Chevron Left
Zurück zu Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
1,506 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Top-Bewertungen

ES

4. Mai 2022

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

SM

11. Juni 2020

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

Filtern nach:

276 - 300 von 614 Bewertungen für Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

von Luiza B

22. Juni 2020

The instructor makes the course flow easily and in a fun and engaging way. I discovered abilities I did not dream I had. Very nice experience.

von Deleted A

29. Apr. 2020

Wonderful course! Absolutely enjoyed it, and I learned so much about poetry, things I knew but did not know how to use it. Thank you so much!

von billye r

1. Aug. 2017

This review is about the course I'm taking. Poetry brings such great things to me. And best of all, poetry brings out the best in me as well.

von janet w

1. Jan. 2016

Everything I could have wanted and more, deep gratitude to Douglas Kearney and Coursera. I felt very welcome and nurtured. 5 stars at least

von Deleted A

30. Mai 2020

The course is superb but the explosive personality of the tutor may be charming to some, but it was a bit too much and way cacophonic for me

von Lynn A

25. Okt. 2020

This was a great refresher course. I knew a lot of the information, but the challenges were a great opportunity to try new forms of poetry.

von Arnel A P

22. Juli 2020

Very inspiring and also very education. Instructor is engaging and selection of sample poetry is diverse. I learned a lot from this course.

von Deanna B

1. Juni 2020

Great workshop for anyone that is trying to get into the basic understanding of Poetry. Definitely improved my skills as a poet and writer.

von Alicia E R D

1. Mai 2021

Aprendí muchísimo más el enfoque poético que solo escribir por escribir. Recomendado! Excelente que este tipo de cursos estén en Coursera.

von Alexis T

12. Okt. 2015

A wonderful opportunity to learn about poetry and to participate in peer reviews of poetry. One of my favorite Coursera courses/workshops!

von Nina B

3. Sep. 2015

Doug is so entertaining. I would probably take any course if he taught it but he made this poetry workshop live for me. I'm better for it.

von Laura B

14. Juni 2022

Awesome course that i could do in my own time, learned so much about poetry and already feel like i am a better writer for it, thank you!

von Tenzin C

3. Juni 2020

I took this course with my two kids. We learned a lot about Poetry.

The instructor is fun and upbeat. He made learning very interesting.

von Alicia C

19. Nov. 2018

Loved it! Great teaching, well paced, can't get enough of the transcripts with the videos. Very fun and really pushed me in my craft.

von Maria I M G

27. Nov. 2017

I have learned a lot from this course. Thank you . I wish we could have an advanced level of the workshop. I would definitely take it!

von Stephanie P

4. Juni 2016

This course was excellent! It really helped me on my journey in poetry appreciation and writing. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

von Sheryl L

12. Aug. 2021

Excellent, thought-provoking class. Thoroughly enjoyed it and learned a great deal about poetry. I definitely recommend this course.

von luciana a a

10. Okt. 2020

Inspiring and very handy tools are proposed to help us write and review our poetry. Loved the videos, our lecturer and the exercises.

von Francisco O

21. Juli 2020

Excellent program. Wonderfully and entertainingly presented. Plenty of information with use of examples. Much use of peer assessment.

von Sahil J

19. Apr. 2020

Engaging, low-commitment, and genuinely rewarding. An amazing learning experience for neophytes, dabblers, and practiced poets alike.

von G M L 2

24. Dez. 2020

This course got me writing poems again after a long time. It helped me refine my writing and the prompts were very though-provoking.

von Francoise B

31. Juli 2017

Great course to learn about the basics but also to gain the confidence to write one's own poems. Great professor. I loved the humor.

von C H

7. Mai 2017

I enjoyed the experience of learning the step by step of making poem with Coursera. I love the workshop and the prompts given too...

von Meghan G

4. Aug. 2020

I enjoyed this course immensely. The videos were helpful and funny, the material was engaging, and the workshops kept me involved.

von Sonika E

12. Mai 2022

This was a vey good course, helped me o further develop my writing skills and learn new things. Very easy to follow through with.