Chevron Left
Zurück zu Seeing Through Photographs

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Seeing Through Photographs von The Museum of Modern Art

4.7
2,274 Bewertungen
554 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

Top-Bewertungen

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE

Jun 03, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

Filtern nach:

501 - 525 von 541 Bewertungen für Seeing Through Photographs

von Mariana X

Jun 13, 2016

Excelente curso. Nos dá uma outra visão sobre a sensibilidade para fotografia.

von Brad B

Mar 09, 2017

As a photography professional but not a fine art student, I found this course valuable in understanding the evolution of photography from its role in historic image capture to become a form of social observation and artistic interpretation and statement. Understanding the evolution of the photograph has made me more aware of what artists working in the photographic medium are trying to represent through their works.

The course is not technical. It does not teach how to compose or develop a photograph. Rather, it is a lesson on the history of photography and using photography creatively through alternative and creative interpretation.

von Taís A M

Jun 22, 2016

Amazing course! Interesting and very useful for who likes photography.

von JussaraNunes P d S

Jun 27, 2016

In my opinion this course is based in strong concepts and gives a good learning opportunity for those who want to understand the role of photography as a important medium. I have learned very much and, more than that, the course inspired me to keep learning by myself about the subject. I would suggest including other important names of photographers, who were/ or are key people in the history of the medium. In some way, I came out of the corse with the impression that American photography was really the focus. Photographers from other nationalities where in focus when related to US someway. I missed that the course would have a broader vision to offer about photographers that were/are relevant in that medium. Cartier-Bresson and Robert Capa for instance were merely mentioned and Helmut Newton (maybe I missed), I didn't see him mentioned.

My other suggestion is related to the quiz. Sometimes, the questions are focusing in aspects not really relevant of the theme of the week. There was a really relevant content and some questions would focus on for example the "Edson Chagas distribute his work himself or not" when his work has an important social impact to be called of the attention of the students. In the week 4, the content related to posed/unposed photography for example was not included in the quiz when it was a key part of the message of the week's theme. So, my point is to review the quiz, including content which is relevant and it might be out, and prepare the questions not necessarily focusing in aspects that are not really adding to the learning of the student.

Please feel free to ask if having interest in discuss my opinion further.

Jussara Nunes Pereira de Souza

jussaranpsouza@outlook.com

von Roberto M

Jul 22, 2016

This is a good course on photography from an important institution that will show you and teach you the several aspects and topics of photography, from document to artwork. Made of six modules, each focused on a specific aspect, it provides different media to learn from, like interviews, critics and overviews, both in video and writings. All aspects are of photography are necessarily condensed and sometimes basic but many different links and suggestion on further material is given for those who want to get deeper. If you like photography, if you want to understand it better, or even if you are just curious about this medium which is today in everybody's lives, you will hardly be disappointed by this course. The only negative aspects for me were that sometimes the material was difficult to read and that sometimes subtitles were not very good, but this latter is a problem only if you are not an English motherlanguage. Instrucions on grading and final assignment aren't so easy and well them and this is a possible improvement for the organisation.

von Natasha R

Apr 13, 2016

I love it!

von Caetano R

Jun 20, 2016

Great Course! A tiny "but": it's all about NYC...haha

von Morten W

Sep 20, 2016

A really amazing course full of excellent resources. Perfect for the inquisitive photographer.

von Barbara w

Jan 10, 2017

I would give this course 4 1/2 stars. The course material was very well organized and the examples provided were for the most part very topical. the weight of the peer review at the end of the course is too high. Your peers have roughly the same knowledge as you do when you submit your assignment. They are being asked to assign a value to your submission which is really coarse...as there are only 3 choices 1 a pass, 2 not quite and 3 a fail. Considering you have done all the course work and quizzes up to the end it seems quite arbitrary.

On another note I would like to suggest a project which became a book. All too often today we view photographs in every moment of our lives but we are unaware of the the face of those creators and their iconic works. MoMA's course seems a perfect opportunity to somehow introduce the subject. the book is Behind Photographs - Archiving Photographic Legends by Tim Mantoani and MarkMurphy.

BEHIND PHOTOGRAPHS: ARCHIVING PHOTOGRAPHIC LEGENDS began as the personal quest of photographer Tim Mantoani to document and preserve noted photographers together with their images. "We have come to a point in history where we are losing both photographic recording mediums and iconic photographers,” Mantoani comments. "While many people are familiar with iconic photographs, the general public has no idea of who created them. This book became a means to do that, the photographer and their photograph in one image.”

von G

Dec 18, 2016

The course provides an in-depth immersion into the worlds of photography. Beyond the genuine interest of the different courses, the learning process itself is well thought with a good gradation and the ability to deep dive into a theme thanks to the complementary material proposed.

von Lorenzo B

Feb 28, 2017

I enrolled the course expecting a little more vision on "how to read" a photograph, a composition, although thanks to the Curator I now understood that the context (time, environment, history, …) is important to that purpose.

I appreciated the competence with which she treated each subject and the interesting perspective given to the various modules. It gave me a new viewpoint in what photography really is.

Good videos and interviews made it easier to understand.

Some readings from the required and additional resources were difficult because of the concepts.

I personally found some topics (module 5 and 6) a bit abstract and difficult to follow, but I put myself into it to expand my knowledge and open my mind.

von Emilio J M V

Jul 19, 2017

unicamente te enseña la vision de los operadores y marco historico me ubiese gustado que explique mas las tecnicas fotograficas

von Iliana A C N

May 17, 2018

es muy chevere

von Matteo G

Nov 16, 2017

Interesting and useful for sure! Thank you Moma :)

von Didier S

Nov 09, 2017

Well documented modules.

von Laura D

May 02, 2018

The course was really good, you really learned a lot. however is a little bit difficult if you don't know english

von Fernando G

Apr 05, 2018

Es un buen abre bocas para investigar la incidencia de la fotografía en el medio de las comunicaciones y el conocimiento.

Gracias a los expositores.

von Pilar P d C

May 22, 2018

anyone who likes photography should follow this course. Entertaining and enlightening.

von Janny B

Apr 18, 2018

Great class to study especially for those anyone who love arts

von Neil S

Mar 06, 2018

Course good but clarity needed on the final assessment as more detail provided at point of submission than on previous pages - as one would not tend to go to submit until work completed this is problematic.

von ANASTASIIA M

Jul 01, 2019

I had almost no knowledge of the field before starting this course, so it gave me a very good background of what does being a photographer actually mean, how has an understanding of a photograph been changing through years. This course is really nice for the start, I especially loved the topic "People"

von Francisco L

Jul 14, 2019

This Course broadened my mind and opened it up to new horizons.

von Isabel P

May 22, 2019

Very good course, a lot of very important topics discussed.

von Bill H

Sep 13, 2019

I found this course to be very informative. The concepts of the course were well taught and I would recommend someone who is just learning about photography to take it.

von Giorgio B

Oct 04, 2019

I had the opportunity through this course to learn and understand a lot about photography and its evolution along the years, since its invention. I will watch photos from now on with a much better understanding and interest.