Chevron Left
Zurück zu Seeing Through Photographs

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Seeing Through Photographs von The Museum of Modern Art

4.7
stars
2,308 Bewertungen
568 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

Top-Bewertungen

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE

Jun 03, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

Filtern nach:

451 - 475 von 556 Bewertungen für Seeing Through Photographs

von Rolando G

Feb 22, 2016

NIce

von Michel V

Jun 19, 2016

A

von JussaraNunes P d S

Jun 27, 2016

In my opinion this course is based in strong concepts and gives a good learning opportunity for those who want to understand the role of photography as a important medium. I have learned very much and, more than that, the course inspired me to keep learning by myself about the subject. I would suggest including other important names of photographers, who were/ or are key people in the history of the medium. In some way, I came out of the corse with the impression that American photography was really the focus. Photographers from other nationalities where in focus when related to US someway. I missed that the course would have a broader vision to offer about photographers that were/are relevant in that medium. Cartier-Bresson and Robert Capa for instance were merely mentioned and Helmut Newton (maybe I missed), I didn't see him mentioned.

My other suggestion is related to the quiz. Sometimes, the questions are focusing in aspects not really relevant of the theme of the week. There was a really relevant content and some questions would focus on for example the "Edson Chagas distribute his work himself or not" when his work has an important social impact to be called of the attention of the students. In the week 4, the content related to posed/unposed photography for example was not included in the quiz when it was a key part of the message of the week's theme. So, my point is to review the quiz, including content which is relevant and it might be out, and prepare the questions not necessarily focusing in aspects that are not really adding to the learning of the student.

Please feel free to ask if having interest in discuss my opinion further.

Jussara Nunes Pereira de Souza

jussaranpsouza@outlook.com

von Barbara w

Jan 10, 2017

I would give this course 4 1/2 stars. The course material was very well organized and the examples provided were for the most part very topical. the weight of the peer review at the end of the course is too high. Your peers have roughly the same knowledge as you do when you submit your assignment. They are being asked to assign a value to your submission which is really coarse...as there are only 3 choices 1 a pass, 2 not quite and 3 a fail. Considering you have done all the course work and quizzes up to the end it seems quite arbitrary.

On another note I would like to suggest a project which became a book. All too often today we view photographs in every moment of our lives but we are unaware of the the face of those creators and their iconic works. MoMA's course seems a perfect opportunity to somehow introduce the subject. the book is Behind Photographs - Archiving Photographic Legends by Tim Mantoani and MarkMurphy.

BEHIND PHOTOGRAPHS: ARCHIVING PHOTOGRAPHIC LEGENDS began as the personal quest of photographer Tim Mantoani to document and preserve noted photographers together with their images. "We have come to a point in history where we are losing both photographic recording mediums and iconic photographers,” Mantoani comments. "While many people are familiar with iconic photographs, the general public has no idea of who created them. This book became a means to do that, the photographer and their photograph in one image.”

von Carlos M

Apr 07, 2016

Great course. I have a few suggestions to make it even better:

Pros:

Videos on artists are just amazing, good quality and full of interesting information.

Organization of the modules is wonderful, it makes a lot of sense.

Optional readings are really interesting, it would be difficult for people like me from undeveloped countries, to get that kind of documentation from a prestigious museum.

Doing exams is a good way to refresh all you read on the module.

Expositors are well versed and interesting, kudos on that.

The slides sections are well designed and the format is wonderful to read on either a computer or a cellphone.

Cons:

Better scans, some of them were difficult to read, pdfs should be formatted to fit a single page in full screen. Its almost impossible to read from a cellphone.

Some of the multiple choice questions on the exams were just too much, all due respect, edX continuous examination works in a more efficient way.

I hope MoMA do another interesting course on photography, perhaps specific subjects like landscape and street photography, and all the interesting subjects around them. I'm really glad to have found this, congratulations and thanks for putting this together.

Carlos Mora

ritocs@gmail.com

von Roberto M

Jul 22, 2016

This is a good course on photography from an important institution that will show you and teach you the several aspects and topics of photography, from document to artwork. Made of six modules, each focused on a specific aspect, it provides different media to learn from, like interviews, critics and overviews, both in video and writings. All aspects are of photography are necessarily condensed and sometimes basic but many different links and suggestion on further material is given for those who want to get deeper. If you like photography, if you want to understand it better, or even if you are just curious about this medium which is today in everybody's lives, you will hardly be disappointed by this course. The only negative aspects for me were that sometimes the material was difficult to read and that sometimes subtitles were not very good, but this latter is a problem only if you are not an English motherlanguage. Instrucions on grading and final assignment aren't so easy and well them and this is a possible improvement for the organisation.

von Nicholas K

Mar 09, 2016

This course has been very interesting, however I believe that the mix of genre has been somewhat limited. While I respect the artistic choices and talents of all artists, I feel that the discussions in the videos for week 6 lack substance: picking up litter, photographing it, and arranging it for installation display strikes me as neither aesthetic nor documentary photography, unless the artist's message is in documenting our 'throw-away' society and highlighting the importance of 'recycling' for the benefit of the environment. Such messages did not appear to arise in my opinion. The discussion about architectural preservation was worthwhile but not focused. The interviewer(s) concerned could have assisted by asking relevant questions of the artist(s) for the benefit of an audience with varied photographic interests. My argument here does not involve the earlier weeks relating to the history of photography and the preservation of images for future generations which were excellent.

von Bill D

Jan 28, 2017

A very fine course and an interesting and stimulating learning experience. The materials were great - based as they were on the vast archival resources of MOMA's photographic department. These were deployed to provide a quality course. It was particularly interesting to be introduced to photographers and work with which I was previously unfamilar - 'Evidence' and 'Carnival Strippers' in particular spring to mind. My only quibble was with the forums - which were ok, but compared to other coursera courses seemed to lack the engagement of tutors to pose searching questions and provide quality feedback. For some reason the forums were a little flat and didn't appear to stimulate e a high level of engagement . Other than this quibble, though, a hugely enjoyable and worthwhile course. Thank You!

von Lorenzo B

Feb 28, 2017

I enrolled the course expecting a little more vision on "how to read" a photograph, a composition, although thanks to the Curator I now understood that the context (time, environment, history, …) is important to that purpose.

