Chevron Left
Zurück zu Plant Bioinformatics

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Plant Bioinformatics von University of Toronto

4.8
Sterne
110 Bewertungen
26 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

The past 15 years have been exciting ones in plant biology. Hundreds of plant genomes have been sequenced, RNA-seq has enabled transcriptome-wide expression profiling, and a proliferation of "-seq"-based methods has permitted protein-protein and protein-DNA interactions to be determined cheaply and in a high-throughput manner. These data sets in turn allow us to generate hypotheses at the click of a mouse. For instance, knowing where and when a gene is expressed can help us narrow down the phenotypic search space when we don't see a phenotype in a gene mutant under "normal" growth conditions. Coexpression analyses and association networks can provide high-quality candidate genes involved in a biological process of interest. Using Gene Ontology enrichment analysis and pathway visualization tools can help us make sense of our own 'omics experiments and answer the question "what processes/pathways are being perturbed in our mutant of interest?" Structure: each of the 6 week hands-on modules consists of a ~2 minute intro, a ~20 minute theory mini-lecture, a 1.5 hour hands-on lab, an optional ~20 minute lab discussion if experiencing difficulties with lab, and a ~2 minute summary. Tools covered: Module 1: GENOMIC DBs / PRECOMPUTED GENE TREES / PROTEIN TOOLS. Araport, TAIR, Gramene, EnsemblPlants Compara, PLAZA; SUBA4 and Cell eFP Browser, 1001 Genomes Browser Module 2: EXPRESSION TOOLS. eFP Browser / eFP-Seq Browser, Araport, Genevestigator, TravaDB, NCBI Genome Data Viewer for exploring RNA-seq data for many plant species other than Arabidopsis, MPSS database for small RNAs Module 3: COEXPRESSION TOOLS. ATTED II, Expression Angler, AraNet, AtCAST2 Module 4: PROMOTER ANALYSIS. Cistome, Athena, ePlant Module 5: GO ENRICHMENT ANALYSIS AND PATHWAY VIZUALIZATION. AgriGO, AmiGO, Classification SuperViewer, TAIR, g:profiler, AraCyc, MapMan (optional: Plant Reactome) Module 6: NETWORK EXPLORATION. Arabidopsis Interactions Viewer 2, ePlant, TF2Network, Virtual Plant, GeneMANIA [Material updated in June 2019]...

Top-Bewertungen

SK

May 06, 2020

In- depth learning of the various tools and softwares available to study plant bioinformatics. Guidance of the author through the labs is insightful and informative.

QR

Mar 10, 2019

Very good course for mastering bioinformatics skills. Genetics and molecular biology students/professionals should take this course to augment their research skills.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 26 Bewertungen für Plant Bioinformatics

von QASIM R

Mar 10, 2019

Very good course for mastering bioinformatics skills. Genetics and molecular biology students/professionals should take this course to augment their research skills.

von Fabrício d A S

Nov 09, 2019

Professor Provart is very good and the labs taught us in simple and direct instructions how to perform a wide range of analysis regarding Plant Bioinformatics.

von Ahmad H K

Jul 05, 2020

Overall the course is good. However, lecture should be more in detail.

von Danny W

Jan 30, 2019

A really enjoyable and interesting course, well taught. I really enjoyed working through the lab practicals, getting hands on experience with many of the tools used for plant bioinformatics was a good learning exercise. I liked the course presenter too, he was clear and engaging!

von Alvaro L

Jul 05, 2019

El curso es muy interesante y presenta un conjunto de herramientas que son realmente muy útiles a la hora de entender el contexto de las redes de regulación de casi cualquier gen vegetal. Lo recomiendo fuertementes para aquellos que hagan biología molecular vegetal!

von Glenn N

Feb 26, 2020

An excellent class that introduced me to many relevant topics in Plant Bioinformatics. I can now use these skills to not only better understand current research but also apply them to data obtained in the lab where I volunteer.

von DIANEY C C M

Aug 03, 2020

Great course!! I really liked most of the labs and the way the course is organized. Thank you very much to the professor N. Provart and to the University of Toronto

von SHARON K

May 06, 2020

In- depth learning of the various tools and softwares available to study plant bioinformatics. Guidance of the author through the labs is insightful and informative.

von Lerry D P S

May 23, 2020

I am new in this skills. I am excited because I completed this course. I have new experiences. Thank you. I recommend this course for learn plant bioinformatic.

von Hewan D

May 20, 2020

I am able to learn the different tools in transcritpom analysis. I become familair with the next generation sequencing technologies too.

von Lucas A C

Jul 31, 2020

Offers very relevant, intuitive and necesary training for the usage of different bioinformatic tools for plant molecular biology.

von Raghavendra G

Jul 31, 2020

Lectures were short, but very informative and the lab exercise helped to explore multiple bioinformatics tools and database.

von Sunila H

Jul 13, 2020

excellent resource for various plant based tools to be used in functional genomics studies

von Fariha T

Jul 02, 2020

I have really enjoyed this course. Thank to sir Nicolas for his guide.

von nida f a

Jul 04, 2020

a good course to get you familiar with important signalling pathways

von Anushka B T

Jul 07, 2020

A great platform to learn bioinformatics with clear explanations

von Will H

Feb 12, 2019

Great overview of the different tools available for plant bio

von Daniel B

Jun 28, 2020

I loved it. Thank you very much.

von Josué S P

Apr 02, 2019

Really nice Course!

von Dinesh G

Apr 04, 2019

Very Informative.

von Nelson E V V

Jan 16, 2019

Excellent course!

von Amir G S

Oct 22, 2019

excelent

von Nammi S K

Jun 16, 2020

Good

von Muhammad N

Nov 02, 2019

I have learnt a lot from this course work, especially the LAB section of this course is the most interesting thing to do and the quiz is also interesting because it engages the practical with you theoretical knowledge. But one thing I want to say about this course is that some web links given in this course are not accessible to me. There might be a problem with my browser or internet connection, I tried several times opening Athena but I could not open the site. Please fix this problem if this is the weblink issue, overall this course was great. Suggestion to improve the learning from this course is this course must contain a section on how to make a hypothesis regarding insilico study of genes.

von SANKALAN D

May 02, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the Plant Bioinformatics Course. I would also like to thank, Course Instructor, Nicholas Provart, for making such important course, this will help lot of aspiring plant biologists.