Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Programming Principles in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
Sterne
7,351 Bewertungen
1,476 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top-Bewertungen

VP

Sep 14, 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

AJ

Sep 24, 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

Filtern nach:

1276 - 1300 von 1,413 Bewertungen für Functional Programming Principles in Scala

von felipe b h

Sep 03, 2019

Very good all in all. Seting up environment is a little bit difficult ans it makes beginning rather cumbersome, but then the clases and the material are excellent

von Jim

Jul 04, 2017

Last assignment is insanely hard! And I think one of the unit tests used during grading takes order into account where it shouldn't (subtract assessment - assess)

von aditya p

Jan 16, 2017

Good course for learning functional paradigm coupled with object oriented concept. Very well planned course. It is definitely a great learning opportunity.

Thanks

von Romain G

Jun 27, 2017

I learned a lot in this course. Lots of it I knew, but now I feel I understand the basics better. Very well worth the time and efforts to complete this course.

von Mauro K L

Oct 14, 2019

Excelente curso, aprendi muito sobre programação funcional. Quem não tem muito conhecimento sobre Java pode ter um pouco de dificuldades em algumas etapas.

von Juraj V

Sep 29, 2017

Good introduction to scala principles. However some assignements are little bit hard, more concentrated on algorithms than scala itself. But I recommend.

von Yacine G

Nov 08, 2018

Very interesting course, and a pretty challenging one. I particularly loved how the nitty-gritties of the Scala programming languge have been presented.

von Özgür A

Jun 24, 2017

Although the course lacks some details, I really appreciated it, especially the assignments emphasizing the coding format and testing. I learned a lot !

von Jessica C

May 07, 2017

I feel like I learned quite a bit about functional programming. I was always curious about Scala since my college days. I highly recommend this class.

von Juan J E

May 23, 2018

I would have liked to see examples applicable to situations closer to the business reality, despite that, I really liked it and I recommend the course.

von Aschwin W

Sep 20, 2016

High level course. Exercises are academic of nature. You might need more time to finish the exercises. I appreciate that this is a well formed course.

von Dani G

Oct 21, 2016

Great Course to be familiar with the functional programming principles. Missing a little bit more solved examples and some more fundamental materail

von Jose C C F

May 17, 2020

It could have some more tests for the code in the assignments, otherwise its kind of difficult to test your own code. At least one test per method

von Dung V

Oct 14, 2016

I like this course. It can help me about practise programing scala easily. In here, I can learn scala programming quickly with support everyone.

von Boris E

Dec 19, 2016

Wish they didn't restructure the old classes, now it offers less of the interesting material. Fantastic course nonetheless, highly recommended.

von Philipp J

Jun 22, 2017

you can learn a lot and the course is prepared really well. Sometimes I would wish to have some more practical and less mathematical examples.

von BIN L

Jun 14, 2018

quite good course & professor, just the exercise is a bit too much for a beginner; more suitable for people who are familiar with the syntax

von Christian B

Aug 11, 2017

More explanations on the basics of the language to start would be helpful. First try to express it in languages and terms that are familiar

von Michal N

Apr 10, 2019

Pretty good course on Scala. Only thing they can change is to move Week 4 assignment to week 5 - because Week 5 videos help a lot with it.

von Dmytro K

Nov 28, 2016

Heavy lecture material. Programming assignments require some work or preset knowledge of functional programming to succesfully complite.

von Leo A

Sep 26, 2016

This course gives a very nice introduction to Functional Programming whilst introducing you to the idiosyncrasies of the Scala language.

von ZHANG X

Feb 28, 2019

The course provide a way to see programming differently. The exercices are very difficult. It would be nice to provide more test cases.

von Kenneth M

Aug 15, 2016

A very good beginners course for learning Scala. The lectures are a bit dry but overall a very good course with good assignments.

von Tomasz K

May 16, 2019

Good way to learn by doing - assignments extend lectures and give additonal approach to deal with the all programming issues.

von Hitesh

Aug 24, 2018

Brilliant Course, had lots of fun coding. It was challenging and stimulating. Thanks Prof. Odersky for putting this together.