Chevron Left
Zurück zu Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? von University of London

4.5
139 Bewertungen
37 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Top-Bewertungen

AS

Nov 28, 2018

Hi,\n\nThe course taught about the basics and that's exactly what I was looking for. I learnt a lot, and so many things which I hear and read, became clearer and more meaningful. Thanks you!

FT

Sep 16, 2018

Best course on the concepts of Probability and statistics , for the beginners. Dr.James Abdey provides lot of examples from the everyday life .

Filtern nach:

1 - 25 von 36 Bewertungen für Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

von Thomas J H

Nov 14, 2018

Yes, the scoring system for peer-reviewed work needs work -- poorly formatted and unnecessarily confusing. That said, I would welcome more courses by Dr James Abdey. As an introduction and overview/review, this particular course is excellent. NOT superficial, as one reviewer commented. If fact, if you download the PDFs which accompany each major video, you will that you can very quickly progress to the deeper end of the pool: much quality information. I would love to see an option for R, and not just Excel. But I can highly recommend this course (do suggest the assessment be tweaked), and hope again that Dr James Abdey will offer more.

von Brett C

Feb 14, 2019

The setup of peer reviewed assignments was a very poor experience due to lack of explanation and incorrect grading rubrics. Reviewers were presented with a single radio-button list, when they should have been presented with a series of check-boxes.

von Paolo T

Nov 14, 2018

The only reason to vote 4 instead 5 stars stay in the fact that there are not official moderator to fix the quiz bugs. For all the rest, 5 stars! At all! I loved it!

von Tanmoy C

Mar 04, 2019

This is a fantastic course to refresh probability and statistics. The only reason i have provided four star is due to a bug in the week 5 assignment where the grading does not provide multiple selections. Additionally there is no support for course stuff if you have question. You are really on your own. I would still encourage to take this one.

von Abhishek S

Nov 28, 2018

Hi,

The course taught about the basics and that's exactly what I was looking for. I learnt a lot, and so many things which I hear and read, became clearer and more meaningful. Thanks you!

von ruixi z

Dec 18, 2018

Great

von Chia K X

Mar 19, 2019

Lecturer is patient and always tries to explain difficult concepts clearly.

von yue

Dec 05, 2018

Very good introduction and overview, gives clear picture of probability and statistics.

von fozan t

Sep 16, 2018

Best course on the concepts of Probability and statistics , for the beginners. Dr.James Abdey provides lot of examples from the everyday life .

von Georgios P

Sep 03, 2018

Very good primer!

von Yves G

Sep 03, 2018

T

h

i

s

i

s

a

v

e

r

y

intersting

c

o

u

r

s

e

,

v

e

r

y

w

e

l

l

t

a

u

g

h

t

a

n

d

g

i

v

i

n

g

y

ou

t

he

w

i

l

l

t

o

study

f

u

t

h

e

r

i

n

that

f

i

e

l

d

.

von Ravikumar S

Nov 02, 2018

it was a nice learning experience, with a very step-by-step approach

von Leonardo B

Nov 21, 2018

It's a great course.

von Ivan

May 25, 2019

Really well done!

It starts slow, explaining everything clearly. If you want to add material to a specific lesson, you can easly do it following what the teacher already explained.

von José L

Jun 06, 2019

Easy to follow to your own time

von Geeti P M

Jul 19, 2019

It was a great experience learning from Sir Abdey!

von Guomin R

Jul 27, 2019

Dr James Abdey is a fantastic teacher. He delivered the knowledge with plain languages and vivid examples. Very helpful!

von Duvvuri Y S P

Aug 02, 2019

This course gives brief idea about different probabilistic methods used and their purpose in the real world. It's a very basic course where anyone can take and have a detailed knowledge on probability & Statistics.

von Majnoo G

Aug 26, 2019

One of the good starting points to learn the basics of probability and statistics. With less of mathematics and more on theory and interesting examples, this course is just right to start your journey on statistics. It covers some of the detail concepts with ease. Highly recommended

von Madhav C

Sep 07, 2019

wonderful course and the tutor!!

von MALIK I A

Sep 07, 2019

This course was very knowledgeable and given a review of my previous study.

von Jordi a

Nov 26, 2018

Basic introduction to the world of statistics, well structured and supplied with reading materials. Quite elementary, I'd say at most it's a HS/pre-college level overview of different fields and concepts. The lecturer conveys a strong appreciation for the subject. Recommended for those who want a first approximation to the subject.

von david w

Mar 19, 2019

The course material was top notch I learned a lot. It was an excellent crash course, and beautifully explained. I took off a star because the failure of the grading system in Assignment #2 / Week 5 cost me a lot of time, and likely affected many of my peers as well. That type of technical glitch is unacceptable in MOOC, particularly because there doesn't seem to be anyone around to support the students. Thanks for resolving it, though, whoever you are!

von Weichi C

Jan 31, 2019

The concept is well presented with the assumption that further research and dedication needed is required to get to next level.

von Mayur P K

Sep 10, 2018

Great Course.