Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors von University of Pennsylvania

4.7
821 Bewertungen
210 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top-Bewertungen

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

YY

Apr 02, 2019

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

Filtern nach:

76 - 100 von 203 Bewertungen für Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

von Greg V

Apr 26, 2016

amazing course , really enjoying this !

von Thomas O

Nov 02, 2016

Quick overview, but very interesting course.

von Kathy C U

Jan 01, 2018

This course is very informative and it is my first time applying this course.

von Sergio A C

Nov 20, 2016

good

von François S

Aug 25, 2017

Good, interesting introduction to the cosmology and ethics of Plato and presocratic thinkers. The reading material is good and the lectures are pleasant and interesting!

von Pritha R

Jul 09, 2017

A very comprehensive and interactive course which is not only informative but also ensures that you question what you learn and encourages one to muse over the course content. I am thoroughly enjoying the course. The course instructor makes the material concise,easy to understand and interesting.

von Bill D

Jun 30, 2018

Great Course, wonderful professor—highly recommend and I will be jumping on the second part of the this course soonest. Thank you for putting this togehter,.

von Abdulmalik M M

Jul 09, 2016

Good. I've learned a lot. Thank you.

von Joost v H

Feb 27, 2017

Very interesting course. The short video's are very well put together, complement the texts and become slightly more difficult overtime which allows to 'grow' into the course. I studied Latin and Greek during high school with a large focus on the translations rather than the underlying philosophy. Still, that helps me quite a bit in understanding (recollecting ;-) ) the translations.

von Andy T

Oct 26, 2017

This is my first study of an Arts subject since 1972. I studied sciences at school and medicine for a career. Now nearly retired I was looking for something different and I enjoyed the new experience. The video lectures were clear and well paced. It was helpful to be able to watch a bit, stop the video, and then read the transcript when the message was complicated. I found writing my first essay for more than 40 years a bit scary, but enjoyed it once I got started. I'd recommend this course as a gentle introduction to early Greek Philosophy.

von Alberto H

Mar 17, 2016

Highly recommended. This course was a great guide to understand to pre socratic philosophers. Professor Susan Sauvé Meyer is very clear in her explanations. Thanks a lot. I enjoy the course.

von Warley R

Oct 30, 2016

Great course, excellent curriculum and teaching method.

von Gustavo A G A

May 16, 2017

Buena maestra, gran contenido y muy bien explicado.

von Lydia S

Feb 24, 2017

Great.

von Kate G

Sep 25, 2017

This course was written wonderfully, the lectures are clear & detailed - the curriculum is cohesive, sensible, and useful. Really great course & teacher.

von Andrea V

Dec 18, 2017

Excelente curso. Solo queda agregar la traducción en español y poder bajar las lecciones en pdf o html.

von Oscar I D C

Jan 18, 2018

Beautiful course. It made me inquire about things like I never did before. I enjoyed It very much.

von Vinícius S S

Apr 24, 2018

Is Great, step by step i learn more and more without this course.

von Irakli P

Oct 31, 2016

Informative and well-presented. Even after having prior knowledge of the topic I found the lectures interesting to follow.

von Edwin K

Jul 13, 2016

Good introductory course.

von David Y

Jun 03, 2017

Insightful and informative course. Prof Meyer has managed to break down difficult concepts into simple, bite-sized knowledge for any lay person to understand effectively.

von Ed C

Nov 21, 2017

This course has broadened my knowledge in Philosophy and I have enjoyed studying it. It was interesting, intriguing and kept me motivated throughout. For my Cambridge application, this course has broadened my philosophical knowledge which shows my super curricular p

von Paul L

Feb 16, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of this course and also Plato and his Predecessors! They have inspired me to try & attain funding to study Philosophy at a higher academic level! Many thanks to the Professor whose teaching was both concise and enjoyable. Cheers, Paul

von Kormpakis K

Jun 28, 2016

Very interesting and helpful subject.

von 许俊炜

Jul 30, 2016

好课!爽!