Chevron Left
Zurück zu Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science von University of Pennsylvania

4.8
Sterne
3,272 Bewertungen
1,161 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Dr. Martin E.P. Seligman—renowned worldwide as the “father of Positive Psychology”—has led visionary leaps in the scientific research, empirical data and personal understandings of human flourishing. This course explores the past, present and future of positive psychology as a journey through the key scientific leaps led by Dr. Seligman and his colleagues at the University of Pennsylvania's Positive Psychology Center and Master of Applied Positive Psychology program. There are no prerequisites....

Top-Bewertungen

BS

Jan 23, 2020

Dr Seligman is a very charismatic professor. He presents the course in a very interesting and engaging way. I enjoyed the coursework as well as the reading. I will be delving further into the subject.

MP

Feb 28, 2020

Excellent and succint explanation of the history, objectives, trends and branches of Positive Psychology. And to learn with the man himself and other leading researchers is a one-of-a-kind experience.

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 1,148 Bewertungen für Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science

von Ozrenka

Mar 06, 2019

It gives you the basics that you need to understand Positive Psychology concepts, it gives you an opportunity to interact with other learners in forum discussions, it gives you 'homework', positive interventions you can practice at home or work, it's easy to follow, overall it's an excellent course if you need to be introduced in the field of Positive Psychology.

von Susanne W

Mar 13, 2019

A complete visionary in the world of psychology. His concepts and skills should be taught in every classroom and are a great path for anyone looking to improve their overall life experience. I wish I had learned all of this sooner. Awesome!

von elainechen

May 03, 2019

Too much about professor's theories and their promotions, less practical exercise or methods.

von William H

Dec 20, 2018

Enlightening course about a topic that is well needed. Love the concept that not only is there another side to psychology, but that there are actually tools that we can use on a regular basis that enable and empower us to be happier.

von Ming M

Jul 11, 2017

I like the course material. I would like to suggest the format to be changed. Currently there is too fragmented with too many interruptions. It would be better to run the lectures more consecutively.

von Milly O L

Aug 19, 2019

This course has been an eye opener for me to the possibilities and options of changing culture and behavior, not solely basing on past experience of individuals but with more focus on future choices.

von Matthew " M

Nov 19, 2018

I loved this course. Not only is the information and research on Positive Psychology interesting and inspiring, it is practically useful, too!

von Lindsay F

Mar 16, 2019

This course was so interesting, engaging, relatively easy concepts to follow, and also impactful. Applicable to people with all interests!

von Bavneet S N

Nov 19, 2018

It gives me power to look at this world with a different eye.

von Lequn G

Feb 24, 2019

This course gives a good overview of positive psychology based on research methods and findings. At the same time, it didn't emphasize how to apply positive psychology in real life (except some isolated mentions like ACR). I'd recommend it for those who want to get an idea of this field, not those who want practical applications. Maybe the following courses in this series will focus more on applications/interventions.

von Alban D W

Aug 24, 2019

Positive psychology is exceedingly important to me, as a psychologist who has worked in a variety of inpatient, residential and outpatient facilities. I understand the importance of helping clients via a focus on what positives she or he has and others positives can beI developed. I've run some marathons, and found that I just need to keep on running, no matter how many may pass me in the process. When you run under the 26.2 mile finish line. the rest of the race, being passed, etc.. becomes less important. There is the story of a boy trying to toss a baseball up in the air and hit it with his bat. The boy keeps tossing it up, albeit, missing the ball. Rather than pessimism and failure, he proudly says aloud, "What a great pitcher I am!" My clients often focus on mistakes, failures, other people's comments about them - including family. I love positive psychology. Could not agree more that the focus must be on our positives. versus trying overcome our shortcomings! That is my focus as a psychologist. Dr. Seligman has developed an extremely important way of looking at things. I also like Behavioral Activation Therapy (not behavior therapy). Rather than focusing on the downside, behavioral activation assigns the client to go do X, Y, Z - of his or her choosing, as long as it is healthy and positive. Example,, a depressed person can focus on being depressed, isolated from other, lack of positive experiences. But the depressed person very often decides to not go to the friends birthday party, and shuts him or herself in their room - all alone. Behavioral Activation - assigns them to go anyway. Being home alone in one's room make depression worse. going anything (unless it is a mean group of peers, who tend to ridicule him or her - if so -- the goal is to find those who are not like that). Yet CBT (a very good therapy) is often shoved to the head of the line. I strongly recommend Behavioral Activation Therapy, which is a key treatment at an inpatient center in Wisconsin. Thank you for your time, in reading this message.

