Chevron Left
Zurück zu Seeing Through Photographs

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Seeing Through Photographs von The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
Sterne
4,083 Bewertungen
1,071 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us. Given our near-constant engagement with images this course will help you dig into the meaning of pictures and reconsider photography’s role in our visual culture. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at 100 photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, going behind the scenes of the Museum and into artist studios through original films and audio interviews. You will hear a variety of perspectives on the ways photography has been used throughout its 180-year history: as a means of artistic expression, a tool for science and exploration, an instrument of documentation, a way to tell stories and record histories, and a mode of communication and critique. Short texts and readings from MoMA publications provide enhanced context for the works in the course. By enrolling in this course, you’ll join a community of international learners in discussion forums, receive invitations to live and virtual events from our lead instructor Sarah Meister, and gain exclusive access to MoMA resources. UPDATE: We’ve been listening to your feedback! In September 2020, we launched new content in Seeing Through Photographs, including audio interviews with additional contemporary artists from around the world, videos of Sarah introducing key ideas, and almost doubling the number of photographs from the collection. We’ve also added opportunities for you to share and receive feedback on your photographs in the discussion forums....

Top-Bewertungen

AQ

8. März 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

TK

28. Mai 2020

Coursera gives me a platform to explore new skills. I was able to experience education from world-renowned universities without losing out on career opportunities.\n\n- Thaneshwary kirupanantharasa -

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 1,069 Bewertungen für Seeing Through Photographs

von Ev O

1. Juni 2020

Incredibly informative with very helpful videos. Caters to multiple methods of learning and inspires those who take the course. Well fleshed out, the readings are amazing and in depth. They incorporate them into the quizes well and broaden your understanding. The accompanying zoom meetings and artists talks were an even nicer way to get a broader understanding and learn that beyond the course teachings.

von Dee B

27. Juli 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The content was engaging and the videos and interviews really brought it to life and put faces to famous names in contemporary photography. I found the course both accessible and challenging. It was also wonderful to get exposure to work by some photographers I hadn't encountered before and to learn about photography's evolution as an art from from an American perspective.

von Bradley B

29. Juni 2020

This course was extremely challenging. Not only has it opened my eyes "pun intended" to seeing photography in a whole new way, but it has also given me the insight and the knowledge base to critically examine my work and also that of others with the view to developing my analytical eye when it comes to photography. I no longer just see photography but now I see the story and intent behind the mage.

von Teresa I J M

22. Juni 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I have no background in the study of art history or of photography, but found the course engaging and easy to follow. The short videos and interviews were fascinating, and the course brought me into contact with the work of a range of photographers with diverse and inspiring visions of the world. It will certainly change the way I look at photography in the future.

von William K V

22. Sep. 2020

The content Sarah Meister and the MoMA staff put in to this course is amazing. So many resourses, I am sure I will refer back to some of the links, readings, and my notes for some time to come. The course took me back to the energy I felt while studying photography at Arizona State University back in the 80's. Thankful I found the course, well worth the time, a great return on the investment.

von Iris D

9. Juni 2020

I took this course while in lockdown from COVID-19. I expected something superficial, lightly entertaining, a survey of modern photographs that would barely skim the edges. What I found was the polar opposite: an thoroughly engaging, detailed and engrossing analysis of modern photography. I already knew a little about photography but this course added so much to my knowledge. Highly recommended.

von flavio o

25. Mai 2020

Another way to look at photographs, to better understand their techniques, to reflect on the context in which they are represented and again to understand the role of the single photograph when it is part of a collection. An interesting journey from the origins, from the birth of this art to the present day, explained in a simple and captivating way and with lots of ideas and in-depth material.

von Andrea L

22. Mai 2020

It was a really interesting course for the way and the type of topics exposed. I found the vision proposed by many photographers in American history really exciting. The most iconic of all in my opinion was Dorothea Lange with her memorable and immortal work Migrant Mother. I hope that in the future the moms can offer other photography courses.Thank you for the opportunity FondlyAndrea Liguori

von Anthony T

28. Mai 2020

A highly informative course that took me through the history of photography and what the in-depth meanings behind images. It offered me a wide-ranging view of where photography has been and has left me excited to see where it is going. With this newfound appreciation and education in my field, I feel much more confident in what I'm shooting and enlightened by what I'm capable of seeing.

von Francesca S

8. Dez. 2017

Thanks to a great institution like Moma, everyone in the world can have access at a wide range of material and contents about photography. This is a real museum for me: an institution that gives the possibility to everybody to have access to culture, using the most innovative ways to reach the biggest number of people which is possible and to create high quality contents.

