Chevron Left
Zurück zu Precalculus: Relations and Functions

Bewertung und Feedback des Lernenden für Precalculus: Relations and Functions von Johns Hopkins University

4.6
Sterne
95 Bewertungen
31 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This course helps to build the foundational material to use mathematics as a tool to model, understand, and interpret the world around us. This is done through studying functions, their properties, and applications to data analysis. Concepts of precalculus provide the set of tools for the beginning student to begin their scientific career, preparing them for future science and calculus courses. This course is designed for all students, not just those interested in further mathematics courses. Students interested in the natural sciences, computer sciences, psychology, sociology, or similar will genuinely benefit from this introductory course, applying the skills learned to their discipline to analyze and interpret their subject material. Students will be presented with not only new ideas, but also new applications of an old subject. Real-life data, exercise sets, and regular assessments help to motivate and reinforce the content in this course, leading to learning and mastery....

Top-Bewertungen

JJ
23. Nov. 2020

The course content is great, but despite dozens of moderators, they never answer any questions in the discussion, so you better be able to pass completely on your own.

SM
23. März 2021

G\n\nr\n\ne\n\na\n\nt course!The explanations are really very clear and the exercises very useful! Loved the lecturer's style of teaching

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 31 Bewertungen für Precalculus: Relations and Functions

von Jeremy

24. Nov. 2020

The course content is great, but despite dozens of moderators, they never answer any questions in the discussion, so you better be able to pass completely on your own.

von Mustafa Y

12. Feb. 2021

The course was really nice and engaging, the videos were crystal clear and well made. I was taught all of this before but it had 2 years without ever using them so I had forgotten them hence the course may have been easier for since I mostly had to be reminded about the laws and work arounds. Although I had known the information presented before hand I still found some questions quite unique and challenging. Thanks to everyone that made effort in the making of this course.

von TUHIN S M

29. Dez. 2020

FRIENDLY TEACHER

von Jingjing L

13. März 2021

One of the best online courses I took! I love it!

The course is friendly for beginners and those who have graduated from schools for years. The teacher is particularly patient and thoughtful. He guided me step by step, no rush, not skipping things, so everything is understandable. Although for a non-English speaker like me he speaks rather fast, the good news is that when it comes to some confusing points, he'll lower the speed.

Each lesson builds on the previous ones, and one lesson may shed light on the next one. For example, the lesson of inverse function is a good pre-lesson for lessons concerning e^x/ln(x), while omitted by many teachers.

Last but not least, it is really good that the quizzes of the course give many questions that require students to use the knowledge they learned in this course earlier. As everything is practiced over and over again, we won't easily forget the knowledge we learned yesterday.

Thank you Mr. Cutrone! I'm looking forward to the rest of the journey of Calculus with you.

von Evangelos K

2. Jan. 2021

The lectures were great and the assignments and quizzes were challenging. This course helped me to understand clearly the domain and range concepts vital for the theory of ordinary differential equations

von LUIS F A Z

31. Okt. 2020

It was an amazing course. I learned a lot. The lessons are not extremely long and have enough content to satisfy you.

von TOMÁS N P B

21. Jan. 2021

Very good instructor, with exercises and tests that covers what was seen in the video lectures

von Md.Shariful I

5. Dez. 2020

Very effective course

von Bernardo C

24. März 2021

It is a certification and not a learning program, i.e. it is not meant for those who want to learn the subject, but rather for those who want to review it and certify their knowledge. I would say that it is not beginner's level. It is, however, a good course if the student has the determination to do a lot of parallel studying.

von César M

24. Nov. 2020

Interesante la revision de la funciones elementales

von Deleted A

6. Jan. 2021

This course is for people with some experience in precalculus.

The author doesn't spend much time explaining everything in detail but will give a quick around view of the major aspects of the subject. Recommended for people who want to brush up their basics.

Again the course (specialization) consists of a number of other courses which is themed for data modeling, so this first two course focuses on brushing up our linear algebra and trig. Once we get familiarize with the tool for modeling, then I assume the final two-course focuses on the modeling.

As of now, I haven't taken the rest of the specialization, but with a little effort from the course and with the help of any textbook. This course will be helpful to anyone who wants to learn more about Precalc and modeling.

Again precalc is a little extensive, so I can fully understand, with the 4 weeks lecture one can cover only the major areas of it. As said earlier with some help from textbooks and these videos, it will a good learning experience. Looking forward to doing the next course from the specialization.

von Don J

10. Sep. 2021

I would recommend this course to anyone who is interested in learning some of the fundamentals or even if we are revisiting these topics. I am in the latter category, some of these I learned several years ago and I even filled in some of the holes in my understanding and even cleared up some of my misconceptions. The lectures are very well organized and the explanations are clear. I would definitely go through these lectures at a slow pace unless you already know all this material. Also take time out to do all the quizzes and sample problems; they are all very helpful in grounding the material. All the functions discussed here becomes useful in the third module.

von Maprang

1. Juni 2021

Prof.Cuthrone is so good. He's very casual and able to explain complex concepts succintly. The difficulty of the quizzes is just right, enough to reinforce the concepts presented in the video lectures. I definitely recommend anyone take this course. I, myself, will pursue the entire Pre-calc Specialization by John Hopkins. Can't wait to do the next Period functions course. See you guys there!

von Bart P

2. Feb. 2021

I was very happy with the instructor. He explained the concepts using a large number of examples. I like the reading materials that accompanied the lectures. I recommend this course for anybody who needs a good refresher in Pre-Calc.

von S M

24. März 2021

G

r

e

a

t course!The explanations are really very clear and the exercises very useful! Loved the lecturer's style of teaching

von Randy M

23. Sep. 2021

Excellent course. The professor made it easier to understand the material.

von Todor D

1. Apr. 2021

It will be nice to see more applications of the the material.

von Yumin S

28. Sep. 2021

This course is so helpful to understand the basic functions

von PAULO G

16. Okt. 2021

T​his course is a great introduction to calculus

von Farruh H

29. Apr. 2021

Good, very useful materials for precalculus.

von Jason P

18. Apr. 2021

Overall, pretty good and helpfull.

von Brenda M

14. Jan. 2021

very challenging-loved it

von Mohamed H A A Q

1. Juli 2021

Nice and easy.

von Maha J

28. Juni 2021

g​reat course

von DI M

27. Aug. 2021

Very good.