Chevron Left
Zurück zu Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop von California Institute of the Arts

4.8
Sterne
1,487 Bewertungen
606 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Top-Bewertungen

ES

4. Mai 2022

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

VS

22. Juni 2020

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

Filtern nach:

176 - 200 von 610 Bewertungen für Sharpened Visions: A Poetry Workshop

von Hilary T

26. Aug. 2016

I enjoyed this course so much i wish it didn't have to end.

The peer review experience in this course is completely fun and enriching.

Even if you think you'd be terrible at writing poetry, just give it a go!

von Richard C

3. Aug. 2016

Excellent course. The performance of the presenter may seem over the top at first but they actually enhance the impact of the lesson later on. The enthusiasm is genuine and not faked and I enjoyed his te

von Sharon L

13. Juni 2016

I enjoyed the course thoroughly. Although the basics were a review for me, the section on revision (vs editing) was extremely helpful. I also appreciated how enthusiastic and engaging the instructor was.

von Stacey E

3. Sep. 2020

The overall experience was great. I learned a lot from the videos which were engaging. The peer feedback process was rewarding. I enjoyed hearing perspectives on my poems from people all over the world.

von Jane G

5. Mai 2022

Loved this course! It was exciting to learn many aspects about poetry, and now I can confidently say that I am a better poet! I'm definitely going to use some of the theories Douglas Kearney mentioned!

von Judih W

18. Sep. 2021

Wonderful Professor and really cool survey of styles, rhythms and rhymes. I enjoyed it immensely. I especially loved meeting new poets that I might never have run across without this course! Thank you.

von Erin S

5. Mai 2022

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

von Timothy M

30. Aug. 2021

​Very in-depth analyses of beautiful, professional poems really showed me how it's done. Funny professor, many tips and tricks for my own works, and great practice exercises for applying lessons!

von Mitchell C

14. Mai 2022

This course does a good job in covering the basics andpresenting you with interesting prompts. The workshop aspect really allows you to receive feedback which can be difficult to find elsewhere.

von Lisa C

26. Mai 2021

A brilliant course with an enthusiastic tutor! I found the peer rating system difficult to use, but it would be worth signing up just for the videos, so I haven't taken off any stars for that...

von Gwyneth T

11. Aug. 2020

You said: “ It isn’t easy.”

But it’s possible.

You gave us steps to climb on.

We stepped lively.

There were hands along the way.

To add encouragement.

We just now might be poets.

At least better ones!

von Katie M

24. Juni 2020

Very useful for beginners as well as seasoned poets! Peer reviewers are thorough and usually very helpful. This course has definitely guided me in the direction of pursuing poetry academically.

von Aditya M

21. Mai 2020

Greate course! Learnt a lot about Poetry Writing - the structure, the important type of words, personifications and type of poems etc. Will implement all of this in my writing moving forward.

von jane r k

22. Aug. 2016

Wonderful, learning about writing poetry here is IT! I will always use this to go forward and once in a while come back to freshen up. Thank you, there's nothing else out there like this class!

von Devon B

5. Mai 2020

This course was so fun. I was beyond anxious to start as I am fairly new to poetry and poem writing, but this course forced me out of my shell in a truly good way. I tip my hat to the teacher!

von Jacque R

12. Okt. 2020

best class. the information was presented in a dynamic and clear way. Made learning enjoyable, and the difficult parts challenging. would love to take more classes from this instructor.

von Melanie B

26. Feb. 2021

Captivating, engaging and thoroughly enjoyable course! I've always adored poetry and this course enhanced my ability to express myself accurately (and in a variety of ways) ten thumbs up!

von King C M D

20. Juli 2020

I learned a lot from this workshop. It's very straightforward and easy to learn and I produced better poems that are far more better from the poems that I've written for the past 3 years.

von Matteo T

4. Nov. 2016

I'd like to thank M. Douglas Kearney, Calarts and Coursera for this course. I learned a lot about poetry with the help of M. Kearney whose explantions were really clear and entertaining!

von Swati B

8. Jan. 2020

Excellent course !! Previously I had never read or appreciated poetry much. This course has been an eye opener. The course is very well structure! And I learnt a lot from my peers too!

von Steven B

8. Okt. 2015

I enjoyed the class. The small corny bits in the videos made me feel at home, while the informative parts were very easy for me to understand. I'll likely revisit the class again later.

von Melle S

2. Nov. 2019

I loved this course. It has expanded my vision for my own writing. I found it helpful to receive feedback from my peers. I now can go back to previous works and revise with confidence.

von Mai V N

23. Feb. 2018

wonderful! I suggest to anyone who wants to learn more about poetry and even writing in general. Fun, doable, and informative! The homework prompts were well thought out and fun to do.

von Sreelakshmi C G 1 9

5. März 2021

It was a great experience. With such a short time you covered most topics and more importantly stressed on the practical part, the writing! Thanks to you I brushed up my writings....

von Marilyn A

16. Apr. 2018

This was a brilliant course. Loved having to write poems for it. Loved the guy taking it. Just had trouble getting in to put assignments in and talk to people. Otherwise I loved it.