THANK YOU MOMA!

von Antonio R

4. Juni 2020

Excelent course, very insightful and inspiring. I learner a lot about documentary photography and the interesting variations it has in daily life. A lot of historic material that helped me further understand the value of documenting events that may not seem important ate the time but surely will mean a lot to people in the future and may give a glimpse of a fragment of history.

von Deleted A

18. März 2020

Started the course. Completed everything except the last exercise and believed that exercise was ridiculous. checked the course a few months later and the last exercise had been changed to include a 2nd option that made sense. Completed that option and believe the 2nd option made the last assignment in line with the rest of the course bringing my star rating from zero to 5.

von Kathy P

11. März 2020

I learned so much about photography that was previously unknown to me, helping me to view not only the artistic aspects of photography but how it reaches out to us on a daily basis in so many ways. The course content was very well put together, with great videos as well as readings. I would highly recommend this course and look forward to taking more great offerings from MoMA.

von Suraya b M Y

4. Juni 2017

I really learnt a lot from this course. They are so generous with the learning materials, it's impossible not to gain great insight into the history of photography. it is rather centred on Western and American photography, but this is from MoMA and they have their speciality. Would be great if they expanded to include the trajectory of photography in Asia and the Middle East.

von Тамеля М Ю

5. Sep. 2019

Отличный курс для расширения кругозора относительно фотографии. Я считаю такие общеобразовательные курсы весьма полезными, поскольку фотография не ограничивается объективом, фотоаппаратом и ракурсом, в фотографии большое значение имеет умение фотографа закладывать и передавать идеи своему зрителю. Поэтому всем людям, серьезно относящимся к фотографии, рекомендую данный курс.

von Eddy F

24. Mai 2020

I found the curriculum encompassing key areas of interest and the content excellent, albeit mostly American. For me personally, I found the reading offered to be taxing, especially when the writing was overly complicated. I was lucky to see the online session between Sarah Meister and Sally Mann on Dorothea Lange. It seemed informal and very easy to watch.. Thank you

von Steve M W

6. Aug. 2019

This is an amazing class that presents an excellent overview of photography and how it relates to the human condition. There are various photographers whose work is examined and critiqued.

As someone who has not done much photography lately, it has rekindled the photography spark within and I am looking forward to further improving my work as a photographer.

von Mike R

13. Apr. 2016

Very in depth, but accessible. Well put together. I learned a TON from this course, and have recommended it to anyone interested in photography. It doesn't deal much with the technical aspects of how to take great photos, but it puts photography into perspective, and relates it to its position in the world, culture, technology, history, and, of course, Art.

von Fiona B

31. Aug. 2020

I learnt a great deal from this course. Each week covered a different aspect of photography or image making which made learning both interesting and stimulating. I found the course thought provoking. Some of the essential reading articles in the reference section at the end of each week are very long and dense so allow time for these before the weekly test.

von Olesia V

12. Feb. 2018

It is a wonderful course for those who want to acquire or to deepen their knowledges in the field of photography, especially in the theoretical part of it, like the history of the art, different artists and their practices, some tendencies in photography from the time it was invented till our days and various ideas that emerge in the contemporary visual art.

von LUIS P C C

4. Mai 2020

Thank you for the opportunity to learn so much about photography. Although I had read various books on art photography history and evolution, it was much easier through MOMA videos and presentations to understand a lot of aspects. It will help me a lot in attending future exhibitions and also in acquiring photobooks and photography. Will surely recommend.

von Hem P

1. Okt. 2017

A proper photographs has power to explain the time, emotions and it can touch lot of souls. I personally learned a lot of things about why humans started photography and how it has evolved over time, also about its importance in modern society. I am thankful for the team who developed this course. I believe it has changed the way I used to see photographs.

von Xinyue ( C

5. Mai 2020

The journey of this course is amazingly good. I got to know that photography is not just an art or in documentary use. It's more of a combination of them both. There are no boundaries in photography. It's a really good way to explore your life and all what's going on around you. And I've got so much inspiration from this journey that I really appreciate.

von Chronis R

2. Juni 2020

A very interesting course that has tough me much more than what I was expecting at start. It's really "deep" with a lot of information and really well made videos. That in one hand increases it's value but in the other is not the average entry level photography course (in case you are looking something like that). But still an amateur can gain a lot.

von Ángel M G

16. Jan. 2020

Muy interesante porque te hace reflexionar sobre la fotografía desde el punto de vista de una institución tan importante como es el MoMa. Lo recomiendo por la cantidad de información y material de consulta difícil de conseguir en otros países. Deseando volver a la ciudad e ir al museo para conocer en primera persona sobre lo aprendido en el curso.