Chevron Left
Zurück zu Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows von Tel Aviv University

4.8
Sterne
1,633 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

Top-Bewertungen

DS

14. Aug. 2021

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

RV

12. Dez. 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

Filtern nach:

226 - 250 von 478 Bewertungen für Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows

von Linh V H

8. Feb. 2020

I really want to suggest this course to those who are keen on botany, agriculture and plant physiology.

von Elena E

27. Mai 2020

Great course, great instructor! Informative and entertaining! (Yes, the course AND the instructor :) )

von Leonardo C d S

6. Mai 2020

Gostei bastante do curso, muito didático e envolvente ! Recomendo aos apaixonados pelo mundo vegetal !

von Calvin B

6. Feb. 2021

Loved the knowledge learned in class along with having a wonderful professor to elegantly teach us :D

von Thaili F S B

24. Aug. 2020

¨Professor Camovitz is so fun, he explains the things so simple, I discovered a lot with this course.

von David E C

11. Apr. 2018

It is a course with an interesting content. You think and learn about many natural process of plants.

von Roberto C S P

23. Juli 2020

Muy interesante, lo mas importante son sus proyectos de investigación que presento, sus laboratorios

von Madelaine K

3. Okt. 2018

Great way to be introduced to plants. Love the progression through the different senses of a plant.

von Adrián D

8. Juli 2018

Excellent course, didactive, easy to follow and not extenuating. Looking forward to the next part!

von Barath V

14. Aug. 2020

Excellent course. Especially the way professor Daniel Chamovitz handled this course was too good.

von Chimfeka A O

4. Aug. 2020

The best simplification yet most effecient and fun way of virtually teaching plant biology, ever.

von Sharavanakkumar S

18. Mai 2020

It is very interesting, I like the way of explaining concepts by using analogy by the instructor.

von Bahaar H

1. Dez. 2019

I loved the course and the wonderful and easy way it was explained. The professor was excellent.

von Roberto C C A

2. Dez. 2020

Excelente curso, el encargado es muy bueno y la información presentada muy clara e interesante.

von Yu-Ping, M

5. Jan. 2018

Very interesting. Simple words with vivid description let me understand the concept easily. : )

von JOAN V S

19. Mai 2022

G​reat course. I was surprised how interesting the world of plants happens to be. Recommended.

von Vijay A

11. Okt. 2017

lecture was very good. easy to understand. covered all aspects. videos and slides very clear.

von Sidney N

21. Feb. 2022

I learned so much! Chamovitz is an engaging and knowledgeable teacher. Will be taking Part 2

von Sandra G

14. März 2021

Great course, interesting material and the prof was excellent. Highly recommend this course.

von amoulay

27. Nov. 2020

Excellent course. Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic instructor. Learned a lot! Thank you.

von Munna

4. Sep. 2020

Truly helped me to find my area of interest. It will really construct the future enthusiasm.

von Thomas S

15. Juni 2020

Great course. So much information to learn. Delivered in a concise, interesting and fun way.

von Priscila F d S

14. Aug. 2017

I loved the course! I never thought studying about plants was so intriguing and fascinating.

von Patel S G

30. Juli 2020

I m really learning with enjoyment...its a very good explanation by sir... Thank you sir..

von Michalis S

12. Feb. 2021

It was fun learning about plant-life throught simply explanations, thanks prof. Chamovitz.