Chevron Left
Zurück zu Portfolio Selection and Risk Management

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Portfolio Selection and Risk Management von Rice University

4.6
Sterne
415 Bewertungen
77 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

When an investor is faced with a portfolio choice problem, the number of possible assets and the various combinations and proportions in which each can be held can seem overwhelming. In this course, you’ll learn the basic principles underlying optimal portfolio construction, diversification, and risk management. You’ll start by acquiring the tools to characterize an investor’s risk and return trade-off. You will next analyze how a portfolio choice problem can be structured and learn how to solve for and implement the optimal portfolio solution. Finally, you will learn about the main pricing models for equilibrium asset prices. Learners will: • Develop risk and return measures for portfolio of assets • Understand the main insights from modern portfolio theory based on diversification • Describe and identify efficient portfolios that manage risk effectively • Solve for portfolio with the best risk-return trade-offs • Understand how risk preference drive optimal asset allocation decisions • Describe and use equilibrium asset pricing models....

Top-Bewertungen

JC

Mar 03, 2020

I love how Dr O teach by telling a story. Her Teaching technique is different from the college boring classes that I have been.\n\nI wish she offer more courses.

FR

Jul 20, 2020

Dr. O really makes the idea of modern portfolio management clear! The practical assignments on Excel will really clear any confusion about the topics.

Filtern nach:

51 - 75 von 75 Bewertungen für Portfolio Selection and Risk Management

von Edgar R C K

Feb 23, 2019

Good

von Adrian N U

May 11, 2018

The course is very insightful. However, some parts of the peer review assignments need to be made clearer (i.e. the difference between sample variance and population variance, although one can look at the forum for the answer). Some of the in-class quizzes are also pretty annoying. The course can improve by revamping the material and correcting for some bugs.

von Matteo E

Dec 27, 2017

Very nice and rather deep presentation of the modern portfolio theory, CAPM and fama-french 3-factor model, but lacking in width in terms of presentation of other pricing models, or risk management strategies (i.e. 5-factor model, hedging, etc...).

Overall a challenging and enjoyable course if you have little financial background.

von Oleksandr A

Mar 04, 2018

A wonderful course! You will find here all necessary insights and concepts of portfolio selection and risk management. The main problem is there is a little lack of explanations of some complex Excel spreadsheets. Hence, you will need to check Forums to complete the puzzle.

von Melissa T T T

Aug 23, 2020

It is a very good course. The only weakness is the assignments are not taught anywhere in the course. I cannot get the last assignment right and I am eager to learn yet there is no way to learn the correct method even though I passed the course.

von Gautam B

Apr 27, 2020

This course is one of the finest course from Rice University and the way Dr. O teaches, it really is astounding. This course has helped me, by clearing my basic understanding of the Portfolio Selection in the world of Investments.

von Tommaso M

Apr 23, 2020

The course is very interesting. The topics are treated with obvious superficiality but it is useful to start acquiring some practice in the subject. The only flaw is the peer-graded homeworks, which often take days to correct.

von Lebogang M

Aug 15, 2020

The lecture is very good, I like her style of teaching; however, since its a beginner module, it would be nice if the lecturer actually taught us how to compute with excel so that we don't struggle with the assignments.

von Lisa C

Dec 17, 2016

This was a tough course and I actually moved to another schedule. I think a sixth week on using excel to solve problems would have been worthwhile.

von Himanshu K

Jun 19, 2020

I think Excel should be used to teach so that more clarification should be there with tools

von Rajat R

Jun 24, 2020

Great learning experience!!! A perfect course for the beginners...

von 杜睿

Oct 28, 2018

I have learned a lot, but I want to learn more

von Abhishek N

Jul 04, 2020

well planned course,nice assignment an quiz

von Joaquín R R

Apr 15, 2020

The formulas are not on the lectures.

von Jeffrey C

Jul 30, 2020

Good class

von Benjamin B

Aug 17, 2020

The lecture content was decent, but the math was tough for someone who hasn't taken any math classes in decades. However, the biggest issue I had was the lack of assistance with excel formulas needed for the peer-graded assignments. I spent more time googling how to use excel than I did learning content. Also, the discussion boards were useless because they were filled with spammed messages of people asking for others to review their work. The course creators should do a better job moderating/deleting these posts.

von James C

Nov 18, 2019

The subject matter and material was very good but the assignments were ambiguous and confusing. I had to spend a lot of time in the discussion forum or online trying to find the correct formulas or how to exactly complete the assignment because the instructions are so vague. For example one of the first assignments doesn't specify whether the data should be monthly or annually.

von Thomas M S

Mar 25, 2017

Decent course to get an introduction to portfolio theory. Some work needs to be done to update the pdf slides with what the professor adds in handwriting during the course.

von agustin b

Aug 17, 2020

Demasiado teórico. Para undergraduates, y poco practico para los que tenemos muchos años

von Neelkanth S M

Oct 02, 2019

Delay caused due to insufficient number of available submissions to review

von Dada G O

Aug 14, 2020

The course was really tasking

von Ritesh N

Aug 17, 2020

difficult to understand and apply it in real life

von Carlo S

Oct 22, 2018

I will fail because, despite submitting all my assignments on time and obtaining excellent grades on all of them, one of them was not reviewed and graded by my peers on time. Quizzes and Assignments should be graded by professors and Teaching assistants, not students. I pay I fee and and I expect more. The entire process was a fraud.

von Matias D G

Aug 25, 2020

Extremely focused on understanding the math behind the portfolio management instead of the main rational in identifying the best portfolio. Excessive exercises in excel spreadsheets and most of them not clear guidance.

von Rod J

Jan 27, 2018

Very poor response times to questions on the forum by academic staff. There are also mathematical errors in the materials provided.