Chevron Left
Zurück zu Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Kursteilnehmer-Bewertung und -Feedback für Functional Programming Principles in Scala von École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
Sterne
7,593 Bewertungen
1,530 Bewertungen

Über den Kurs

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top-Bewertungen

VP
13. Sep. 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

AJ
23. Sep. 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

Filtern nach:

201 - 225 von 1,468 Bewertungen für Functional Programming Principles in Scala

von Pablo M

12. Sep. 2018

I have lot of experience on object oriented programming and software architecture in general. It was really hard initially to think the solutions in a different way, but it was worth it the effort and investment of time. Thank you Martin!

von Andrey K

13. Jan. 2017

Befor this course I've finished "Programming in Scala" (3 ed.) so there were no groundbreaking ideas for me. And still it was useful to check my knowledges by taking assignments. I'd recommend this course for anyone who is learning Scala

von Erick F

19. Apr. 2018

Great introduction to functional programming in general, you might need to be familiar with some basic concepts of functional programming, but I never felt lost in it. The difficulty is just right and the pacing is perfect. Recommended.

von mario c

15. Apr. 2017

I really appreciated this course and found it very helpful in understanding functional programming. It's well structured and it will bring you to deal with problems of increasing complexity. Thanks so much to Prof. Odersky and Coursera.

von Dominik M

23. Okt. 2016

Very brief and still concise presentation of both functional programming and Scala syntax and features. For my first course of functional programming, I think it gave me basic knowledge and skills to use functional programming features.

von Du L

8. Mai 2018

The assignments are really challenging. Sometimes if can't complete the assignment, it can be a bit frustrating but if you can complete the assignment, it's tremendously rewarding! The week3 assignment can be improved for more clarity.

von Tuan N

5. Jan. 2020

Very interesting course. The assignments might be hard and if you're coming from imperative programming. I love week 2 assignment the most because the way of implementation a set without store any elements but functions is so elegant.

von Liviu C

14. Jan. 2018

This is one of the best online courses I have ever taken.

The course material is presented clearly and thoroughly.

The course assignments are challenging and interesting. They reinforce the presented material well.

Overall, great course.

von Damon S

28. Juli 2017

Excellent course. The material covers a range of functional programming topics and provides a good introduction to the scala programming language. I highly recommend the course for anyone interested in functional programming or scala.

von Vadim U

28. Sep. 2019

The best introduction to functional programming and Scala by its creator! At first I wandered why so much attention was given to lists and implementing some operations on them but later it became clear and paid for itself! Thank you!

von CLAUDIO A

17. Feb. 2019

Course is excellent , I Which is no surprise given the fact that Martin Odersky is one of the original developers of the Scala language. The assignments are really good, specially Huffman coding and Anagram combinatorial search !

von Liming W

20. Sep. 2017

This course is super helpful to my understanding of functional programming as well as Scala language. It taught me to construct the solution in a recursive way and build up the answers in a natural inductive way. Very good course!

von Marcelo f

8. Okt. 2017

The explanations are all very clear. Mr Odersky does a great job at teaching Scala. Changing to the functional paradigm is already affecting my Python and Javascript coding skills. I feel confident that my code quality improved.

von Ścisław D

9. Nov. 2017

this course was fantastic, i couldn't stop watching and doing excercises until i reached this page. will surely join its continuation (hahaha he said "continuation"!). already recommended it to my colleagues. hugs and kisses, d.

von Paul K

14. Mai 2017

This was a great introductory course. Coming from a Java background it really helps you get your head around functional programming and thinking more about what you want to achieve and not how you do it using control structures.

von Anders T

29. Juni 2016

A thorough introduction to the functional programming parts of Scala, with new topics introduced in a sensible order, justifications and explanations provided where expected, and assignments at an appropriate challenge level.

von Kunal M

4. Nov. 2018

Awesome course from the creator of the language !

Its not just a starting point for Scala & functional programming but also to OOPS design.

Must DO course for developers !!

Thanks a lot for providing such a valuable knowledge !!

von Juan L

28. Okt. 2017

I recommend this course for everyone who wants to learn functional programming. The course is well taught and doesn't matter if you're a new to programming or an experienced developer, you will learn a lot of things for sure.

von fxrcode

24. Okt. 2017

Always follow the inventor of the language to get the juice out of book or lecture. Great course. Take time to pick up functional programming. Must DO assignments to fully understand. Use your pen to write down the induction.

von Adrian

15. Apr. 2020

Amazing, changed my mindset and improved my programming skills with another approach totally different. The lectures are clear and easy to follow. I'd miss a better test suite with each exercise, but despite that is amazing.

von Suresh T

27. Jan. 2018

The course gave an excellent exposure to the really core aspects of functional programming. The assignments were very interesting and challenging. The pace and clarity of delivery was very conducive to learning this subject.

von Taras S

13. Aug. 2016

A lot of new information (Pattern Matching, Variance, Call-by-value & Call-by-name strategies) that was presented in structural and stimulating way. Also challenging and exciting assignments that always keep you in a loop.

von Andrew G

23. Juni 2016

A great insight into both functional programming as well as Scala by the man himself. Don't be fooled though and don't take this course lightly as you have to put serious effort in it -- but you'll be rewarded accordingly.

von marco s

15. Nov. 2017

Excellent introduction to Functional programming. If you're new to this paradigm, Scala is the perfect language to start, because combines OOP and Functional programming, making the learning process scalable and friendly.

von Sangdeok P

1. März 2020

I got a basic understanding of Scala and the intention of the founder, and I also got application example through not easy assignment. I am not a expert even I closed this course, but I am better than before

defenately

.