Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
1,361 Bewertungen
412 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top-Bewertungen

AA

18. Apr. 2020

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

NM

26. Juli 2020

I have never studied Philosophy before at school or on my own, but Professor Meyer made it very clear, interesting and fascinating for me to understand. Following this course has been a pleasure!

Filtern nach:

151 - 175 von 407 Bewertungen für Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

von Robert C C

1. Apr. 2019

Though I don't like doing peer-reviews or peer-reviewed assignments, overall this was an interesting course. Thank you.

von Daniel B

4. Mai 2021

Me encantó la forma en la que se presenta el curso y la forma de hacer la última tarea también. Lo recomiendo al 100 %

von David O

16. März 2016

Very good and well presented course. Interesting concepts and materials. I thoroughly enjoyed the learning experience.

von Caroline S

20. März 2021

Very in-depth, while still being concise and easy to understand. Susan Meyer is a great, engaging professor as well.

von Engr H S

1. Juli 2020

I am very happy about that course so this is first attempt for this kind of university specially from USA, so Cheers

von Wong W W

16. Mai 2020

Could add more discussions of modern critics (such as the ones from Kierkegaard) on Platonic writings on Socrates.

von Stefanos M

17. Jan. 2021

Great lecturer with great background for stuff I should be knowing! I will definitely be back in the next course!

von Sylvia H K

20. Juni 2016

Very fine lectures on Plato and the visions of those philosophers that went before him. I've learned a lot of it.

von Astra A K

20. Juni 2016

it was absolutely DELICIOUS!!!!! This was a very well organized, well conceived course, i thoroughly enjoyed it!

von Lisa ( C

12. Feb. 2018

Excellent course. Broken into logical sections with great videos and tests to check your knowledge. Thank you!

von Caroline S d A

22. Mai 2020

It was better than I expected. I've learned so much in these weeks and in a very simple way. Thanks Coursera!

von Rabeet T

9. Juli 2020

Great Explanations! This course really helped me to start reading the original works of ancient philosophers

von Patrick K

9. Juni 2017

Very enjoyable overview of PreSocratic thought and how it pertains to Plato's own works. Highly recommended!

von Diane N

6. März 2016

Great course for the introduction of Socrates and all of the other great Philosophers, I enjoyed this class.

von Taisa V

20. Feb. 2022

G​reat course. Not very long and covers all the important details. I particularly liked the last assigment.

von Beatriz m d

14. Juli 2021

Ha sido un curso excelente.No puedo hacer los pares por que no hablo inglés,todo el curso está completado.

von Steven B

20. Juli 2020

Interesting, but not too involved. One can get through the weeks material in a reasonable amount of time.

von Chew R

14. Jan. 2019

Delivery of course is very clear and concise and had a very enjoyable and insightful learning experience.

von Hila J

26. Juli 2021

had so much fun learning with the professor and I feel like I've learned a lot. Great job and thank you!

von Benson H

2. Aug. 2018

Beautifully organized, crystal clear, this is a phenomenal introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato.

von Andrea V

18. Dez. 2017

Excelente curso. Solo queda agregar la traducción en español y poder bajar las lecciones en pdf o html.

von Ferlin P

19. Feb. 2016

This course does a great job at supplementing my University studies. Really high quality intro content.

von Megan R

13. Apr. 2020

A great introduction of ancient philosophies. I like the instructor's explanations and lecture style.

von José A G R

15. Sep. 2017

very helpfull and atractive course, lots of information and access to material to help understand it.

von Alejandra T

19. Mai 2020

Me encanto ya que comprendí cada tema y la manera de enseñanza es muy entendible para muchos gracias