Chevron Left
Zurück zu Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors von University of Pennsylvania

4.7
854 Bewertungen
222 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

Top-Bewertungen

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

Filtern nach:

126 - 150 von 216 Bewertungen für Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors

von Garry S

May 01, 2019

Fantastic course. Great content. Just what I was looking for!

von Nancy M

Apr 18, 2019

outstanding

von Prashant S S

May 03, 2019

Very nice and informative course

von James D R

Jun 14, 2019

I really liked how this course provided me with plenty of reading and then lectures that supported that reading. It helped to make quite abstract ideas as easy to grasp as possible. It really did what I wanted, which was to provide me with a basic understanding of ancient philosophy.

von Matías I V N

Jun 29, 2019

good choise

von Germán K

May 17, 2019

Una muy buena experiencia para ordenar los conocimientos y profundizar las temáticas con la orientación de la profesora Susan Sauvé Meyer.

von Wim K

May 31, 2019

The course is well organised and presented in a pleasant and sober way. I especially liked the reconstructions of the arguments in the text. I enjoyed the written test at the end with the option of writing a variation of the dialogue.

I think reading the texts yourself (obviously in translation) brings a lot of value added. I tried to do it before listening to the lectures. That got more and more difficult, as actually reading the texts was too much and the texts also got gradually a bit more difficult to read. The indicated time for reading (usually 10 minutes) is not even close to correct.

von Ademilton J D O

Jul 16, 2019

Para mim foi muito bom pois me deu oportunidade de estudar essa ciencia da qual eu amo muito que é a Filosofia muito obrigado e quando eu estiver com tempo quero pode fazer outros.

von Valquiria C d s

Jul 26, 2019

The course is wonderful. It brought me previously imperceptible visions. I recognized understandings that were previously intuitive and compilation, but now there is logic, learning and knowledg.

Philosophy is the path of my soul and the reason of my existence

von Emanuela Z

Aug 03, 2019

It was very instructive to study Greek philosophy starting from documents.

The lessons were clear and effective, I will continue with the next course

Thank you for the study opportunity you are giving

von David M

Aug 06, 2019

This course provided an excellent introduction to the world of ancient philosophy. Not only has it taught me specific philosophical ideas, but it has also helped me develop crucial critical thinking skills that will greatly benefit my career.

von Saikat B

Aug 08, 2019

Clear and comprehensive.

von Yifei W

Aug 18, 2019

Really love this course! Very comprehensive coverage of Plato's theories and significant works. :)

von Muna A

Apr 23, 2019

Thanks

von Jean B C

Mar 15, 2016

Excellent course and really useful!

von Ed C

Nov 21, 2017

This course has broadened my knowledge in Philosophy and I have enjoyed studying it. It was interesting, intriguing and kept me motivated throughout. For my Cambridge application, this course has broadened my philosophical knowledge which shows my super curricular p

von Kacper G

Sep 28, 2019

Excellent course

von Talha R

Sep 09, 2019

Amazing course, enlightening.

von Jacob

Oct 25, 2019

Very well spoken outline of Greek philosophy. Thanks.

von Paul A A

Sep 15, 2019

Well done. A little superficial, but a great start.

von Leo B

Aug 29, 2019

A clear and thorough introduction by Susan Meyer. I have enough information as a result to know how little information I have, and look forward to taking Part II!

von Cees O

Dec 06, 2019

I was impressed by the quality of the teachings and especially the instructor: excellent!!

von Fiona w

Nov 04, 2019

I liked everything but the maths parts!

von Charlotta S R

Jun 10, 2016

Loved it!