Chevron Left
Zurück zu Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.3
1,725 Bewertungen
314 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Critical thinking – the application of scientific methods and logical reasoning to problems and decisions – is the foundation of effective problem solving and decision making. Critical thinking enables us to avoid common obstacles, test our beliefs and assumptions, and correct distortions in our thought processes. Gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, evaluating alternative solutions, and anticipating likely risks. Learn how to use analysis, synthesis, and positive inquiry to address individual and organizational problems and develop the critical thinking skills needed in today’s turbulent times. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, explore successful models and proven methods that are readily transferable on-the-job. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Choose and apply appropriate problem solving and decision making processes and methods 2. Identify common obstacles to effective problem solving and decision making 3. Recognize the human variable in problem solving and decision making 4. Assess major conceptual blocks and significant situational challenges 5. Apply concepts to enhancing personal development and organizational performance 6. Explain the key elements of problem solving and decision making and the barriers associated with them...

Top-Bewertungen

YM

Aug 03, 2018

A wonderful Informative and effective course for those who want to learn or improve to take effective decision making and learn quick problem solving techniques

AD

Aug 10, 2015

I have not personally completed the course......but as far as i have progressed i am finding it very helpful and explained in a very simple manner.

Filtern nach:

276 - 300 of 311 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

von Jennifer F

Jun 20, 2019

Rob has some strange ideas and opinions. I'm not sure he likes his family (brother in law or parents), or slow runners. He tells stories but they are hard to follow.

von Atsushi H

Jul 02, 2019

If you have already learned about Management Engineering,

von Ahmed S

Aug 02, 2019

I'd have preferred having more life and practi

von Dominik B

Jul 27, 2018

This course is only an overview into the topic. I was looking forward to boosting my decision-making skills but learning about some basic techniques and types of graphs is not enough for me. This course is scratching only the surface of the topic.

What I appreciate are the real-life situation examples and their solutions. These were the most positive aspects of the course.

Professor isn't as boring as the most reviewers state, but occasionally I had an impression that he hadn't had the speech prepared and made examples or statements by his own. Or he was just reading the slides sometimes, which seems like a waste of time to me.

The assignments were too easy, only theoretical stuff. It would be really great if any real life situations were stated in the assignment and the task of the student would be to select the best action to take.

As someone already mentioned, this course probably didn't affect my skills much, but it will look fine in any resumé.

von Alan

Aug 24, 2015

Doesn't go much further then common sense. Introduces terms for concepts you probably know, just didn't know it's a concept. The lecturer is terrible. His stories, or i guess metaphors that are supposed to help you understand and remember things are aweful. He takes way too long to get the point across.

Some helpful things are mentioned. Gives you the ability to distiguish problem solving methods, so you may use them as required.

Nonetheless, mostly wasted my time watching this.

von Tim L

Aug 24, 2015

Great first starter but poorly done

von Jose A N

Mar 28, 2017

very basic, tool based solutions, no real content behind.

Usually these courses are about learning and being mentally challenged not getting a toolbox.

von Kareem M O

Nov 07, 2015

Very brief , some points are leaved without explanation

von Laya I

Feb 25, 2017

this course needs much more evidences and examples to support the valuable information.

von Nikita P

Sep 30, 2017

Too simplistic. Just provides a few common sense methods of making decision, nothing more.

von Mangesh L

Oct 06, 2015

Theoretically good course, could have been made more interesting by including more examples or cae studies.

von Deleted A

Aug 21, 2015

The course was very basic. I don't think I have learned anything new.

von Donata G

Nov 10, 2015

The course material was quite boring. I have gained some theoretical knowledge about problem solving and decision making techniques, but we weren't given enough practical examples on how we should apply these techniques at work. I wish the lecturer had t suggested additional material on the topic.

von Augusto U

Mar 09, 2016

introductory course

von Ahmed M R

Jan 09, 2017

the course is theoretical, it would be better with more examples and case studies.

von Stephen R

Oct 15, 2015

The course really isn't that useful for day to day management decision making. It might be more useful for those who look solely at long term data and make choices "at a distance" so to speak. Very heavy focus on charts and graphs....so there's a lot to it but very little you can sink your teeth into unless you have a very specific type of management in mind.

von Paulo J M d S

Aug 28, 2015

In my point of view the course overall is a bit superficial (even though the decision-making part was very interesting indeed). More importantly, the course lacks one of the richest tools in MOOCS: peer interactions - people voicing their opinions and sharing experiences.

Besides that: some of the questions in the quiz looked very ambiguous and there are some editing mistakes in the videos.

von Mohamed Y

Feb 16, 2016

The course is well organized but I don't think it covered all the basics.

von Michael C

Jan 09, 2016

Boring

von Jani S

Oct 05, 2015

Somehow simple presentations.

von Allan

Nov 21, 2018

Please improve this course.

von Francisco M

Feb 28, 2019

very shallow, without practice and tools to be implemented afterwards

von Ahmed M M S

Sep 25, 2018

Instructor is bad in presentation

von Michael Z

Jul 06, 2017

simplistic

von Khoi N

Dec 12, 2015

The course is not very useful due to its lacking of practical examples and assignments.