von Betsy W M

Sep 14, 2017

This is incredible. For four years or more, I wanted to enter the Masters Program. I am in my 60's, and got my BS in 2006 during evening classes at Chestnut Hill College. I began a Masters in Spirituality at the College, but it was cancelled out. I put it to rest but kept thinking about this course. Totally interested, I went online and saw that I would need Statistics. I just couldn't fathom doing so and put it aside. Last month, I googled Dr. Seligman again and to my surprise, this course was available. It is like the "I am double parked version" of his Degree Program(which at times I am), but I found it a gift. And of course, NO STATISTICS. Even though I recently married a Statistician.

von Chris L

Mar 11, 2019

The last school I worked at introduced Positive Education over two years ago and the whole process resonated with me in every way. It helped teachers open up themselves, their weaknesses, their strengths and how they would like to improve to better their students. When I came across this course, it was an easy decision and well worth the time. I will continue to practise the work myself. I have introduced it to my children each night through one of the processes that I learned and I would like to pass it onto students and eventually do more training in this area and get a whole school involved, possibly a larger organisation doing it.

von Khrystyna T

Mar 13, 2019

I express my gratitude to everyone who prepared this course, especially Martin Seligman. It was a pleasure for me to learn from you. Your course is available for people like me, with not the best English :) A lot of useful information and exercises that I already use in my life and in working with clients.

von Matheus P

Feb 28, 2020

Excellent and succint explanation of the history, objectives, trends and branches of Positive Psychology. And to learn with the man himself and other leading researchers is a one-of-a-kind experience.

von Lynn C

Aug 01, 2018

I was a little disappointed that there was so much content overlap from Flourish but there was also new content. There are many typos in the captioning. There are also some timing errors with the video and the quizzes. And one major but in module one for reviewing the final exercise. Lastly, some of the quiz questions were typical "test taking tricks" rather than testing your knowledge, they are testing your ability to test. That's just cheeky.

von Петрова Ю П

Jun 03, 2020

First of all, I want to Express my deepest gratitude to You for your faith in me. For the opportunity to take your course. Your course has helped me during this difficult period of life that we all go through, related to the COVID-19 epidemic.

What makes my life worth living? – good question, it's like thinking about the meaning of life. I think the meaning of life is just to live. I enjoy every moment of it, I must try to be here and now, so as not to miss the smallest details of every beautiful moment. The past is an experience, the future is not known. You should try to enrich your life with beautiful moments, a positive attitude, help other people, and be a spiritual person. Take care of our neighbors and our little brothers. He treats nature with love and saves it as much as possible.

What does it mean for me to live a good life? Kindness, justice, joy, health, happiness, friendship, relationships, and much more fill our lives and make them wonderful.

What strengths and practices you will now be able to develop in order to create an upward spiral of prosperity in your life and for those you love? – I will try to find pluses in everything, take care of my mental state, help people, try to be more positive and good-natured.

von Jacqueline N

Oct 09, 2017

This course was excellent. I wanted to understand how Positive Psychology differed from other approaches in Psychology and I got a really solid basis of understanding that and also an in depth view of the applications, science and research that underlies this revolutionary approach to understanding how to develop more resilient and stronger human beings. The lectures, supporting material and scope of the course facilitated learning and understanding of Positive Psychology. My only disappointment was that I took a survey about well being and after taking it twice, I didn't receive the language cloud promised from my Facebook page. I waited over 45 minutes before abandoning the page with the hour glass. However learning about language clouds and how they are advancing research in Positive Psychology was awesome!

