Chevron Left
Zurück zu Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
1,506 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Top-Bewertungen

ES

4. Mai 2022

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

SM

11. Juni 2020

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

Filtern nach:

301 - 325 von 614 Bewertungen für Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

von Mandy

23. Apr. 2020

I have written poetry for years, but this course really sharpened my focus and made me rethink the ways in which I express myself

von Linda B

22. Nov. 2016

Engaging course with fun videos. I especially liked the writing prompts. The feedback from my peers on my poems was very helpful.

von Erica G

22. Sep. 2017

The professor of this course is so entertaining and able to express the content of the course in a concise and efficient manner.

von Costas P

25. Aug. 2015

loved the whole experience, there should be a part 2 and when I get paid (and get a good grade) I will purchase the certificate.

von Ceej L

21. Juli 2020

I enjoyed this course! I learned a lot of new things on poetry that have helped me develop a more distinct style in my writing.

von Robert W M

3. Feb. 2018

Extremely well designed course. Would recommend to anyone interested in writing poetry; beginners and experienced poets alike.

von Raymond c

15. Jan. 2018

Well worth it, and the perfect mix of a refresher for forgotten topics as well as a great intro all new techniques and styles.

von Donna C

15. Juli 2017

Excellent course, especially for those in the beginning stages of their poetry writing. Engaging lectures and fun activities.

von John G

10. Nov. 2016

Wonderful course which introduces the student to some of the fundametals of poetry writing beyond simply coming up with rhyme!

von Matthias D

9. Okt. 2019

I enjoyed this course

And what a great course it was

Didnt expect such

fun and love when I signed up

No remorse, so do not pause

von B E

16. Nov. 2020

The professor is excellent.

The subject is riveting.

It is a class I will never forget.

On my heels I am pivoting.

Burmashave.

von Luisa

3. Sep. 2017

I highly recommend this course. The lectures are fun and easy to understand! I wish I could take more courses like this one!

von BISIRIYU O T

3. Aug. 2020

i appreciate my wonderful lecturer you made the lectures very interesting. your actions and hidding for camera is wonderful

von Thendral P

28. Okt. 2016

Doug is so entertaining and a great teacher! The exercises are helpful and the clips are short and easy to watch. Loved it.

von Yvette L

11. Juni 2016

This was a great course! Very informative and the video lectures were of great interest. I definitely recommend this class.

von Jane C O

24. Aug. 2020

I loved this course. I learned important things about poetry. It helped me write better poems. The workshop was educating.

von Helen C B

20. Juli 2020

I have found the course very helpful I have enjoyed practising the skills demonstrated and giving and receiving feedback.

von Victoria K

7. Okt. 2020

The instructor is amazing and I truly loved discovering a lot of great poets and poems both in videos and in workshops.

von Santiago C L

20. Jan. 2018

Good course for a begining. In some ways is an option to improve, in other is good way to return to the own imgination

von Kirti P

5. Nov. 2021

It was a great experience learning this course. I learnt many new things from it. Thank you for this wonderful course!

von Suzy W

9. Feb. 2018

This course fit in perfectly in my busy life. I learned something new (or re-remembered it) each week in this course!

von Renee A

25. Okt. 2017

I loved how the instructor taught the course. I would take every writing course he might decide to offer on Coursera.

von Mary C

14. Mai 2020

So enjoyed your course

Your sense of humor opened

My mind to create

Imagery, allowing me

An escape from this weird world.

von WU S

12. März 2020

Playing with words is always my great pleasure especially with other echoing minds. This is a great course! What fun!

von Heather P

23. Sep. 2021

I really enjoyed this course it was the right amount of fun and challenge. The instructor videos are very engaging.