Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
820 Bewertungen
209 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top-Bewertungen

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

YY

Apr 02, 2019

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 of 202 Reviews for Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

von Jose A G R

Sep 16, 2017

very helpfull and atractive course, lots of information and access to material to help understand it.

von Laís L

Jan 19, 2017

Excelente!

von jennifer c

Feb 11, 2017

Engaging and well presented.

von Kathy C U

Jan 01, 2018

This course is very informative and it is my first time applying this course.

von François S

Aug 25, 2017

Good, interesting introduction to the cosmology and ethics of Plato and presocratic thinkers. The reading material is good and the lectures are pleasant and interesting!

von Vinícius S S

Apr 24, 2018

Is Great, step by step i learn more and more without this course.

von Sumantra G

Nov 28, 2016

It's an awesome course

von Akhilesh S

Mar 12, 2018

If you love Philosophy and antiquity, this is the course for you. It lays down a foundation of Western philosophy, parts of which are still so relevant in the society.

von Kenny S

Feb 03, 2018

Awesome Instructor added to my knowledge in Philosophy.Thank you.

von Dave

Feb 19, 2018

Great course led by an impassioned professor. Looking forward to part two!

von Kormpakis K

Jun 28, 2016

Very interesting and helpful subject.

von 许俊炜

Jul 30, 2016

好课!爽!

von Charles E M

May 08, 2018

The Professor is quite interesting and this is the second course I have taken under her lead

von Abubakar D

Jun 09, 2017

Excellent course!

von hezil k

Sep 28, 2017

wow i have enjoyed every single moment with the teacher , she was incredibly awesome and she had a way of explaining that made me really appreciating the whole topic and the course ♥

von Carlos B

Feb 10, 2018

A unique and wonderful opportunity to learn about the basis of philosophical inquiry. Thanks for sharing your knowledge and talent teacher Susan.

von Dimitris P

Sep 01, 2016

An excellent introductory course to Plato. Gave me great insights to his works. Thank you!

von Felipe P d C R

Jun 09, 2016

Muito Bom o curso!

von Jary v B

Mar 07, 2016

Excellent teacher. Great introduction into philosophy.

von Joanna C

Oct 18, 2017

Well paced, interesting course

von Aimi I

May 09, 2016

very useful and helpful course. I know more about philosophy since taking this course, which is the objective. therefore it is successful.

von Susan F

Aug 17, 2017

I found this course excellent, the lectures were interesting and inspiring and very helpful to get into the philosophy. The reading was challenging and thought provoking. The quizzes were very good and necessary in helping to absorb the knowledge. Long ago when I was a college student I studied languages, literature and history. I have had some very good professors and professor Mayer lives up to the excellence one hopes for in a course. Thank you. Sincerely, Susan Farranto

von Vangel V

Jul 10, 2018

The lectures were excellent and very clear. The material was familiar to me but still very interesting. I could not be happier with the instructor's demeanour and competence. My only issue was with some of the questions in the quizzes. Being impatient, it was easy to be misdirected into thinking that the question was about one thing when it was about another. That is not a critique of the course because the problem was with my somewhat cavalier approach. Just keep in mind that if you take the course to pay as much attention as possible and to read every word and punctuation mark as it was intended.

von Luiz C M D

Apr 15, 2019

Um curso introdutório ao tema e as problemáticas da filosofia antiga. Recomendo para aqueles que nunca tiveram contato com o assunto e também para aqueles que querem revisar o tema. A metodologia do curso é super didática, o uso das citações e indicações de bibliografia são o forte do curso. Enfim, recomendo!

von Antonia T B

Apr 15, 2019

This course is fascinating. The professor's lectures are very clear and the course is very well structured. It could be longer and it could go deeper, but still is a great course. Compulsory for all philosophy lovers. Thanks & greetings from Spain / Antonia