von Victoria

Nov 22, 2017

This is a really useful course for self-development and for application in daily life and working life. In fact, you can't do a course like this without improving your approach to life in general. In some sense, it packages the kind of stuff you discover through life lessons. That's great news if you're young or worried you've been a slow learner in that department. The benefit of doing a course like this is that you can hopefully avoid some unnecessary trauma and learn from the smaller dramas of life instead. I've found it useful for re-framing my life experiences and moving the wisdom of maturity along just that little bit further. I still pull myself up, from time to time, for taking unproductive mental routes and actions; but that's what it is to be human: we learn until the end, every step of the way.

von Nicole M

Aug 31, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and felt like it enriched my knowledge and understand of positive psychology. The lectures were interesting and varied, and it was great to have guest appearances from researchers in diverse areas of the discipline, from constructive journalism to the impact of big data. I thought the exercises were well scattered through the course. I think the only area for improvement would be in the nature and extent of the feedback obtained for the first assignment. I provided very detailed feedback for the assignments that I reviewed, and was a little surprised by the very brief feedback I received for my own assignment. Finally, the fact that I could complete this course from my home office in Sydney made me feel grateful just about every time I started another module or section.

von Nooruddin B M

Sep 11, 2018

I would like to thank Dr. Seligman and all the course instructors for their valuable insights about positive psychology and how important is it for personal, national and global well being. I have started this personal journey of broadening my understanding about this science and how it could be used to heal myself and others and infuse the concept of hope and seeing goodness in one's own self and others, and building on those strengths. Thanks coursera team for providing me the financial aid to complete this course and i look forward to your support for helping me complete this specialization, which then i can spread to people who i work with and care for.

von Lloyd B

Aug 14, 2019

This course was a complete eye-opener. I can't believe that it has not been more widely utilized and acclaimed. The results that have been documented coming from Positive Psychology are outstanding. I believe every city government should become aware of it. The crime rates and the incidence of suicide in the US could be seriously reduced.

The materials were extremely well presented. Navigating the website was, at times, a challenge. Perhaps that might be attributed to my age, 76, and the fact, it was my first online study experience.

I'm looking forward to the remaining courses in this Positive Psychology curriculum.

Many thanks!!

von Sridhar V

Jul 07, 2017

To hear about Positive Psychology from the horse`s mouth is indeed a privilege. As an introductory course, it is very well designed and delivered. I have been impressed with and influenced by hearing Prof. Martin Seligman, PhD at the World Conference on Appreciative Inquiry at Kathmandu, Nepal which he addressed live over conference call. Doing a course with him and successfully and meritoriously completing the same is indeed a privilege for me. Thanks Prof. Martin. I look forward to further support in specializing in Positive Psychology at a PhD level and taking Positive Psychology forward in vernacular languages in India.

von Hsueh J T

May 10, 2020

Everyone should take this course. Knowing positive psychology gives you knowledge how to evaluate your emotional state and get to know what exercise you can practice to improve your well-beings and help others around you. After this course, you will also know the application of positive psychology before and now, and work in process which will flourish in the future. These applications has changed and will keep affecting people in the world with or without our recognition. Positive psychology influences individuals, brings changes to communities and hopefully will play a role in policies making and education.

von Esmeralda V

Apr 19, 2020

A short introduction to the amazing discovery of Positive Psychology, explained by Doc. Seligman and his colleagues. A perfect, stimulant asset to approach a difficult subject and to get a scientific view of a not so mentioned side of psychology. I really appreciated all the contents proposed and the several opportunity to debate and reflect on the different lessons. It's a very complete course starting from the first historical steps, then going through all the experiments, practices and main theories until now. Highly recommended to anyone interested in how to improve human well-being in an empirical way.