Chevron Left
Zurück zu Principles of Computing (Part 1)

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Principles of Computing (Part 1) von Rice University

4.8
Sterne
524 Bewertungen
90 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

This two-part course builds upon the programming skills that you learned in our Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python course. We will augment those skills with both important programming practices and critical mathematical problem solving skills. These skills underlie larger scale computational problem solving and programming. The main focus of the class will be programming weekly mini-projects in Python that build upon the mathematical and programming principles that are taught in the class. To keep the class fun and engaging, many of the projects will involve working with strategy-based games. In part 1 of this course, the programming aspect of the class will focus on coding standards and testing. The mathematical portion of the class will focus on probability, combinatorics, and counting with an eye towards practical applications of these concepts in Computer Science. Recommended Background - Students should be comfortable writing small (100+ line) programs in Python using constructs such as lists, dictionaries and classes and also have a high-school math background that includes algebra and pre-calculus....

Top-Bewertungen

SN

May 07, 2019

This course is very good for beginners and intermediate coders. Gives important basics about computer science from 3 very good professors.

JJ

May 16, 2018

very wellmade assignments! that goes a long way!\n\nplotting seemed a bit superflous and not much learned.\n\nThank you professors!

Filtern nach:

76 - 86 von 86 Bewertungen für Principles of Computing (Part 1)

von Arthur-Lance

Jun 22, 2017

thanks a lot

von Kushtrim B

Dec 13, 2016

Excellent.

von Tae J Y

Mar 26, 2017

Perfect!

von Bakhmai B

May 29, 2019

Super!

von Tom P

May 13, 2016

I started this course straight after finishing IIPP1 and IIPP2 (both of which I loved). I had no coding experience before those two courses but managed to work hard and got through them so kept on straightaway with PoC1. This was a mistake on my part. For me, there was a quite a step up and early on I was getting out of my depth and actually in the end did not finish the course. In hindsight (and actually what I am doing down to re-enroll) I would go and gain much more experience of Classes (they play a major part, and I am thinking or writing all the games as classes that I built in IIPP) and work through the Math Preparation to prepare. I'm giving the course 4 stars because the material, the lectures and the learning is great but I found the amount I was expected to do each week was well beyond my expectations of an MOOC and more than the two modules before.

von Steven K

Oct 03, 2019

Good course exploring the computer science side of programming. Once I got used to it, I appreciated the machine grader for instant feedback (and ability to resubmit if you did something wrong). Not sure where I will use combinatorics, but it was good to learn anyway.

For the most part the quizzes were good, although the 'find the test cases' questions were very frustrating and hard to approach. I appreciate the intent of trying to get us to think about testing more, but it was very difficult to think of more than a few good test cases based on the logic of the program or the expected uses and it ended up being easier to randomly generate cases.

von Tyler B

Aug 26, 2017

Most of the course was awesome, just wasn't crazy about the testing questions at the end of each quizz

von Renaud T

May 11, 2016

Great course ! Some assignments were not that easy and required time to be achieved. Enjoyed it !

von Wynand

Dec 21, 2017

Course was a good progression on the Intro to Python courses

von Alejo G O

Sep 12, 2018

Very interesting to expand the ways to solve a problem.

von Chris L

Oct 16, 2020

I'm sure this is a great series, but Python 2 in the tail end of 2020 makes no sense. I may come back later just to audit and do the exercise in Python 3.