modern Art

4.7
2,251 Bewertungen
549 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

Top-Bewertungen

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE

Jun 03, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

Filtern nach:

526 - 538 von 538 Bewertungen für Seeing Through Photographs

von Priscila C d O

Sep 02, 2016

Nice, but I expected more (or something else).

von Neil R

Jun 04, 2016

I would have, if possible, not rated this course. I was not interested in the work of the more recent photographers/photo manipulators. This is a course for the art crowd, not for those interested in the history of photography.

von César C

Feb 27, 2016

falta opciones en español, los textos por ejemplo o los videos subtitulados.

von lillykainz

May 25, 2016

This Course is very interesting because it covers the work from iconic photographers since its invention in 1839 to these days. The "but" I found is : first, the required readings are very extensive, and second , the questions for the quizes are most of them too much specific, and there are so many photographers names that it is quite a challenge to have more than five questions right. Otherwise, it is a captivating MOOC, designed more for Photographers than lay public.

von roxanne w

Jan 09, 2017

I found the course interesting, however I had trouble finding all of the written materials to read. Some were available online, but none were in our library system. I think it would be better if more of the reading was available to people. I also thought that the final assignment instructions were a bit confusing. As it is I never did get to upload the photographs for the final prompt. I asked for help on the forum, but no one responded.

von Gustavo M

Feb 02, 2019

Boring

von Francesca S

Aug 21, 2017

I hoped that it was more professional, It was interesting but non technical.

von Deleted A

Apr 02, 2016

Vastly concerned with the esoteric minutia, ideas, and meanings assigned by others regarding photographs which most often aren't even closely aligned with the original artist's intentions.

A brief few mentions of how photography has changed over time with advances in technology and development of new techniques was mildly interesting, otherwise this course was predominantly meaningless. This course will most likely be of no benefit to people not viewing or creating fine art photography.

von Fricc S

Feb 06, 2017

abstract and uninformative stories about some photographersbut not about the profession of the photographer or the technical side of the work

Thank you for the opportunity to get acquainted with the course

von Yang G

Feb 15, 2016

repetitive content with other MOMA courses (modern art&idea)?? duh, not gonna pay $50 for this. :(

von Researt A V

Mar 11, 2016

http://researt.com/2016/03/11/e-learning-ed-arte-il-caso-moma/

von Mandy R

May 25, 2017

This course sounded so interesting. It was however not well organized and had too great a time commitment attached to it. The readings were too long. I ended up giving up.

von Jim W

May 31, 2016

If what you want is the sort of doctrinaire overview of fine-art photography that you might have learned in a university in the 1970s, this is exactly the course for you!

It's thoroughly saturated with the Museum of Modern Art mindset: the assumptions and interpretations are those touted by MoMA curators, and the photographers are chosen from the MoMA-approved pantheon. (The quiz questions tend to focus on course-content minutiae -- "Which commentator said X about Y?" -- to make sure you've drunk your art-establishment Kool-Aid.)

On the other hand, if you want to examine the diversity of photography through a variety of critical approaches -- Marxist, feminist, queer-theory, post-structural, whatever -- well, they don't allow none of that there here. This is strictly the Photography Gospel According to MoMA, and you either like it or lump it.