Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
820 Bewertungen
209 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top-Bewertungen

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

Filtern nach:

26 - 50 of 203 Reviews for Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

von Camilo A G R

Feb 28, 2016

The course give us an excellent understanding of Ancient philosophers's thoughts with clear explanations and all this is made with an extraodinary order and conciseness.

von Craig Z

Sep 07, 2016

I found this course absolutely captivating. I have always though Philosophy to be a subject that was impossible to study, as I had no idea where to start. Susan Sauvé Meyer does a great job of setting the scene for further study and is conveys her enthusiasm for the subject as well as she conveys the subject itself.

I'd recommend this to anyone and everyone.

von Lisa ( C

Feb 12, 2018

Excellent course. Broken into logical sections with great videos and tests to check your knowledge. Thank you!

von Tracy P

May 14, 2016

An excellent course introducing Platonic philosophy along with the ideas of his predecessors, such as Socrates. Well-organized and well presented.

von 李晨竞

Mar 27, 2016

讲得很好,特别能启发思考~

von Nicholas K

Mar 15, 2016

Enjoyed week 1, looking forward to week 2. Believe my review will be five stars by the end of the course. Am interested in taking more MOOC like this in philosophy.

Enjoyed week 2, looking forward to week 3 and starting Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors. I like the lecture style and can tell Susan really enjoys teaching the subject.

Enjoyed week 3, looking forward to week 4. So far, Plato and Socrates make much more sense to me than Aristotle but I have only done week 1 of Ari. Perhaps Ari mellows a bit as he gets older, lets hope so. ~(B-)

Just finished week 4, great course. Only sorry that I could't give it six stars. I read that Socrates was married to a bit of a dragon who kicked him out of the house every day, either to get a 'real' job or so he wouldn't get under her feet while she was doing the housework. So, Philosophy could have started as an alternative to drink or hanging 'round the bookies all day? Mind you, the drink still got to him in the end. No wonder his decision to go for the Hemlock was taken so quickly. Wonder why Socrates didn't ask other Athenians why they got married? If he had all other philosophers since may have been singles with no advice for the rest of humanity on the 'what, why, when, who, where, when, and how' of the logic of the process. Perhaps Aristotle may have the answer? See you all on the next stage down the road to discovering the 'Meaning of Life'. T.T.F.N.

von JOHN Q

Feb 18, 2016

Interesting, well taught, and enjoyable course!

von Francisco J J

Apr 10, 2016

Outstanding course!

von Anna,Androvitsanea

Aug 11, 2016

An excellent introduction to the world of Plato and its origins.

von Rebecca R

Apr 18, 2016

The videos were great! The professor was engaging and the content was thought-provoking. The quiz questions throughout the videos were also good to make sure you were capturing the main points. I am currently working on the second part of this course. I would love to see some additional philosophy courses by this professor. Maybe even a specialization... :)

von John V T

Jun 03, 2017

Outstanding Course

von mansurni a

Mar 16, 2016

awesome course

from this course i understand deeper about philosophy of greece

von Mary S

Jun 14, 2017

Fascinating and explained very clearly. The professor is excellent.

von Arijit D

Apr 02, 2016

Excellent course, a brief survey of pre-Socratic philosophy.

von John D

Mar 11, 2016

The best Coursera course I've taken thus far. Dr. Meyer is an excellent lecturer and the reading selections are excellent.

von Samir M

Aug 03, 2016

Great!

von Shikha D

Jul 06, 2017

Awesome course! Highly recommended.

von ELISABETH S

May 08, 2016

more than great!!!

von Rense L

Mar 30, 2016

Excellent professor, good presentation. Some quizzes are too short, really ...

von Samuel F S

May 12, 2018

Excellent instructor!

von Rafael M

Apr 07, 2017

The course is simply amazing! I have learned so much about the real philosophy and how to put it to use! I surely recommend it. The professor is very knowledgable that makes it easy for us to see philosophy as a real subject.

von Astra A K

Jun 20, 2016

it was absolutely DELICIOUS!!!!! This was a very well organized, well conceived course, i thoroughly enjoyed it!

von David O

Mar 16, 2016

Very good and well presented course. Interesting concepts and materials. I thoroughly enjoyed the learning experience.

von Phoebe

Feb 28, 2017

Good course!

von pooyan

Jan 01, 2018

I'm listened to this course with minimal background in philosophy. Susan is a very organized lecturer. Super cohesive material, all parts of the speech connect together at the end and create the big picture for the audience.