Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors von University of Pennsylvania

4.7
821 Bewertungen
210 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top-Bewertungen

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

YY

Apr 02, 2019

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

Filtern nach:

101 - 125 von 203 Bewertungen für Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

von Gustavo A G A

May 16, 2017

Buena maestra, gran contenido y muy bien explicado.

von Warley R

Oct 30, 2016

Great course, excellent curriculum and teaching method.

von Ruben N S

Mar 14, 2016

I didn't have philosophy at school, this was my first serious contact with it, and I was amazed! Loved it from the first to the last lesson

von Thomas O

Nov 02, 2016

Quick overview, but very interesting course.

von David F

Oct 23, 2017

Excellent introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato. My only regret is that Part 2 is not a further study of the Pre-Socratics and Plato, rather than an introduction to Aristotle. But thank you for this finely articulated introduction.

von George J B

May 15, 2016

Excellent delivery of rather interesting material!

von Ola K

Oct 22, 2017

This is the foundation to most, if not all, modern thinking.

von Samir M

Aug 03, 2016

Great!

von ELISABETH S

May 08, 2016

more than great!!!

von Yuval S

Oct 22, 2016

Great.

von christophe v d

Apr 02, 2016

excellent !

von Paccelli J M Z

May 04, 2017

Excellent!

von cecilia l

Jan 18, 2017

Great course. I enjoyed it very much. Thanks.

von John V T

Jun 03, 2017

Outstanding Course

von Mary S

Jun 14, 2017

Fascinating and explained very clearly. The professor is excellent.

von JCarlos P

Nov 20, 2017

What an elegant and valuable introduction to the subject matter ! Prof Meyer speech's flow is naturally captivating which helps to deliver the content a lot more effectively. I appreciated it ! Thx to all.

best rgds,

von Diane N

Mar 06, 2016

Great course for the introduction of Socrates and all of the other great Philosophers, I enjoyed this class.

von Nazire C

Apr 06, 2017

I LOVED THIS COURSE!

I've always been interested in philosophy and took a few courses in college. That's was over 10 years and I needed a lot of review and refreshers.

I am so glad I took this course. The reading material is easy to access and could be easily read on the monitor or by print.

The videos were phenomenal. Well organized, the presentation of the videos were excellent and short. Most of the videos are about 7-10 minutes with the exception of the last unit. The instructor has a clear voice and she talks slowly, so it's a lot like being in a class. The videos are short so I was constantly motivated to get through one more video, but you will be doing a lot of pausing, thinking, reviewing and writing important information down. The info is given in bite sizes, so it is easy to absorb.

Quizzes were a bit tough, so they require a review of the material before taking them. But overall, I learned so much, and filled in so many gaps that I had forgotten along the way. I would recommend this course to everyone.

von Ferlin P

Feb 19, 2016

This course does a great job at supplementing my University studies. Really high quality intro content.

von Sergey A

May 13, 2018

Short but well thought and coincide class for Plato and presocratics philosophy.

von Irakli P

Oct 31, 2016

Informative and well-presented. Even after having prior knowledge of the topic I found the lectures interesting to follow.

von David Y

Jun 03, 2017

Insightful and informative course. Prof Meyer has managed to break down difficult concepts into simple, bite-sized knowledge for any lay person to understand effectively.

von Edwin K

Jul 13, 2016

Good introductory course.

von Ed C

Nov 21, 2017

This course has broadened my knowledge in Philosophy and I have enjoyed studying it. It was interesting, intriguing and kept me motivated throughout. For my Cambridge application, this course has broadened my philosophical knowledge which shows my super curricular p

von Paul L

Feb 16, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of this course and also Plato and his Predecessors! They have inspired me to try & attain funding to study Philosophy at a higher academic level! Many thanks to the Professor whose teaching was both concise and enjoyable. Cheers, Paul