I appreciated the competence with which she treated each subject and the interesting perspective given to the various modules. It gave me a new viewpoint in what photography really is.

Good videos and interviews made it easier to understand.

Some readings from the required and additional resources were difficult because of the concepts.

I personally found some topics (module 5 and 6) a bit abstract and difficult to follow, but I put myself into it to expand my knowledge and open my mind.

von Brad B

Mar 09, 2017

As a photography professional but not a fine art student, I found this course valuable in understanding the evolution of photography from its role in historic image capture to become a form of social observation and artistic interpretation and statement. Understanding the evolution of the photograph has made me more aware of what artists working in the photographic medium are trying to represent through their works.

The course is not technical. It does not teach how to compose or develop a photograph. Rather, it is a lesson on the history of photography and using photography creatively through alternative and creative interpretation.

von Alan I

Apr 01, 2016

Very thorough, very nice, quite entertaining and interesting.

As someone who has a lot of trouble remembering names I found the quizzes quite hard (I was not pursuing the certificate so I didn't care if I failed) but I understand that since the class and the goals are subjective while the evaluation has to be objective it matters that those questions can be unambiguous.

All in all, I feel like I did learn to look at photographs differently, and to look at the world through photographs. I'll definitely recommend it to my friends!

von Mark P

Mar 20, 2016

Provides a good overview and appreciation of photographic images and their interpretation. The course material is well presented and easy to follow. There is a good range of extended reading provided, plus suggested further reading. The early course 'assessments' are a little bit odd in places, with very specific questions about a particular photography, that, in my opinion, do not add to the overall course experience, but overall its still worth it. If there was a more advanced follow on I'd be prepared to sign up.

von Carla S

Apr 05, 2016

This is a very interesting course that helps you to understand how an image can be read and interpreted. The focus is very much on the veracity of photography and on the decisioning process which goes through the process of taking pictures. I really enjoyed studying for this course. However, I would expect something more in terms of revision of the final assignment. I would expect some feedback also in order to understand if my reasonings were correct.

von Alexia P d F

Apr 11, 2016

Very interesting and rewarding course. It has developed a lot my knowledge concerning photography's history and its different uses. As a french speaker with a good english level, I still need to say some parts were a bit difficult to understand, mostly some of the reading assignments. But don't worry, it's possible to achieve it. You definitely won't regret to have taken this course if you have a (small) interest in photography!

von Johanna A

Apr 26, 2016

This Course does a really great job in opening new perspectives about photography.

Each week stands for its own and yet they combine to give you a great understanding about photographies history, techniques and artistic value.

What I did not like that much, was that pretty much reading was required and that there was so much detailed information about the museums history included. That is why I rate 4/5

von Anastasia K

Dec 17, 2019

Excellent choice of articles and some very inspiring videos. However, it felt like some of the connections were a little tenuous and perhaps the organisation could be improved. Overall, a very enjoyable experience and some very interesting discussions in the main assignments. Almost more interesting to see what other people thought, than responding yourself. Thank you!

von David N

Mar 09, 2016

Well thought out course. I learned a lot.

Some of the supplemental materials were extremely dense with professor-speak. I found my learning ground to a slow crawl from having to look up as many a 5 words in some sentences and I have a Masters Degree.

In reading some of my peers essay submissions it seems that others may have had a similar difficulty with the material.

von Georgina P

Apr 11, 2016

To me, Seeing through Photographs is a travel through time which let you to see how photography changed and improved to become what it is today: not only a science resource, or a way to save historical data but also it's a expressive way to comunicate a point of view. I recomend it to those who are starting to study photography or for once that loves art.

von daniele g

Apr 02, 2016

I found the course very interesting , useful materials to support and unique and original contributions video.

Interviews with authors well made and full of new ideas on different topics.

Excellent multiple choice for testing, but it is really hard to understand the mistakes made or know the correct answer after passing the module.

von ANASTASIIA M

Jul 01, 2019

I had almost no knowledge of the field before starting this course, so it gave me a very good background of what does being a photographer actually mean, how has an understanding of a photograph been changing through years. This course is really nice for the start, I especially loved the topic "People"

von Victoria A

Apr 10, 2016

Thank you again... I really enjoyed the course! Great taster of modern & contemporary photography as well as artists who have made an impact on the craft. That said, I would love to have seen & learned more about the early photographic techniques, processes & images, i.e. Daguerreotypes, etc.

von G

Dec 18, 2016

The course provides an in-depth immersion into the worlds of photography. Beyond the genuine interest of the different courses, the learning process itself is well thought with a good gradation and the ability to deep dive into a theme thanks to the complementary material proposed.

von Anne F

Mar 16, 2016

A very interesting course. It is wonderful that there are many videos of photographers who explain their works themselves. I also liked the reading material: the compulsory material is of the appropriate length, of a good quality and interesting.

von Donata S

Aug 17, 2017

Interesting course even for those who aren't photographers but simply love photos. I've learned a loto about the story of photoraphs and there are a lot of interviews which explain you the different point of view of some important photographers.

von Sameer B

Aug 24, 2016

Learned a lot of about Photography & Art and got direction on what I want to learn further.

I wish the videos were longer. Uploaded text was formatted in to be easier to read online. The pages were multiple horizontally and text was small.