Chevron Left
Zurück zu Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
1,510 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Top-Bewertungen

ES

4. Mai 2022

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

SM

11. Juni 2020

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

Filtern nach:

601 - 615 von 615 Bewertungen für Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

von Elizabeth D

1. Aug. 2016

The annotations of the different poems were great and taught me a lot about different poetic elements, but the lectures were unbearably corny with all of the different sound effects and bits. I found myself reading the transcripts because I could not watch the videos without feeling like I was being talked down to or that the instructor didn't take the course seriously.

von Samantha A

9. Sep. 2015

Not as much creative flexibility as I thought there would be. Writing to prompts left very little room to create poetry that felt like my own. Good short course (knocked it out in a couple of days) for revising/learning techniques.

von Stefan W

6. Sep. 2020

This course seems to be aimed at absolute beginners. If you don't know what a rhyme is, this "workshop" is definitively worth your time. Else, there may be better investments.

von Hari K D V

28. Okt. 2017

there's got to be more poems, more reviews. 1 poem to be reviewed makes the brilliant course flippant

von Jennifer F

5. Sep. 2020

ok. some tools are missing, like a resource page referred to by the instructor.

von Liz A

21. Mai 2018

A stimulating course. Great online interaction with tutors. Some great links.

von Priyanka D

5. Juli 2021

L​earnt a lot about writing poetry. Realised there's still a lot yet to learn

von Garrison C G

1. Sep. 2017

The course could have used more content. That is, it is too brief.

von Tonya

21. Sep. 2015

Elementary and entertaining with some unique and creative prompts.

von Lama B

7. Mai 2020

It was a great course, however it was very short and brief.

von Keegan O

20. Juli 2020

This course is a brief overview of poetry. For that it is fine. The lessons are extremely brief and it takes very little time to get through this course. The problem with taking a workshop online and in this setting is that you rarely get valuable feedback as a large percentage of your classmates will have very little to say about your poem. Many take an approach of I need to do these two peer workshops to get a grade and breeze right through it. Another negative I have with the course is it never allows you to workshop a poem that is not derived from a prompt in a lesson and many of these prompts are extremely forced. If you are someone who is already writing poems I doubt this is the course for you. My advice is to seek out people in the discussion forum who seem to know what they're talking about and start a correspondence with them. You will get better feedback and can workshop things outside of silly prompts. I apologize if this came off as pretentious. I spent at least 30 minutes with every poem I was asked to workshop. 2 out of 3 submissions my workshop feedback was one sentence long. I got one valuable piece of advice from 3 workshops.

von Michael N

11. Juni 2020

While the material has been interesting, I paid to take this course in large part for what I assumed would be helpful feedback and critique, to help me improve. I submitted my first peer assignment 6 days ago, and I've not received even one critique/feedback. If things change as I continue this course, I'll revise my rating. But at the moment, I'm not satisfied in the least. If none of my fellow students reviews my work, how about one of the staff mentors? Hello? Is anyone even out there?

von Maria L

11. Apr. 2020

This 'course' is so diluted and threadbare it's unbearable. Add to that the misplaced gimmicks and 'humour' in the videos and you soon feel you are wasting your time. I wasn't expecting anything advanced, but this is not even basic. Might be OK for a 5 y.o. though. For adults, I would recommend a good book on poetry writing. Or, even better, on prosody. There are some excellent ones to choose from.

von David M C

18. Apr. 2021

Decided I wasn't interested so tried to unenroll but can't.

von Jeffrey S

18. Jan. 2020

Obnoxious instructor.