Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows von Tel Aviv University

4.8
Sterne
1,604 Bewertungen
470 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

Top-Bewertungen

DS

14. Aug. 2021

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

RV

12. Dez. 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 471 Bewertungen für Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

von Rinsha S

25. Okt. 2020

Helpfull and well clarification about each process is explained .make me more interested in studying about plants🌿🌿

von ANJU C

4. Aug. 2020

This is one of the best course. The topic is very simple and no need worry about it. The presentation was superb....

von Cotek T

30. Apr. 2020

One of the best courses I have ever undertaken. The knowledge and teaching style of prof. Chamovitz is awesome.

Thanks

von Debasish P

6. Mai 2018

I am very happy to complete this course. I am looking for more courses from Professor Dr. Daneil Chamovitz in future.

von TEY W H

9. Aug. 2017

Great Lecturer and good content! plus it is really fun to hear and watch the videos. Thank you for making this course

von Jo I M

15. Dez. 2021

It was very enlightning and didactic. Some of the videos could do with an update, but all in all a great experience.

von Danise G R

9. Nov. 2020

I've acquired great knowledge about plants! Thank you so much for a wonderful priviledge! you have great instructor!

von mariaschlatter@yahoo.co.uk

24. Mai 2021

Great, enthusiastically and clearly presented course! So many amazing aha moments and takeaways! Really enjoyed it!

von Lucero H S

8. Nov. 2017

This is a great course! I loved it, in the final video I cried, tears of happiness, obviously!! Daniel is the best!

von janine r w

19. Juni 2020

A very good course, love the videos and way the information is explained, I have learnt so much. thank you. Janine

von Sofia S

15. Apr. 2022

REALLY worth taking. c​ourse very well structured, content is fascinating, prof is efficient and entertaining : )

von Leticia X C R

7. Juni 2020

I love this course. I learned a lot and it just opened my curiosity on plants even more. The lecturer is amazing.

von HJ K

30. Juli 2020

there was some question asking unlearned contents. But except that, perfect for me. be sure, It is for beginner.

von Lino S

4. Jan. 2018

Very interesting, thought provoking and excellently delivered. Gives you the basic concepts to go learning more!

von laura l

28. Dez. 2021

The information is very complex, but here it's been broken down into smaller bites to make it easier to grasp.

von TONG X

31. Mai 2017

An interesting and engaging course :) I have learnt a few fun facts about plants after completing this course.

von Oren S

8. Nov. 2016

Will never look at plants the same again.

Fascinating course, great lecturer, easily understood, great delivery

von Juan S H

10. März 2019

Este curso es muy bueno, ayudan a entender de manera muy didáctica los mecanismos sensoriales de las plantas.

von Brita F

18. Feb. 2018

An excellent course!!! It is well presented and provides a detailed insight into the sensory world of plants.

von Lee C Q

4. Okt. 2021

Very interesting. This course give me a complete different view about how the plants sense its environment.

von Dilshan J

25. Juli 2020

Great course and interesting. This helps to understand the plants and nature in different way. Thank you..!

von Ricardo A L L

15. Okt. 2021

This course help me to understood the plants fisiology and how they are similar to humans in basic senses.

von Anushka A

4. Juli 2020

Amazing course and great explanation. This course has enabled me to look at plants in a whole new light.

von Maria A D E

28. Okt. 2016

De una forma didáctica y amena enseñan principios básico de fisiología vegetal. Este curso es excelente.

von Linh V H

8. Feb. 2020

I really want to suggest this course to those who are keen on botany, agriculture and plant physiology.